Jesco Master Cut 2 Knife and Garnishing Tools Review

Updated on January 19, 2018
Master Cut 2 "The Sharpest knives in my block"
Master Cut 2 "The Sharpest knives in my block" | Source

I was out one day shopping in a large department store when an announcement came over the loudspeaker. "Today, shoppers, we will be doing a giveaway away in isle 4, across from the kitchen department. There will be a free gift for all that stop by. Be sure to come by and pick up your free gift."

Normally I can't be bothered standing and listening to someone trying to sell me a product. They always say free when in fact you know darn well it's going to cost you more than what the free product is worth. This one day I wasn't in a hurry to get anywhere, and I did have some time to kill, so I thought, "Why not?" The fact that it was in the kitchen department did pique my interest.

Garnishing Tools

The tool on the top is a spiral tool and the one below it is the food decorator tool.
The tool on the top is a spiral tool and the one below it is the food decorator tool. | Source

Garnishing Tools

The Food Decorator Tool

Right off the start a representative from Master Cut has us all gather around his workstation, which is a very large cutting board. He hands everyone the food decorator tool and proceeds to show and tell us what this tool is capable of.

I'm very excited over this tool as I love to make fancy vegetable and fruit trays that are full of pizzazz. Not only can you make fancy radishes but you can create baskets out of melons, make tomato bowls to hold dips, and so much more. The list is endless, and if you like to play with food you can get so creative with this one tool.

How to make a pretty radish

Click thumbnail to view full-size
Pretty radishesStart with a trimmed and clean radish.Insert the tool into the radish and push half way through.Continue re-inserting all the way around. Gently pull apart and you end up with two pretty halves to use on a veggie platter or to make a fancy salad.
Pretty radishes
Pretty radishes | Source
Start with a trimmed and clean radish.
Start with a trimmed and clean radish.
Insert the tool into the radish and push half way through.
Insert the tool into the radish and push half way through.
Continue re-inserting all the way around. Gently pull apart and you end up with two pretty halves to use on a veggie platter or to make a fancy salad.
Continue re-inserting all the way around. Gently pull apart and you end up with two pretty halves to use on a veggie platter or to make a fancy salad.

How to make cucumber and dill pickle curls

Click thumbnail to view full-size
Experimenting with a cucumberInsert the spiral tool into the top of the pickle.This can get a bit messy but you will end up with a dill pickle curl.
Experimenting with a cucumber
Experimenting with a cucumber
Source
Insert the spiral tool into the top of the pickle.
Insert the spiral tool into the top of the pickle.
This can get a bit messy but you will end up with a dill pickle curl.
This can get a bit messy but you will end up with a dill pickle curl.

The Spiral Tool

Source

The Spiral Tool

The second tool he shows us is a spiral tool. This one he does not hand out to us as it will be part his sales pitch to get us to purchase the entire Master Cut 2 Promotional Value Pack and I'll tell you later on what exactly this all includes.

  • With the spiral tool (looks very similar to a screw) you can create potato chips by simply inserting the tool into the potato, and with a twisting motion slice the potato into perfect rounds.
  • Vegetable curls can be easily made and used to decorate a platter.
  • You will want to use this tool with solid vegetables such as: potatoes, beets, and carrots. It can be used on cucumbers and zucchini as long as they are fairly firm.
  • The spiral is not only for vegetables but can be used for fruit as well, and is excellent for making banana chips.


Promotional Value Pack from Master Cut 2 US Jesco International Ltd., Inc.

In this value pack you receive the following:

  • 2 Carve and Serve Knives
  • 2 Garnishing Tools
  • 1 Chef's Knife
  • 4 Steak Knives
  • A book of garnishing secrets

The knives are made from triple tempered surgical stainless steel. If these knives ever become damaged in any way you can return them to the manufacturer, and they'll be replaced at no charge to you. This is an unconditional lifetime guarantee.

Master Cut 2 Knives

I've have many different types of knives but I have to say that these knives are by far the sharpest tools in my block.

Chef's Knife

Never before have I been able to slice a tomato so thin. Chopping vegetables used to seem like a chore, but not anymore with this chef's knife. I can line up five or six large carrots in a row and chop them all at the same time with very little pressure. No more tears with onions as they're chopped in no time at all.

Carve and Serve Knife

Carving meat is a breeze as the knife glides through the meat. This knife cannot be matched to any other I've ever used when it comes to slicing through fresh bread.

Paring Knife

No knife set would be complete without a paring knife. Although I've not had time to try making tomato rose yet, I'm sure that with this knife it would be easy with some practice. If you've never seen these made, I've included a video on how to make a rose. They are simply beautiful.


If you think you would like these knives please rate

3.2 out of 5 stars from 55 ratings of Master Cut 2 Knives

Questions & Answers

    © 2012 Susan Zutautas

    Comments

      0 of 8192 characters used
      Post Comment

      • Just Ask Susan profile imageAUTHOR

        Susan Zutautas 

        9 months ago from Ontario, Canada

        Marg, I'm sorry to say, I couldn't find a Canadian office where you could return your knife.

      • profile image

        Marg Hiebert 

        9 months ago

        They are great knives...

        My plastic handle is breaking apart....

        Is there a Cdn office to return to?

        Postage to US destination will probably cost more than the knife is worth...??

      • Just Ask Susan profile imageAUTHOR

        Susan Zutautas 

        5 years ago from Ontario, Canada

        Jerry, I'm so sorry to hear this. I love these knives and have not had any problems with them whatsoever. I do hope that you contacted the company as they come with a lifetime warranty.

        Here is what their website says:

        Return Policy:

        If, for whatever reason, you need to return your product for exchange, or order replacement parts we will be happy to assist you. If you would like to exchange a defective product, please send it regular mail to:

        U.S. Jesco International Ltd., Inc.

        1421 Westway Circle

        Carrollton, TX 75006-3733

        Attn: Customer Service

      • profile image

        Jerry 

        5 years ago

        I bought 5 sets to use as gifts. THEY RUST . very disappointed

      • Just Ask Susan profile imageAUTHOR

        Susan Zutautas 

        6 years ago from Ontario, Canada

        b. Malin, Thanks, always nice to see you :)

      • b. Malin profile image

        b. Malin 

        6 years ago

        Very Educational Susan. I always run away when they say "Free" for time is precious...But I'm glad you didn't. This was a Wonderful Review. And I too hate a Dull Knife, especially when cutting Tomatoes!

      • Just Ask Susan profile imageAUTHOR

        Susan Zutautas 

        6 years ago from Ontario, Canada

        Jimmy, They are nifty aren't they :)

      • jimmythejock profile image

        James Paterson 

        6 years ago from Scotland

        I got those tools too in the same way lol, free after a demo in my local supermarket, it wasn't for knives though it was for a grater.....jimmy

      • Just Ask Susan profile imageAUTHOR

        Susan Zutautas 

        6 years ago from Ontario, Canada

        Deborah and Mama Kim,

        Thank you both.

      • Mama Kim 8 profile image

        Sasha Kim 

        6 years ago

        Well thank you... I now know what to ask my hubby for Christmas ^_^ Excellent review! Voting up and interesting

      • Deborah Brooks profile image

        Deborah Brooks Langford 

        6 years ago from Brownsville,TX

        wow I would love these knives. thank you for a wonderful hub.. this should get an award. it]f it hasn't already. Wow Susan love it..

        sharing

        Debbie

      • Just Ask Susan profile imageAUTHOR

        Susan Zutautas 

        6 years ago from Ontario, Canada

        RH, I worked for a company in Seattle for a bit that sold all kinds of Kitchenware. At Christmas everyone in our office got a really nice knife set. I still have a few of them kicking around. I'm just amazed at what these Master Cut 2 knives do for the price.

      • Just Ask Susan profile imageAUTHOR

        Susan Zutautas 

        6 years ago from Ontario, Canada

        PaisleeGal, Thank you :)

      • Just Ask Susan profile imageAUTHOR

        Susan Zutautas 

        6 years ago from Ontario, Canada

        drbj, The spiral tool is fun :)

      • Just Ask Susan profile imageAUTHOR

        Susan Zutautas 

        6 years ago from Ontario, Canada

        Thank you Mhatter.

      • Just Ask Susan profile imageAUTHOR

        Susan Zutautas 

        6 years ago from Ontario, Canada

        suzzycue, I'd wanted to buy an expensive set but when I saw these and the price I couldn't resist.

      • RealHousewife profile image

        Kelly Umphenour 

        6 years ago from St. Louis, MO

        Wow! Hey I love those! I am always trying to make the plate look nicer. Somehow it does make the food taste better:)

        I just bought a couple of knives from a well known company - $150 for just 2 knives! They are excellent but here's my problem with paying a lot for knives and such - they get lost. Somehow - I had two chef's knives grow legs and walk out of the house. I have a feeling they found the route to my oldest daughters house? haha That's where most of lost gadgets turn up!

      • PaisleeGal profile image

        Pat Materna 

        6 years ago from Memphis, Tennessee, USA

        Good Hub and advice. There is nothing more frustrating than a dull knife. Sort of like a dull person ... just not fun to be around. Thanks Susan.

      • drbj profile image

        drbj and sherry 

        6 years ago from south Florida

        What a fascinating set of knives to play with - in the kitchen, that is. The spiral tool is the one I want. Thanks for the intro, Susan.

      • Mhatter99 profile image

        Martin Kloess 

        6 years ago from San Francisco

        Good product review. Thank you

      • suzzycue profile image

        Susan Britton 

        6 years ago from Ontario, Canada

        Hi Susan this is an interesting hub. There is nothing worse than spending the day with a dull knife. You will cut yourself easier with a dull knife than with a sharp knife because it slides off the vegetables instead of slicing into them. I know ,working in a kitchen, I have had my share of finger slices. This looks like a very good knife set enjoy!

      working

      This website uses cookies

      As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, delishably.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

      For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://delishably.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

      Show Details
      Necessary
      HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
      LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
      Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
      AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
      HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
      HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
      Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
      CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
      Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
      Features
      Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
      Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
      Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
      Marketing
      Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
      Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
      Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
      Statistics
      Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
      ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
      Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)