Updated date:

Cutco Knives Review

I'm a tool guy and love to put tools through the test. When I find a tool that can make life's every day projects easier, I like to share.

My Personal Review of Cutco Knives

This is my personal review of Cutco knives. I do not sell Cutco knives, and I am not a rep; I am an owner, and I happen to love my knives. My nephew was starting out with Cutco to make a few extra bucks in college, and I happened to be the first person he showed his demonstration to—I was also his first buyer. I was always searching for a knife that would cut my steak instead of ripping it apart, but I admit, it was tough shelling out $450 for a knife set. Still, after 18 years of use, it was one of my best investments. I bought the small set. There are sets that will cost you over $1,500 like Cutco's ultimate set, but I personally didn't need a set that big.

Are Cutco Knives Any Good?

My Cutco knives are just as sharp today as they were 12 years ago. None of my Cutco knives have ever fallen apart, and I have never had to have them sharpened. The knife blade continues through the entire handle and is riveted to the handle on both sides, which is a great feature for adding strength to the knife. I have always washed the knives in the dishwasher and none of my handles have ever cracked or broken.

Cutco 4-Pc Table Knife Set

Update: My Cutco spatula had some very small rust spots after 18 years of dishwasher abuse, I contacted Cutco and they replaced it free of charge, no questions asked.

Update: My Cutco spatula had some very small rust spots after 18 years of dishwasher abuse, I contacted Cutco and they replaced it free of charge, no questions asked.

The Reason I Bought Cutco Knives

First of all, I had no intention of buying anything the day my nephew came to do his demonstration, but I was impressed with the longevity of the company, or maybe it was the demo of the scissors cutting the penny into a corkscrew... Anyway, I bought the knife set because of the unconditional money back guarantee and because they're guaranteed for life. I figured since the Cutco Company has been around since 1948 they will probably be around for a few more years to fulfill their lifetime guarantee to me if I had a problem. The only stipulation is you have to pay shipping charges to and from the company if you ever need to have your knives sharpened, I can handle that. I have never had the knife set sharpened yet, so I doing well.

What If a Cutco Knife Gets Damaged or Rusty?

After 18 years, my spatula had some rust spots that would wipe off and leave a dull spot in the polished stainless steel, then my handle broke on my pairing knife. I contacted Cutco and they advised me to package the two damaged knives and ship them UPS. My two knives were back in the holder in less then a week at no charge except shipping to the manufacturer. Great company and great customer service!

Here is the Exclusive Double -D cutting edge found on all of Cutco's meat cutting knives, it's also is found on the spatula, sharp as the day I bought them 18 year later.

Here is the Exclusive Double -D cutting edge found on all of Cutco's meat cutting knives, it's also is found on the spatula, sharp as the day I bought them 18 year later.

Cutco's Patented Double D Edge

Cutco steak knives have a cutting edge called the Double D edge, this is not a serrated edge, it is a cutting edge that has 3 cutting points, the cutting points are not on the edge of the blade, they are cut into the side of the blade, this is why the blade stays sharp, you can even cut on a granite or marble counter top without damaging the blades cutting points, hence, the steak knives stay sharp for a long time.

They have the same patented Double - D edge on the spatula, great for spreading condiments on your favorite sandwiches, and it's also great for cutting them when done. The spatula is also ideal for cutting into fresh bread and spreading butter afterwards.

Cutco vs. Henckels (Opinion)

I own a few individual Henckels, but in my personal opinion, Cutco has them beat. Henckel makes a great knife too, but I have to sharpen them every few months and I hate having to sharpen my knives, I just want to use them and throw them in the dishwasher, if you know what I mean. I remember years ago buying a knife set and getting a sharpener with it, I thought that was cool, now that I look back, I realize that's not a good selling point for someone who knows nothing about sharpening knives.

Complete set of Cutco knives with the worlds sharpest scissors.

Complete set of Cutco knives with the worlds sharpest scissors.

Customer Reviews of Cutco Knives

I have read some other customer reviews that have knocked the type of metal used for the Cutco knife blades, but I personally have never had a problem with them rusting or breaking, but I have never abused them either. The only problems I have with my Cutco knife set is I can never find my scissors because the kids are always taking them and never putting them back, and I have had one knife missing for about 2 months, I'm still waiting for it to show up but I think I will have to break down and buy a new one.

Cutco Cutting a Penny

I Review for You

I'm a tool guy, and I love to put tools through the test, when I find a tool that can make life's every day projects easier, I like to share my findings. I don't care if it's a tool for cooking, fixing a car, or repairing Christmas lights, if it works well; I'm going to let you know, if it doesn't work well, I'll still let you know my opinion, unfortunately Henckel fell within those guidelines, I know I will have some of you who disagree with me when it come to comparing the knives, my wife is always trying to push Henckels on me, that's why I have a few single Henckel knives hanging around, so it's ok, I still want your opinion, everyone's opinion should be heard, plus I'm not an expert on cutlery, I'm just an owner of a very good knife set. Everything I review on Hubpages is something I own and use, I write about these tools with no fluff or exaggeration, just my personal experience.

Steak Knife Demo

Nobody Can Teach You Experience

When I was just starting out in the automotive field, I use to buy Craftsman tools, they make a good tool, and they have a lifetime warrantee. Then I bought my first set of Snap-on wrenches, it was then I realized the difference between good and awesome. The tool worked better, felt better, and lasted longer without breaking, I no longer was wasting money buying inferior tools and started investing in quality not quantity, in other words don't let the knife sharpener fool you, especially if you don't know how to sharpen knives.

Please leave a comment in the box below, I definitely want people's opinions, we learn by listening, not by talking, lol. If you liked my article, please share it with your friends and followers on Facebook and Twitter, there is a little button over the comment box which makes it super easy to share. Thank you, I really appreciate it.

Comments

Eddie Carrara (author) from New Hampshire on August 15, 2020:

Hi Maggie,

Were they Cutco or another brand?

Maggie on August 13, 2020:

A few years ago I bought 4 set of knives one set for myself and one set for each of my married children as Christmas presents.

At first everyone one thought they were the greatest thing since sliced bread. But it didn’t take long for us to agree that they were way to much maintenance. They lost there sharpness very quickly. Sending them away to get sharpened is a pain. Very disappointing when you take into account the price tag

Eddie Carrara (author) from New Hampshire on August 09, 2020:

Hi Sharon,

I agree that it's not right for anyone (company or no company) to take advantage of any person regardless of age. I'm sure that in the fine print of her sales agreement there is a notice of this cost but they don't point it out knowing most people wouldn't use this incentive program if they know the cost. On the other hand, they make a great knife and like I mentioned in the article they have lasted for over 20 years, and the steak knives with the double-D edge still work like the first day we bought them. Companys find all types of ways to squeeze money from consumer's pockets, just look at your cell phone bill and all the taxes and surcharges they charge, or how about your propane company who charges you a recovery fee when filling you house tank, it's never-ending and we need to be careful of the contracts we sign. I'm not an advocate for the company, I'm just a satisfied buyer of their product and warranty.

sharon on August 07, 2020:

I bought a set of knives from my niece who was trying to earn some money for collage. She did phone and online sales during the pandemic. When she got her check the Cutco Company had charged her and kept the cost for the sheers that she had given as a incentive gift to her customers. She was incuraged to give insentives and was not told she had to pay for the gifts. It makes me so mad that any co. would take advantage of a teen ager trying to earn money for school. I sent my order back to them and tole them they better sent Kaitlyn her money back for the sheers but they have not refunded her money. Any co that would take advantage of a student should loose there business

Eddie Carrara (author) from New Hampshire on January 20, 2020:

Hi Nora,

I would just contact them and let them know your situation, I'm sure they will make it right. It's funny that one was rusted, I've had mine for over twenty years and none have rusted yet, in fact, they are the only knives in my kitchen that don't rust lol. I recommend you contact them ASAP so the can make it right :)

Nora on January 18, 2020:

I just spent over $1000 on Cutco Knives and couldn't wait to get them in the mail. They came today. They are scratched - really scratched!, water spotted like they were used, and one has what looks like a rust spot. I bought 2 smaller sets but one of the sets has a very large block with it, so 3 knives for a block that holds a dozen knives. Really? What are they thinking? I'm horribly dissappointed in this company and feel like I was swindled. They sent me used knives.

Eddie Carrara (author) from New Hampshire on December 08, 2019:

Hi Kathy,

You'll need to package them up and send them back to Cutco, they will replace factory defects, rust, and dull or broken blades but will not replace if the problem is caused by abuse. I recommend you contact Cutco at their website for more info.

Kathy on December 08, 2019:

I sort of inherited a set of cutco knives from my mother in law found when cleaning up and I was wondering if you replace broken ones it kinda looks like someone tried to pry with two of them . thanks

AJ Chicago on November 09, 2019:

All you have to do is send them in for sharpening. You pay shipping! What other line offers that kind of customer service? If you are lucky enough, you can find some local rep to come and sharpen them in your home... for free! What other line offers that kind of customer service? If you break one without intentionally abusing it, or have one out of a million that does rust for whatever torture you put it through, they will replace it! What other line offers that kind of customer service? Lol!

Cheryl Lee on August 31, 2019:

Very poor customer service. We purchased a set and in 3 years have not been able to get any one to come and SHARPEN them. They make an appointment multiple times and always cancel or no show. Never again will I purchase Cutco.

Jake Taylor on July 16, 2019:

Hello I am a sales rep for cutco marketing! If you already own cutco great I would love to hear about your experience if not we can work together on great deals if your interested!

Eddie Carrara (author) from New Hampshire on July 11, 2019:

Hi Waclawus,

I like the knife set and if it wasn't for my nephew doing the demo I probably would have never but the set lol. But I'm extremely happy I did, they are over 20 years old and in great condition, visually and mechanically.

Waclawus on July 09, 2019:

Interesting read, its not easy to find unbiased reviews of Cutco knives because of their untraditional business model.

Eddie Carrara (author) from New Hampshire on July 02, 2019:

Knifeman, you're the man! Thanks for your feedback, It's good to know other brands that can stand the test of time. I really like my Cutco, and I don't cook much, I just eat lol.

Knifeman on June 28, 2019:

I do a lot of cooking and prepping meat, vegetables etc. I have several Cutco knives, plus MAC, Zelite and Wusthof. I bought the Cutco knives as specialty knives for specific tasks. I also have several ceramic knives. As far as the Cutco knives go, I have no complaints. They perform the tasks that I purchased them for excellently. I hand wash all my knives and have owned all of them for several years now. No rust, no breakage thus far. Have not had to sharpen them yet. My favorite Cutco knife is the Vegetable Chopper. Makes the task a breeze! My favorite overall knife is my MAC MTH-80 Chefs knife. My favorite paring knife is my Zelite Paring knife.

Eddie Carrara (author) from New Hampshire on January 13, 2019:

Hi Jeanette,

I have to agree, I have bought a lot of knives since the CutCo's and I haven't found a better knife. I'm no chef but I do use knives every day when cooking and have found them to be awesome. Thanks for the feedback :)

Jeanette. Hensley on January 11, 2019:

Love Cutco !!! I bought mine almost 50 years ago put them away for along time bought other knives well I just took them out going to send them in to be sharpened I just couldn’t find anything better than Cucto .

Eddie Carrara (author) from New Hampshire on August 07, 2018:

Hi Mary,

Sorry to hear that. The Cutco knives with the regular blade will dull over time but there is a lifetime guarantee, just send it back and they will sharpen it for free, just pay shipping one way. The Double-D blade on the steak knives is what I like, they never need sharpening and they cut meat like butter :)

MARY CHRISTENSEN on August 06, 2018:

I PURCHASED 2 CUTCO KNIFE A MONTH AGO. I HAVE FOLLOWED THE DIRECTION FOR CARE BUT BOTH ARE ALREADY UNSATISFACTORY - DULL. THESE WERE A BAD DEAL.

Marsha Starr on June 06, 2018:

I purchased my first Cutco knife in 1963. Over the years I obtained four more. I had never had them sharpened, so I sent all five in for sharpening about ten years ago. Because all of the knives were so old and had been replaced by newer models, Cutco replaced them with the newer models at no charge. Since then I have sent them in for sharpening several times and I’m lost without them while they’re gone! I highly recommend Cutco!

Eddie Carrara (author) from New Hampshire on May 14, 2018:

I couldn't agree more Joy,

The Chef knife or any of the knives without the double D edge is just your average knife that will need sharpening periodically, although I do like the handles and they do fit nice in my size hand. The benefit of owning the knives is the warranty, I have had to use it and it is hassle free like you stated. Price is questionable, I own Snap-on tools that are over priced too, but they are guaranteed for life, are quality tools, and will be replace, no questions asked if ever needed, so I think price is based on longevity, quality, and satisfaction, so it would definitely be the decision of the buyer lol. Thanks for the feedback Joy, I really appreciate you taking the time to comment :)

Joy on May 14, 2018:

I own some Cutco knives knives and have recently been transitioning to using more Chef's knives, as a result I have bought some different brands. In my opinion Cutco isn't for the professional chef or commercial use. It's also pointless to get a Cutco Chef knife unless you really can't stand to have mismatched knives in your kitchen. I would recommend getting a few different knives rather than a set. In my opinion Cutco is specifically targeted toward the average cook who doesn't want to have to sharpen their knife all the time. I think their double D edge is great, but didn't really like their bigger knives or the mini paring knife. Ultimately I love the trimmer, and the steak knife. I use it constantly, but I wouldn't really recommend any of their other knives. I do agree that they are overpriced, but their warranty is awesome and hassle free. So basically get your Cutco trimmer, and a set of steak knives if you want some knives that will last and won't need to be sharpened regularly, and then go for some different brands for your other knives.

Eddie Carrara (author) from New Hampshire on January 30, 2018:

LOL, Agreed! My daughter just bought a Dyson and loves it lol. Thanks thriftgirl for taking the time to comment :)

thriftgirl62 from California on January 26, 2018:

I have had my Cutco Knives for at least 15+ years. The only problem I've had is with the shears - they disappeared not once, but twice.

My daughter is studying to be a chef at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas. She just had to order a knife set for one of her classes. I'll have to find out what kind they required.

I wouldn't trade my Cutco knives or my Dyson Vacuum for anything regardless of price.

Eddie Carrara (author) from New Hampshire on December 09, 2017:

You're welcome Dale, Here is an update since writing the page. I had broken a paring knife and also had some spotting on my spatula. Keep in mind that these were bought in 2001, Cutco replaced both items no questions asked and a very simple process, I paid to simp them there, they paid to ship them back. Great customer service, awesome knives!

Dale Anderson from The High Seas on December 06, 2017:

Interesting stuff. Thanks for sharing.

Eddie Carrara (author) from New Hampshire on June 21, 2015:

Hi Taranwanderer,

I dropped $450 on my set and believe me it was painful, but I have had them for about 12 years and have not regretted it once, no buyers remorse here lol :)

Taranwanderer on June 21, 2015:

Great review - I might actually consider plopping down several hundred dollars for a set of knives after this lol. Voted up!

Saiful on January 02, 2014:

Since I have become the pamirry cook in the house, I've needed a decent storage place for my good knives. This fits the bill. It holds virtually all my long knives and some of the shorter ones, as well. Now every time I need a knife, it' handy and convenient. I love it.The only drawback is that my steak knives are too big for their slots in the block, but I am planning on getting some different ones very soon that will fit.

Eddie Carrara (author) from New Hampshire on March 25, 2013:

Hi Amitava,

Thanks, maybe I should move from the garage to the sales floor :) I'm not much of a writer, so I want to thank you for pointing out how well it was written, maybe I have a hidden talent that I not aware of, lol.

I had no intentions of even buying these knives because the price was more than a good set of Snap-on wrenches, my nephew was selling them and I was helping him out. To my surprise ten years later, the steak knives cut just as good as the day I bought them, so I think it's still a great investment, but I would have to say the paring knife could use a sharpening.

If I send it back to Cutco, they will either sharpen it for free or send me a new one, I thought that was pretty awesome! I have had good luck with some no name brands, but I really couldn't write a review on them, FYI, my wife hates my Cutco knives and she continues to buy off brands, she just bought another set of Calphalon which are pretty good, but it's only been 6 months so far so I'll let you know. It's funny, even my kids prefer the Cutco knife, so maybe I'm not crazy.

I love the input you bring to this review because it's really about personal preference, I know some people hate the handle of Cutco and I think it a valid point. The first comment here is from Joe Macho, he explains that the chefs knife feels sloppy in his hand and the cut is not perfect, but not everyone's hands are like Joe's, so you do have to do your due diligence.

Thanks again for all your input, it really give readers a chance to compare cutlery, that's why I ask for other readers opinions, I'm far from a master of cutlery and there is so much to choose from. Feedback from other readers is priceless, that's how I make most of my online buying choices now, reading customer reviews on Amazon, (the king of retail :) customers are blatantly honest and that's what I like.

Take care for now Amitava

amitava on March 25, 2013:

Dear Eddie,

By reading your review I really felt that it was written by the

company. It highlights the points made by the company and their sales

person. If you look at product reviews on bhphoto or amazon, you will

see that your review really stands out. It is extremely well origanised

and written with great clarity. I looked at some of your other reviews

few mins back. I wish I could write like that.

I tried to make one point. If you are willing to spend around

$500 on knives there are many options and you should choose based on

your needs. For me the best option (or even good) was not cutco or

vitorinox or other popular brands. They were much cheaper knives and not the most popular brands. I like the free market model because it gives you many choices and you can choose what suits you best. Current

advertisements and salesperson try to accomplish the opposite. One

should not buy if someone else (advertisement or salesperson) tell you

need something. One should list the features needed and then do a

product comparison to choose. I am surprised by the amount of impulse or ``casual" buying of expensive items. I felt that your current

review/experience is implying that with cutco you need not do your due

diligence.

I am not a chef (actually a mathematician). For my little experiment I

bought some paring knives and borrowed a few more. Then I selected what suited me most. Looking at set prices of ``high end" brands I realised I can have a custom made ``chef" knife in that price range. I spent less than $300 on knives (2 paring knives, 9in custom chef and a cleaver) and around $15 in 5 years on maintenance supplies. It serves me extremely well for my needs. I spend on average less than 2 mins/day to maintain knives and except the cleaver the knives are shaving sharp.

with regards

amitava

Eddie Carrara (author) from New Hampshire on March 24, 2013:

Thanks for you professional opinion Amitava,

I can assure you that this is not in anyway an advertisement for Cutco. I have owned Cutco knives for over ten years and I absolutely love them. I may not use them a tenth of what you do because I do not cook like a chef, I'm just a guy who likes to share his experiences with fellow readers. I guess I was speaking mostly about the steak knives more then the paring or chefs knife because I use the steak knives the most, just about every night.

I guess I will have to go and reword my review to explain that it's the Double-D edge that never need sharpening not the paring or chefs knife. I really don't believe there is a knife in this would that would stay sharp with a single edge blade, especially if you cutting on a stone or metal surface, it's just not possible. Thanks for pointing out my poor review, I never meant it to be an advertisement, more of an opinion. Take care for now Amitava, and thanks again for your opinion, what's good for one person may not be good for the other :)

amitava on March 24, 2013:

I would be surprised if this review was not pushed or sponsored by cutco. I have used the following five as paring knives in the last 8 years. Dexter Russel Sani safe, Vitorinox, mora carbon steel (mora classic 1095 without guard), cutco and good grips. I had to grind the mora on a stone to full convex grind to make it more suitable as a paring knife. Among them Mora was the best made knife. Mora needed regrinding and filling the handle with epoxy to fill the gap in the handle. It maintains its razor sharpness for 10 - 20 hours use before honing. Sani safe, cutco and vitoronox needs honing after 1-2 hours. Sani safe gets used the most and cutco the least (due to blade geometry, handle and steel type). For heavy duty, long hours or demanding tasks mora is the best. Other knives cost around 10 dollars and cutco paring ($70) . I cannot believe why vitorinox and cutco (only paring knives) is so highly rated on internet. Overall, I wont rate mora the best because I needed to change the blade geometry and fill the hole where the steel enters the handle with epoxy. My point is, for less money than cutco (1/7) you can get similar knife like cutco paring knife. For 1/7th the money and 30 min work (the time I took with mora) you can get a much better knife than cutco paring knife. I do not know about the other options. There could be many more brands that are much better than cutco at a much cheaper price. I looked at cutco reviews and they always compare with henckels and wusthof. I am making a stronger statement. I looked at much cheaper knives and they perform better than cutco at 1/7 the price. The way this cutco review is structured makes me look like an advertisement. My ranking, based on use in kitchen is sani safe, mora classic, vitorinox then cutco and good grips. Based on quality or extended use or demanding jobs, mora, sani safe, vitorinox, good grips and cutco last. I am making this statement about paring knives. For chefs knife I use a different maker and I did not try out other brands. I am not recommending any particular brand. I am saying you should check out your requirements and knife details before buying the knife. This cutco knives review is against ``my" experience and its structure is too similar to the company sales position. (We hand wash and wipe knives immediately, we cook for a family of 5, we use mainly 2 knives, chef and paring, cleaver is used rarely, currently we have 9inch chef, 3 paring and one cleaver).

Beth37 on February 18, 2013:

That's what I hear.

Eddie Carrara (author) from New Hampshire on February 18, 2013:

HaHa, size doesn't matter, or does it? lol.

Beth37 on February 18, 2013:

It was a little ring. ;)

Eddie Carrara (author) from New Hampshire on February 18, 2013:

Wow they must have bought a lot of knives, lol. Great knives tho. Thanks for the comment Beth :)

Beth37 on February 18, 2013:

So funny. Cutco was my husbands first real job. He bought my engagement ring with the money he made from selling them... mostly to our parents. :)

Eddie Carrara (author) from New Hampshire on January 27, 2013:

Hey Cutter,

I couldn't agree more! I like your view on them, "American Muscle Car Look" that's pretty awesome,lol. I hated dishing out the money for them, now I realize it was an investment :) Thanks for the comment Cutter, it will give other readers some insight on Cutco Knives, especially the ones who are still on the fence, Ha!

Cutter66 on January 27, 2013:

I dig my cutcos. I was sucked into 'em just like you but they have changed my approach to cooking and I have gained respect for my kitchen. The knives look and feel awesome. Especially the trimmers, carvers, paring and the NEW steak knives. They have a totally American muscle car look and feel. I've got a Japanese Chef knife called a Shun, which is an awesome knife, but very finicky and even fragile with it's harder steel. Cutco's, like you said, are a low maintenance workhorse. Most of the comments I've seen from chefs dissing cutcos are missing this important distinction. Not everyone wants to baby their little china doll of a knife. They want to use it. The 440A steel used is equivalent to the German knives, they just have a different name for it, but the "rockwell hardness" is equivalent. This softer steel is actually what makes them tough. The harder steels stay sharper but are more fragile. So if someone tells you cutco steel is inferior..eh, not so much. It is stronger, just not as hard as the Japanese. What makes them better than the equivalent German knives is that they are American, last longer and look way cooler.

Eddie Carrara (author) from New Hampshire on December 30, 2011:

Hi Claudia, I really never expected to drop $450 into a knife set but it was the best investment I have ever made for the kitchen. Thank you for taking the time to comment.

Claudia Tello from Mexico on December 30, 2011:

Thanks for this review. Cutco knives definitely sound like a very good investment and an excellent kitchen product for me. My knives never last more than 2 months sharp!!!!

Eddie Carrara (author) from New Hampshire on December 30, 2011:

Hey Joe, thanks for the input, I don't work my knives to much, just the steak knives,lol. The only time I use the chef's knife is when I'm cutting veggies, so for the minimal use of them, they works great. By looking at your hubs, I can see that you like to cook, so you input is very important. I'm going to stop by and check out some new recipes, thanks for taking the time to comment. Happy New Year!!!

Zach from Colorado on December 30, 2011:

Eddie,

Thanks for the review. I'm sure that other's will find this hub very helpful. I ran across this and decided to read because I also own a set of Cutco knives. Since you wanted some opinions, I thought I'd drop my two cents on the matter. The sheers, trimmers, steak, bread and any serrated edge blade for that matter are great! After four years of use, they are still very sharp and cut perfectly.

My biggest issue is with the chef's knives. In my opinion, the handle on the regular chef's knife is not positioned for maximum control. This knife feels sloppy in my hand and produces less than clean looking cuts. I prefer the Santoku Version as this knife feels better and maintains consistent control while cutting and slicing. An issue relating to both chef's knives is that they do not keep their sharpness for extended periods. I know it's probably a result of the amount of work I push these blades to do, but for an "ever-sharp" guarantee, they don't live up to it. The positive news is that with a quick sharpen, they're back up to where they used to be!

Overall, I'd say that I probably need to move forward to professional chef's knives, but the rest can stay!