Vegetable DishesCooking EquipmentDesserts & SweetsFruitsMeat DishesAppetizers & SnacksSpices & SeasoningsFood IndustryBaked GoodsBeveragesGrains DishesBreakfast FoodsDining OutSauces, Condiments, and PreservationSpecial DietsDairy & Eggs

Review of Bolthouse Farms "Holiday Nog" Eggnog

Updated on January 12, 2017
Bolthouse Farms Holiday Nog
Bolthouse Farms Holiday Nog | Source

It's the holiday season, and that means merry spirits, holiday cheer, and stuffing a decorated shrub in your living room. But more importantly it means the arrival of that delicious and obscure-tasting drink known as "eggnog".

For those unfamiliar to the drink eggnog is a sweetened dairy drink made with milk, cream, sugar, whipped eggs, and usually an assortment of spices. It's generally popular through the United States and Canada, and is generally associated with winter celebrations. The original recipe called for some sort of alcohol mixed into it for that extra bite, however most store-bought eggnog today is nonalcoholic.

Eggnog is usually not available year-round. It normally first makes an appearance in November, however I've seen it as early as October. Eggnog is normally available until mid-January. It's probably good that eggnog is not available year-round as I might grow tired of the flavor, but not before I keel over from a heart-attack. Eggnog is not-too-friendly to your health. I'm sure the last thing I need this holiday season is coronary artery disease, served with a friendly visit to the emergency room.

The resourceful people at Bolthouse Farms have thought of this and presented us with their healthier version entitled "Holiday Nog". The name itself is a little disconcerting, as it would signify that their version was filled with some strange soy-based egg-flavored health store substitution. But I checked the ingredients and they seemed right for real eggnog: milk, egg yolk, nutmeg, vanilla. Yes! All the necessary ingredients appear to be here. Now let's see how it compares to the traditional standby.

Nutrition Facts
Standard Eggnog (1/2 cup)
Bolthouse Farms Nog (1/2 cup)
Calories
171.5
80
Calories from Fat
83.5
15
Total Fat
9.5g
1.5g
Saturated Fat
5.5g
1g
Cholesterol
75mg
15mg
Sodium
68.5mg
45mg
Total Carbohydrate
17g
12g
Fiber
0g
0g
Sugars
10.5g
12g
Protien
5g
4g

Nutrition Facts sources

Standard Eggnog source: Self Nutrition Data

Bolthouse Farms Nog source: Bolthouse Farms


Just going by the numbers it looks like this is a much healthier alternative to your traditional nog, but how does it stack up in terms of taste?

I poured a glass and took a pretty hefty swig...It tastes for the most part like eggnog. It has that familiar flavor with a hint of nutmeg and vanilla.

But something's wrong.

There's something missing.

The creaminess just isn't there. Sure it's not a watery mess like some other healthy drinks, but it's not as thick as a traditional eggnog. It could be that a focal point of the traditional eggnog's flavor does come from that massive helping of fat swirling around in its viscous creamy goodness. It's difficult to say.

If you're looking for a suitable alternative to the deliciously unhealthy mess that is eggnog then this probably will not disappoint. If you feel that it's not satisfactory enough then you could get a little creative. Try mixing it up in the bowl with half of it Bolthouse Holiday Nog and the other half a good high-quality traditional eggnog. Or just dump enough nutmeg and Southern Comfort into it and soon you'll forget about the Holiday Nog altogether.

I myself may try this again in the future. It's not a bad nog, but it's not really a substitute for the original.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      John vee 2 years ago

      I have tried various Bolthouse products,

      I have not been disappointed, I think the eggnog is the best I've ever had

    • profile image

      Krystal 2 years ago

      Bought some today since it was the only one I found after going to 3 different stores. It tastes like a graham cracker. Very, very disappointed. Not sure I can finish the bottle. Not impressed at Metro it was $7 and change... thankfully I found it at Freshco for $5.40.

      I was really optimistic too because I love their Iced Mocha drink.

      I think I might just have to start making my own nog... but I've never had fresh home made nog before so not even sure I'll like that. Oh well.

    • johndnathan profile image
      Author

      John D Nathan 2 years ago from Dallas, Texas. USA

      Thank you for reading, Cindy. I agree that it has a few odd ingredients. I don't know why they choose to put both agave nectar and cane sugar since agave is only slightly healthier than sugar. Some of these other ingredients I'm sure were to mimic the taste and texture of real eggnog, but it doesn't look like it worked.

    • profile image

      Cindy 2 years ago

      I bought some the other day because it was the only brand in the store. While I like Bolthouse products I do not like this Holiday Nog. Not only is the taste off, and as you said, "something missing" with the creaminess, it also has a weird aftertaste. Frankly I don't taste any nutmeg in it at all -- and when I put more nutmeg in it to doctor it up, the aftertaste was even worse, almost as if a chemical reaction. Blah!

      In addition, it also cost $6 so I had an expectation that it it would be good, and wasn't even aware that it was less calories. Also, the ingredients list includes carrot juice and agave nectar. I won't buy this again even if the price is half as much. If you want eggnog, with or without alcohol, who cares if it's a lot of calories? If I want low calories, I'll drink water.

    • johndnathan profile image
      Author

      John D Nathan 3 years ago from Dallas, Texas. USA

      Thanks for reading, Gemini.

      Their products can be hit or miss. Thankfully, I've been pleased with most of their drinks.

    • profile image

      Gemini 3 years ago

      Aw, man I must find this! I love the juices and smoothies! I've never had eggnog but I am willing to give this a try. Thanks for the review!

    • johndnathan profile image
      Author

      John D Nathan 3 years ago from Dallas, Texas. USA

      Thanks for reading, Dee.

      Eggnog season is upon us once again. I'm going to have to grab a bottle of this to lessen my chances of fatally overdosing on normal eggnog's deliciously delicious goodness.

    • profile image

      Dee 3 years ago

      Just tried this for myself. Its definitely missing something. Not bad, but the fat is clearly missing, and it feels like they tried to use something else to make thick, and the flavour just isn't as deep and rich as real egg nog. oh well, maybe it will be good in my coffee instead of creamer? Or mixed half and half with real egg nog like you suggested

    • johndnathan profile image
      Author

      John D Nathan 4 years ago from Dallas, Texas. USA

      Possibly could be the heavy use of vanilla and nutmeg.

    • profile image

      sandyhill 4 years ago

      It tastes like there was some kind of alcohol in it.

    • johndnathan profile image
      Author

      John D Nathan 4 years ago from Dallas, Texas. USA

      I kinda have to agree, Joel. But for those health-conscious people, like I probably should be, it is an acceptable alternative.

    • profile image

      Joel 4 years ago

      Not bad, but not eggnog, hence the name, "Holiday Nog, flavored dairy beverage." It has a strong nutmeg flavor but very little dairy definition. The plus side is that you can drink more of it as it is very light.

    • vespawoolf profile image

      vespawoolf 4 years ago from Peru, South America

      Hmmm...sort of tasted like chocolate milk? I'll have to try these Bolthouse products! I guess the healthy part is the trade-off.

    • johndnathan profile image
      Author

      John D Nathan 4 years ago from Dallas, Texas. USA

      Thank you for reading, Vespawoolf! Yes, the thick texture is important, and I think that's probably what turned me off.

      Of course Bolthouse Farms makes a lot of interesting healthy alternatives. I once had a healthy weird soy-based vegan-friendly chocolate milk... it sorta tasted like chocolate milk, but it was pretty good.

    • vespawoolf profile image

      vespawoolf 4 years ago from Peru, South America

      Sounds like you're an eggnog conoisseur! I also love eggnog, and I think the thick texture is important. So I don't know if this one is for me. Mixing half-and-half is probably a good idea just to cut some calories. Great review...thanks!