report

Ninja Express Chop Review and Recipes

Source:  Sharyn's Slant
Source: Sharyn's Slant

Why I Bought the Ninja Express Chop

I have two sisters, and I was talking to each of them on different occasions about how much I had been using my blender lately. The main gist of the conversation was about how aggravated I'd become because my blender was a piece of crap.

My sister Patti recommended the Magic Bullet. She likes it, and so do her four boys, as they use it often for all kinds of things. My sister Chris recommended the Ninja Express Chop. She told me she “uses it daily for everything.” So it was time for me to go shopping and check out my options.

When I saw the Magic Bullet, my first reaction was that I would never be happy with all of its pieces and parts. Seriously, the one I looked at has 17 pieces. For what? I just couldn’t imagine that I would need a Deluxe Magic Bullet ,unless it also did the laundry and scrubbed floors or something. It seemed way too complicated and also over the price of what I could spend.

I took a look at the Ninja Express Chop. My first thought was “will this be able to do the things I want to use it for?” Okay, so it’s a chopper meant to chop, mince, and puree. But could I make a shake in it if I wanted too?

I chose the Ninja Express Chop initially for two reasons: 1) it was only $19.94 + tax at WalMart and 2) it appeared easy to use because it only three parts, which for me, meant no headaches with losing pieces, easy clean up, and easy storage.

The Right Decision For Me

I like to keep things simple. Since I am usually only cooking or baking for two people, the fact that the Ninja Express Chop is a two-cup capacity was not a problem.

This model claims to “chop, mince, or puree ingredients into soups, sauces, dressings, toppings, dips, and more.” I love the “and more” part because I truly use my Ninja for everything.

Why I Like My Ninja Express Chop

  • The power pod is very easy to use with one-touch pulsing. It gives you precise control which helps eliminate the chance of over chopping something into mush.
  • The splash guard really helps eliminate messes and also doubles as a storage lid. I can make a salad dressing, for example, and simply put the leftovers in the refrigerator.
  • The Ninja 4 Blade Technology works wonders.
  • It’s small with just a few parts for easy clean up and storage.

What I Wish Was Different

I wish there was a handle on the bowl. It is small enough to hold, but I feel a handle would give you a more secure feeling while using the unit. Also, a handle would make it easier to pour out of the bowl.

Simple Recipes to Use With It

There are so many things you can easily prepare in this blender. Here are some great ideas to get you started.

Source

Fruit Dip

  • 1 8-ounce cream cheese softened
  • 1 7-ounce marshmallow cream
  • 3 tablespoons orange juice (optional)
  1. Puree all ingredients.
  2. Serve with fresh fruit (bananas or red grapes are my favorite).

The Ninja Express Chop is great for making homemade baby food.
The Ninja Express Chop is great for making homemade baby food. | Source

Sweet Potato Mash Baby Food

  • 1 cup cooked sweet potato
  • 1 cup melon - cantaloupe or honey dew
  • 1/4 cup plain natural yogurt
  1. Puree all ingredients.
  2. Refrigerate or freeze if not using immediately.

Make all kinds of shakes by simply blending ice cream and fruit.  Source:  Sharyn's Slant
Make all kinds of shakes by simply blending ice cream and fruit. Source: Sharyn's Slant

Chocolate Banana Shake

  • 1 small banana
  • 1 1/2 cup vanilla ice cream
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 1 tablespoon chocolate syrup
  1. Puree all ingredients.
  2. Decorate with drizzled chocolate syrup on top if desired.

Source

Chicken Salad

  • 1 cup cooked chicken pieces
  • 1/2 celery stalk cut into smaller pieces
  • 1/4 mayonnaise
  • 1/8 cup walnuts
  • Salt & pepper to taste
  1. Pulse chop all ingredients (celery on the bottom) to desired consistency.
  2. Serve on toast, crackers, in a wrap, or on a bed of lettuce.

Option: Substitute tuna for chicken. Chop red grapes for garnish on top of salad or mix into salad.

Source

Salsa

  • 3 medium tomatoes, quartered
  • 1/2 onion, cut in half
  • Juice of one lime
  • 1/4 cup fresh cilantro
  • 1/4 cup sour cream
  1. Pulse chop all ingredients except sour cream to desired consistency.
  2. Stir in sour cream.
  3. Serve with tortilla chips.

Options: Add peppers such as jalapeno, bell peppers, or banana peppers.

Source

Egg Salad

  • 3 large hard boiled eggs (peeled)
  • 2 tablespoons mayonnaise
  • 1 teaspoon yellow mustard
  1. Puree all ingredients to desired consistency.
  2. Serve on bread, crackers, or a bed of lettuce.

Options: Add onion or relish.

Ninja Express Chop Model NJ100   Source:  Sharyn's Slant
Ninja Express Chop Model NJ100 Source: Sharyn's Slant

Thank You for Stopping By

I really love my new blender and hope you give it a try.

If you are interested in something that has a larger capacity, please check out the other Ninja products that I have listed below.

This is Sharyn's Slant.


Ninja Products With Larger Capacities

Product
Average Cost
Ninja Kitchen System Pulse
$170
Ninja Kitchen System 1100
$160
Ninja Master Prep Pro System
$120
Ninja Professional Blender
$100
Ninja Warrior
$80
Ninja Master Prep
$60
Source: Sharyn's Slant and ninjakitchen.com

More by this Author


Comments 44 comments

Arlene V. Poma 4 years ago

LOL!!! Are you trying to get me to part with my Kohl's cash? I always wondered what this kitchen gadget was about because I see different Ninja models displayed at Kohl's all of the time. Your Hub is so convincing! I could wait til Senior Citizen's Wednesday and take an additional 15% (to the added 20% off coupon) off. You and your Hub make it so hard! So shame on you!


Deborah Brooks profile image

Deborah Brooks 4 years ago from Brownsville,TX

Sharon wow thank you for all the info.. I am always looking for something to make life easier.. and I am like you there is only two of us now..and the recipes look wonderful

I Am going shopping..lol

sharing

Debbie


Ruchira profile image

Ruchira 4 years ago from United States

wow sharyn besides enlightening us with this gadget, you gifted us with more of your precious recipes.

I have a chopper but it's just a target branded and it sure can do wonders :) will try out these recipes to beat the heat :)

many votes and sharing it across


josh3418 profile image

josh3418 4 years ago from Pennsylvania

Sharon,

Incredible blender, I have never heard of this item, but I am a guy and Ninja souns cool! LOL Thanks for sharing this informative hub on this blender and of course your recipes! I definitely want a chocolate bannana milkshake right now! Can you ship me up one? Have a good week Sharon!


RealHousewife profile image

RealHousewife 4 years ago from St. Louis, MO

Hilarious Sharon...I also love that you have two sisters that you figure this stuff out with:) lol Gave me a giggle.

Thanks for the awesome recipes! I want to try that Egg Salad.

My nephew begged me to get him a magic bullet when he was like 12:) LOL He got one! But hey - he is a darn good cook and he is 14 now! lol


GoodLady profile image

GoodLady 4 years ago from Rome, Italy

Seems like the perfect kitchen gadget and thanks for all those easy recipes too. Nice hub!


denisemai profile image

denisemai 4 years ago from Idaho

I love my Ninja. I don't know which one it is but I believe it's the lowest. We use it for smoothies, hot soups, and to chop just about anything. I agree with you on the magic bullet. We stared at them both and all of the many parts had me worried. I will certainly misplace them. I really like your recipes. Well done!


carol7777 profile image

carol7777 4 years ago from Arizona

Learn something new everyday. This sounds like an interesting gadget to add to the kitchen. The picture portray the beauty and delicousness of the Ninja. Thanks for sharing and saving us time in looking into the details.


moonlake profile image

moonlake 4 years ago from America

I have some Kohl's cash will have to check this out. I love the red. Enjoyed reading your hub very interesting. Voted Up.


Simone Smith profile image

Simone Smith 4 years ago from San Francisco

Hahaa, I always wondered if the Ninja would hold up to its advertising promise. Thanks for the review!


marcoujor profile image

marcoujor 4 years ago from Jeffersonville PA

OK, OK, I'm thinking about this seriously, because I really love and respect your Slant on things!

I am sooooo not into gimmicks but now this Ninja thang is gonna call me every time I walk past it:

"Come on, Maria, enjoy a chocolate banana shake on me... with a nice chicken salad sandwich!"

Sold! Voted UP & UAI... just like you. Hugs, Maria


Hyphenbird profile image

Hyphenbird 4 years ago from America-Broken But Still Beautiful

Well the price is great and it does a lot. My old Oster blender is still hanging on so I won't get a new blender/chopper now but shall keep this in mind. Hopefully mine has years left as it is only 22 years old. laugh

Thanks for the great recipes also.


drbj profile image

drbj 4 years ago from south Florida

I was so Ninja Express knowledge-deficient, Sharon, I thought this was going to be a hub on self-defense with Ninja tactics - you know, like Bruce Lee. Now I know better thanks to you and thanks also for the recipes, m'dear.


CloudExplorer profile image

CloudExplorer 4 years ago from New York City

Awesome review here on the express chop product, my wife recently purchased a new fruit and vegetable juicer known as the nutribullet, it's a cool product as well, and it was created by the same manufacturer of the magic bullet.

I like how you seal the deal here by explaining in great detail as about the product, and also go into presenting ways to utilize it, especially the wide variety of food recipe items, and that cool baby food dish as well, nicely done Sharon voted up and out.


Global-Chica profile image

Global-Chica 4 years ago from New York, NY

I love your review! I need to buy a blender/chopper so instead of doing lots of research about which one to get - I'll use your recommendation and buy the Ninja Express Chop. Thanks! Voted up and useful.


Sharyn's Slant profile image

Sharyn's Slant 4 years ago from Northeast Ohio USA Author

Hi Arlene ~ Hey, it's Wednesday, are you at Kohls??? I wish I had some Kohl's cash :) Hope you enjoy spending yours. I don't know what Kohl's charges for the Ninja Express Chop but at WalMart and Target, it is only $20. Thanks for your fun comments!

Sharyn


Sharyn's Slant profile image

Sharyn's Slant 4 years ago from Northeast Ohio USA Author

Hi Debbie ~ Yes, me too, always looking for things that make life easier and less complicated. Thank you so much for stopping by and sharing.

Sharyn


Sharyn's Slant profile image

Sharyn's Slant 4 years ago from Northeast Ohio USA Author

Hey Ruchira ~ FYI, Target also carries the Ninja Express Chop in some really cool colors. I have only seen it in the red at WalMart. I appreciate your feedback, votes and shares, thank you so much.

Sharyn


Sharyn's Slant profile image

Sharyn's Slant 4 years ago from Northeast Ohio USA Author

Hey Josh ~ I am assuming you received the banana chocolate milkshake in the mail by now? At least I hope so :) Yeah, I agree, because it's called Ninja, I'm sure many guys would like it too. Thanks for always stopping by.

Sharyn


Sharyn's Slant profile image

Sharyn's Slant 4 years ago from Northeast Ohio USA Author

Hi Kel ~ yeah, I do talk to my sisters about stuff like this :) You are such a good aunt buying Chase a MagicBullet at 12 years old. I have a nephew that talked a lot about being a chef when he was young. And he was constantly in the kitchen with either his mom or grandma. He's 23 now and does cook a lot at home, but I really wish he'd go to school. He looks SO comfortable cooking with all his spices, ha. Thanks for your feedback.


Sharyn's Slant profile image

Sharyn's Slant 4 years ago from Northeast Ohio USA Author

Hi Penelope ~ It really is a great gadget. Thanks so much for stopping by!

Sharyn


Sharyn's Slant profile image

Sharyn's Slant 4 years ago from Northeast Ohio USA Author

Hi Denise ~ Yay, you love your Ninja too! I use it for just about anything too. Thank you for the compliments.

Sharyn


Sharyn's Slant profile image

Sharyn's Slant 4 years ago from Northeast Ohio USA Author

Hi Carol ~ You are very welcome. It is a great, simple and inexpensive gadget to add to your kitchen. Thank you for stopping by.

Sharyn


Sharyn's Slant profile image

Sharyn's Slant 4 years ago from Northeast Ohio USA Author

Hi Moonlake ~ Oooh, you and Arlene both have some Kohl's cash. I think you have some shopping to do. I'm glad you enjoyed this hub, thanks.

Sharyn


Sharyn's Slant profile image

Sharyn's Slant 4 years ago from Northeast Ohio USA Author

Hi Simone ~ I personally do think the Ninja holds up to its advertising promise :) Thanks so much for stopping by!

Sharyn


Sharyn's Slant profile image

Sharyn's Slant 4 years ago from Northeast Ohio USA Author

Hi Maria ~ So you like my "slant," huh. Well I am glad :) Let me know if the Ninja talks to you whenever you walk by! Thanks for your fun comments!

Sharyn


Sharyn's Slant profile image

Sharyn's Slant 4 years ago from Northeast Ohio USA Author

Hi Brenda ~ Yup, the price is right! But I say if your Oster is still doing a good job after 22 years, it's a keeper! Thanks for stopping by!

Sharyn


Sharyn's Slant profile image

Sharyn's Slant 4 years ago from Northeast Ohio USA Author

Dr. BJ ~ Don't feel bad. I was too until I bought the Ninja! Thank you for reading and commenting!

Sharyn


Sharyn's Slant profile image

Sharyn's Slant 4 years ago from Northeast Ohio USA Author

Hey Mike ~ I'm glad you liked this review. I have seen the Nutribullet and know people that have it. I don't remember what the cost was but I know it was more than the $20 I spent. And yes, baby food can be easily made in the Ninja Express Chop. Thank you so much for your feedback.

Sharyn


Sharyn's Slant profile image

Sharyn's Slant 4 years ago from Northeast Ohio USA Author

Hi Global-Chica ~ thank you for the great feedback and votes too. I really hope you like the Ninja!

Sharyn


Rusticliving profile image

Rusticliving 4 years ago from California

Hi Sharon! I was all set to invest in the Magic Bullet....that was until now..lol Now I'm all confused..hehe I never heard of the Ninja and I really like the look of it and the info on it's features. This is the kind of gadget I love in my kitchen. Like Kelly, I too want to try your egg salad recipe! Thumbs up on this great review. ♥


Sharyn's Slant profile image

Sharyn's Slant 4 years ago from Northeast Ohio USA Author

Hey Lisa ~ thanks! I've never tried the Magic Bullet and I do believe it does "more." And so do the larger Ninja projects. But for me, the Express Chop was all I need. I appreciate your feedback, thank you so much!

Sharyn


Sunnie Day 4 years ago

Sharon this was a great review. It is so hard to order appliances sometimes as we just don't know how well they will work. Being directionally challenged, the simpler the better..lol I love the recipes and the break down of the Magic Bullet. Thank you..great job!


Sharyn's Slant profile image

Sharyn's Slant 4 years ago from Northeast Ohio USA Author

Hi Sunnie ~ just so you know, the review is of the Ninja, not the MB :) I always appreciate when you stop by. Have a great week!

Sharyn


vocalcoach profile image

vocalcoach 4 years ago from Nashville Tn.

Wowee! You certainly know how to write a fantastic product review. I'd buy this Ninja even if I had 10 more here in my kitchen.

The recipes look so inviting. The photos are just awesome...and by the way...so are you! Big votes on this one with plenty of sharing.


Sharyn's Slant profile image

Sharyn's Slant 4 years ago from Northeast Ohio USA Author

Hi Audrey ~ thanks so much for the compliments. Now please do not buy 10 Ninja's. I think eventually you would get sick of looking at them, ha. I appreciate you sharing this and your kind comments. Take care,

Sharyn


helen hendershot 3 years ago

I love the Ninja Chopper. I quick touch is great. But when I used it I cut my self on the bade, guss I did not pull it out first, OUCH!! Tonight I used it for a mushroom cream sauce, came out perfect. My husband went to clean it and cut his finger really bad. Other then that its great.


Sharyn's Slant profile image

Sharyn's Slant 3 years ago from Northeast Ohio USA Author

Hi Helen ~ Gosh, well that is ironic that you both cut your finger on the blade. It certainly is sharp. That's what makes the Ninja so powerful. But you really need to be careful. I appreciate you stopping by.

Sharyn


SidKemp profile image

SidKemp 3 years ago from Boca Raton, Florida (near Miami and Palm Beach)

Thanks! I really appreciate this review. I'm very cautious about inexpensive kitchen devices, because, so often, they just wear out. Also, so many say, "easy to clean" and are anything but. (I can't stand it when it takes longer to clean the gizmo than to make the meal!) How long have you had your Ninja Chop?


Sharyn's Slant profile image

Sharyn's Slant 3 years ago from Northeast Ohio USA Author

Hi Sid ~ you are very welcome! I agree that many inexpensive small appliances wear out quickly and don't work as described. This little Ninja is pretty powerful. And it IS very easy to clean. That is one of my favorite things about it. I've had mine for about a year. It was fairly new to me when I decided to write this review. Thanks so much for stopping by.

Sharyn


Desmith3 profile image

Desmith3 3 years ago from Tallapoosa, GA.

Good article, but my question is about format; how did you get the little fruit dividers in the breaks? Are those image capsules or titles with HTML inserted or what? How'd you do that?


Sharyn's Slant profile image

Sharyn's Slant 3 years ago from Northeast Ohio USA Author

Hi Desmith ~ I used clip art and created it PowerPoint. I then turned it into a jpg photo. Then I used the photo capsule on the hub. Hope this helps. Thank you for stopping by.

Sharyn


Rick 23 months ago

I just got the Ninja Express chop and was looking for recipes. Thanks for that! (BTW, we love this little gem too)


Sharyn's Slant profile image

Sharyn's Slant 23 months ago from Northeast Ohio USA Author

Hi Rick,

So glad you found these ideas. Enjoy your Ninja~it's a pretty powerful little kitchen tool! Happy Holidays!

Sharyn

    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages Network account.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.


    Click to Rate This Article