Review of Bolthouse Farms "Holiday Nog" Eggnog

Updated on January 12, 2017
Bolthouse Farms Holiday Nog
Bolthouse Farms Holiday Nog | Source

It's the holiday season, and that means merry spirits, holiday cheer, and stuffing a decorated shrub in your living room. But more importantly it means the arrival of that delicious and obscure-tasting drink known as "eggnog".

For those unfamiliar to the drink eggnog is a sweetened dairy drink made with milk, cream, sugar, whipped eggs, and usually an assortment of spices. It's generally popular through the United States and Canada, and is generally associated with winter celebrations. The original recipe called for some sort of alcohol mixed into it for that extra bite, however most store-bought eggnog today is nonalcoholic.

Eggnog is usually not available year-round. It normally first makes an appearance in November, however I've seen it as early as October. Eggnog is normally available until mid-January. It's probably good that eggnog is not available year-round as I might grow tired of the flavor, but not before I keel over from a heart-attack. Eggnog is not-too-friendly to your health. I'm sure the last thing I need this holiday season is coronary artery disease, served with a friendly visit to the emergency room.

The resourceful people at Bolthouse Farms have thought of this and presented us with their healthier version entitled "Holiday Nog". The name itself is a little disconcerting, as it would signify that their version was filled with some strange soy-based egg-flavored health store substitution. But I checked the ingredients and they seemed right for real eggnog: milk, egg yolk, nutmeg, vanilla. Yes! All the necessary ingredients appear to be here. Now let's see how it compares to the traditional standby.

Nutrition Facts
Standard Eggnog (1/2 cup)
Bolthouse Farms Nog (1/2 cup)
Calories
171.5
80
Calories from Fat
83.5
15
Total Fat
9.5g
1.5g
Saturated Fat
5.5g
1g
Cholesterol
75mg
15mg
Sodium
68.5mg
45mg
Total Carbohydrate
17g
12g
Fiber
0g
0g
Sugars
10.5g
12g
Protien
5g
4g

Nutrition Facts sources

Standard Eggnog source: Self Nutrition Data

Bolthouse Farms Nog source: Bolthouse Farms


Just going by the numbers it looks like this is a much healthier alternative to your traditional nog, but how does it stack up in terms of taste?

I poured a glass and took a pretty hefty swig...It tastes for the most part like eggnog. It has that familiar flavor with a hint of nutmeg and vanilla.

But something's wrong.

There's something missing.

The creaminess just isn't there. Sure it's not a watery mess like some other healthy drinks, but it's not as thick as a traditional eggnog. It could be that a focal point of the traditional eggnog's flavor does come from that massive helping of fat swirling around in its viscous creamy goodness. It's difficult to say.

If you're looking for a suitable alternative to the deliciously unhealthy mess that is eggnog then this probably will not disappoint. If you feel that it's not satisfactory enough then you could get a little creative. Try mixing it up in the bowl with half of it Bolthouse Holiday Nog and the other half a good high-quality traditional eggnog. Or just dump enough nutmeg and Southern Comfort into it and soon you'll forget about the Holiday Nog altogether.

I myself may try this again in the future. It's not a bad nog, but it's not really a substitute for the original.

Questions & Answers

    Comments

      0 of 8192 characters used
      Post Comment

      • profile image

        John vee 

        3 years ago

        I have tried various Bolthouse products,

        I have not been disappointed, I think the eggnog is the best I've ever had

      • profile image

        Krystal 

        3 years ago

        Bought some today since it was the only one I found after going to 3 different stores. It tastes like a graham cracker. Very, very disappointed. Not sure I can finish the bottle. Not impressed at Metro it was $7 and change... thankfully I found it at Freshco for $5.40.

        I was really optimistic too because I love their Iced Mocha drink.

        I think I might just have to start making my own nog... but I've never had fresh home made nog before so not even sure I'll like that. Oh well.

      • johndnathan profile imageAUTHOR

        John D Nathan 

        3 years ago from Dallas, Texas. USA

        Thank you for reading, Cindy. I agree that it has a few odd ingredients. I don't know why they choose to put both agave nectar and cane sugar since agave is only slightly healthier than sugar. Some of these other ingredients I'm sure were to mimic the taste and texture of real eggnog, but it doesn't look like it worked.

      • profile image

        Cindy 

        3 years ago

        I bought some the other day because it was the only brand in the store. While I like Bolthouse products I do not like this Holiday Nog. Not only is the taste off, and as you said, "something missing" with the creaminess, it also has a weird aftertaste. Frankly I don't taste any nutmeg in it at all -- and when I put more nutmeg in it to doctor it up, the aftertaste was even worse, almost as if a chemical reaction. Blah!

        In addition, it also cost $6 so I had an expectation that it it would be good, and wasn't even aware that it was less calories. Also, the ingredients list includes carrot juice and agave nectar. I won't buy this again even if the price is half as much. If you want eggnog, with or without alcohol, who cares if it's a lot of calories? If I want low calories, I'll drink water.

      • johndnathan profile imageAUTHOR

        John D Nathan 

        4 years ago from Dallas, Texas. USA

        Thanks for reading, Gemini.

        Their products can be hit or miss. Thankfully, I've been pleased with most of their drinks.

      • profile image

        Gemini 

        4 years ago

        Aw, man I must find this! I love the juices and smoothies! I've never had eggnog but I am willing to give this a try. Thanks for the review!

      • johndnathan profile imageAUTHOR

        John D Nathan 

        4 years ago from Dallas, Texas. USA

        Thanks for reading, Dee.

        Eggnog season is upon us once again. I'm going to have to grab a bottle of this to lessen my chances of fatally overdosing on normal eggnog's deliciously delicious goodness.

      • profile image

        Dee 

        4 years ago

        Just tried this for myself. Its definitely missing something. Not bad, but the fat is clearly missing, and it feels like they tried to use something else to make thick, and the flavour just isn't as deep and rich as real egg nog. oh well, maybe it will be good in my coffee instead of creamer? Or mixed half and half with real egg nog like you suggested

      • johndnathan profile imageAUTHOR

        John D Nathan 

        5 years ago from Dallas, Texas. USA

        Possibly could be the heavy use of vanilla and nutmeg.

      • profile image

        sandyhill 

        5 years ago

        It tastes like there was some kind of alcohol in it.

      • johndnathan profile imageAUTHOR

        John D Nathan 

        5 years ago from Dallas, Texas. USA

        I kinda have to agree, Joel. But for those health-conscious people, like I probably should be, it is an acceptable alternative.

      • profile image

        Joel 

        5 years ago

        Not bad, but not eggnog, hence the name, "Holiday Nog, flavored dairy beverage." It has a strong nutmeg flavor but very little dairy definition. The plus side is that you can drink more of it as it is very light.

      • vespawoolf profile image

        vespawoolf 

        5 years ago from Peru, South America

        Hmmm...sort of tasted like chocolate milk? I'll have to try these Bolthouse products! I guess the healthy part is the trade-off.

      • johndnathan profile imageAUTHOR

        John D Nathan 

        5 years ago from Dallas, Texas. USA

        Thank you for reading, Vespawoolf! Yes, the thick texture is important, and I think that's probably what turned me off.

        Of course Bolthouse Farms makes a lot of interesting healthy alternatives. I once had a healthy weird soy-based vegan-friendly chocolate milk... it sorta tasted like chocolate milk, but it was pretty good.

      • vespawoolf profile image

        vespawoolf 

        5 years ago from Peru, South America

        Sounds like you're an eggnog conoisseur! I also love eggnog, and I think the thick texture is important. So I don't know if this one is for me. Mixing half-and-half is probably a good idea just to cut some calories. Great review...thanks!

      working

      This website uses cookies

      As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, delishably.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

      For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://delishably.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

      Show Details
      Necessary
      HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
      LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
      Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
      AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
      HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
      HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
      Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
      CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
      Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
      Features
      Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
      Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
      Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
      Marketing
      Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
      Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
      Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
      Statistics
      Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
      ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
      Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)