Updated date:

Maxwell House Coffee Review: Should You Buy It ?

Author:

I enjoy trying different coffee brands and varieties, especially coffee that has a smooth finish.

maxwell-house-coffee-review

Maxwell House Coffee has been around since the 1800s. It is a product of Kraft Foods. It is produced in two USA locations: Jacksonville, Florida, and San Leandro, California.

It is widely consumed by households across the United States, as well as within industries and restaurants.

I purchase this coffee by the case, and it gets a lot of attention, especially by people at work. I get tons of feedback from others regarding this coffee.

I decided to do a review of the Maxwell House Regular coffee. I'll be the first one to tell you that I am not a coffee tasting pro. I can not speak volumes on the acidity or finish or other technical terms. That said, I do drink this brand quite regularly and also get feedback for others I know who drink it too. Hopefully, in your eyes, that qualifies me to review this coffee.

The Look

The coffee I buy comes by the case, and within the case are 1.50-ounce brew packs. We brew this in a Bunn Coffee Brewer. The Bunn system we use has 64-ounce pots similar to the decent-sized pots you'd see at any diner or perhaps even in your own kitchen.

When the coffee is brewed it appears pretty dark, but you can see 'into' the coffee, just not through it.

The Aroma

Everyone loves the smell of coffee. People who hate coffee will jam their nose into the pot for a good whiff.

Maxwell House coffee has one of the best aromas. It fills the air with the classic brewed coffee scent.

The smell of brewed Maxwell House Regular is wonderful.

The Flavor

OK... personally, I'm not the biggest fan of the Maxwell House 1.50 ounce pack coffee. I enjoy strong coffees, but this always seems to be a little too strong in all the wrong ways. I find it has a bite to it that is too bitter. I can drink a lot of different coffees of different flavors and body, but this coffee makes me wince a bit when I drink it.

The aftertaste doesn't help out either. The aftertaste has a burnt taste to it. The flavor is almost as if the coffee has been left on the burner for just slightly too long. Not ridiculously long or tar-like, just long enough to negatively impact the taste.

My colleagues are very divided over this brew. Some drink it religiously. Entire groups of people ask for this coffee and are committed drinkers. I asked about this, and they seem to agree that it is a good coffee to 'get you up' in the morning. They like that little smack the coffee gives when they drink it. They say that the flavor isn't dull, and they are fine with drinking it.

Other colleagues don't care for it and prefer another blend (see my Ellis coffee review link). They say that there is something unpleasant about the flavor. Not horrible to drink, but not as good as other brands available to us.

All that in mind, when other options are not available, I drink the Maxwell House Regular 1.50 ounce. After drinking it for a few days, it tastes just fine. In other words, this coffee is good enough to develop an acquired taste.

With all this in mind, I simply might not be a fan of America's most popular coffees. Take Folgers, for example. Folgers is Maxwell House's arch-rival. Do you drink Folgers?

When I drink Folgers, I find that I prefer Maxwell House over the taste of Folgers. I have to give Maxwell House that much credit.

To Sum It Up

Maxwell House 1.50 Regular has a really good aroma and is a reasonably priced coffee compared to a lot of the 'independent' or gourmet blends.

I don't think it tastes all that great. It'll wake you up in the morning, so it gets that job done. It just doesn't give me much pleasure to drink it.

That said, even I have to admit that when I drink it regularly, I actually start to like it more with time.

I sometimes think that if I only brewed two-thirds of the pack (1 ounce) that it might take the edge off and make for a better cup.

If you buy and serve this coffee, some will like, and others will simply tolerate it.

© 2010 TurtleDog

Comments

Sandra on July 24, 2020:

I'm pretty sure this coffee consists of 25% dirt, 25% uncooked coffee debris, and 50% roasted coffee bean rejects from a respectable coffee brand.

Pat Phillips on July 10, 2020:

Whatever you done to your coffee STOP it tastes terrible

Rob on April 15, 2020:

Worse coffee I have ever had, gives you stomach cramps, it is horrible

Ralph on May 28, 2019:

I got some Maxwell House original roast medium and when I made some coffee it taste like vanilla I got very sick at.my qStomach and when I called them all they wanted to is send me some coupons yet I layed on the caoch alday (Memerial weekend at that ,,,I should have been out enjoying the sun but yet I enjoyed laying around .

bobby green on April 22, 2019:

the new container for this coffee is the worst idea since the Ford Edsel .

john.computer@gmail.com on April 18, 2019:

I have noticed on your 3 lb container you made the holder smaller which makes us seniors harder to hold the container and spoon out the coffee. I have to disagree with the comments below the coffee is still excellent. jc

Dawn Wieging on February 08, 2019:

I've been drinking Maxwell for the last 10 years. What ever you people have done to this coffee, stop doing it. It taste horrible. I thought it was my coffee pot so I bought another one. I bought a new can of Maxwell House and it taste the same. I will not be buying anymore. It taste like it's laced with chemicals. Not only am I down $40 for a new coffee maker. I spent more money on your coffee that taste horrible. very upset about this.

Jean marie on October 02, 2018:

Ive been drinking maxwell for forty years. It has changed im sorry its no good anymore.

Nancy R on September 10, 2018:

I've been drinking maxwell house coffee for many years and I loved it until now it taste like dirt and burned chickpeas I threw away a 26.8 oz waste of money. Never buy it again

Jen on July 30, 2018:

Maxwell coffee is way better then folgers!!Hands down!

A. Kush on June 22, 2017:

Been. Drinking MW for 10 years Colombian I used two scoops now I have to use 4 scoops still not very good what happened? Very disappointed. This will be my last can.

TurtleDog (author) on December 28, 2012:

Thanks Dan for the info. Yes, it seems the grip is problematic here. Check out my post on Ellis coffee if you are thinking of something else. Pretty good coffee.

I linked the post in my article above. Here's the URL. Thanks for the great comments.

The url is https://delishably.com/beverages/Is-Ellis-William-...

Dan on December 27, 2012:

I agree about the grip and the lids. I have never dropped and spilled a can of any coffee in my life, until now. I have lost my grip on the newly designed coffee plastic can twice and the lid popped off both times. If they stay with this design, I'm switching to a different coffee. When you lose a third of it per drop, it's not such a good deal. Oh, by the way, as a pharmacist, I open bottles and jars all day and I don't spill any of them.

Sandy on September 24, 2012:

I hate the lids on the coffee. They are very hard to get off without breaking fingernails. They should have a more lady friendly lid.

TurtleDog (author) on August 16, 2012:

Some great insites on not being able to hold the MH cans. I gess MH should bring back the old handle you can grasp better. Thanks

Toni K on August 16, 2012:

Michelle has it right.. Can't grip the new canister. If it doesn't go back to the other handle it pays us "oldsters" to get a new brand that we can handle without spilling..

TurtleDog (author) on July 22, 2012:

Thanks for the great Max House comment! I did not give a lot of thought to the grip on the maxwell house can and not being able to hold it. Appreciate the comment!

Michelle on July 22, 2012:

I've bought and drank MH for many years now and have complained about it until now, they have changed the canister and no one in my house can grip it to have a good hold on it. Sometimes it's better to leave well enough alone. Bring back the handle that we can grip.

TurtleDog (author) on January 28, 2012:

Thanks T. Wilson and Jean for your Maxwell House opinions and checking out this post. I think you are right. They changed their coffee from the original formula which likely explains your very accurate observation that things are not quite the same.

Jean Lespérance on January 28, 2012:

You are not the only one to notice that Maxwell House coffee is no more the one we used to have. We can't find

a good Maxwell House coffee anymore, anywhere.

t.wilson on December 16, 2011:

I have used maxwell house ground coffee for years, but last can bought had a nasty papery taste and smelled of wet cardboard. Undrinkable. The store replaced it for me but can number two was the same. I'm done with MH and have switched to Melitta traditional.