Review of the Tru 3 Crock-Pot Buffet Slow Cooker

Updated on August 29, 2018
There's my three crock buffet in the box, on my counter, waiting to be opened. So excited!
There's my three crock buffet in the box, on my counter, waiting to be opened. So excited! | Source

Benefits of Slow Cookers

I've really been getting into cooking with crock-pots, or slow cookers. These kitchen items are great for the summer because they don't heat up the kitchen like the stove or oven will. In the winter, the slow cooker is also fun to use, as it creates warm and comforting foods.

Slow cookers require much less energy, even when they are on for eight hours, compared to the energy required to cook something on the stove for an hour or so. And how awesome is it to put in the food and walk away without having to continually check on it as you would with the stove or oven. There is virtually no danger of the food boiling over or burning. Plus, if you have the "warm" feature, you can keep food warm, without it continuing to cook.

To me, another perk is that everything just seems to taste better in a slow cooker. Well, maybe not dishes such as fried chicken, but foods do seem to blend together well in a crock-pot. I have cleaned out my refrigerator and freezer before, dumping in my slow cooker the miscellaneous leftover vegetables and meats, adding only a few spices, and the final result is tastier than I could have imagined.

Cook three foods at once!

Although I've been enjoying my traditional slow cooker for years now, recently I caught myself eyeing the three-pot slow cooker. I seemed to spot them everywhere I went. One even went for a door prize at a conference I attended.

As my birthday drew near, I told my boyfriend that getting me one of these triple crock buffets would be a great idea. It wasn't too long before we were off to Kohl's to pick one out!

We looked at the different sizes—one with a regular-size crock plus two small ones of 1-1/2 quarts; one with three 1-1/2 quart sizes; and one with three 2-1/2 quart sizes. I didn't want the regular-sized one, as I already have a large slow cooker. After some contemplation, we decided that I might regret getting the smaller sizes, so we decided on the 2-1/2 quart-sized crocks. I think this is the perfect size.

My triple crock slow cooker buffet, all washed and set up, ready to go!
My triple crock slow cooker buffet, all washed and set up, ready to go! | Source
Three dishes ready to go: marinated chicken, loaded potatoes, and green beans.
Three dishes ready to go: marinated chicken, loaded potatoes, and green beans. | Source

Setting up your slow cooker buffet

The triple crock slow cooker was easy to set up. I found a temporary spot on the counter, flipped quickly through the instructions, washed the pots and lids, placed them in the apparatus, and I was ready to go.

Also included in this brand (Tru) were three heavy duty serving spoons. I could hardly wait to cook in my new prize for the first time.

Since then, I have moved the stuff on my counter around in order to give my crocks a permanent spot. I thought about moving the appliance to the garage or somewhere else when I wasn't using it, but I thought that would be too much trouble. I think I'll be using this slow cooker pretty often. Plus, the attractive black and stainless steel matches the built-in microwave and stove that is next to it.

Three pots cooking, all steamed up!
Three pots cooking, all steamed up! | Source

I love my new three pot slow cooker!

5 stars for Tru 3 Pot Crock Slow Cooker

My first triple crock meal

My first triple crock meal consisted of marinated chicken breasts, potatoes and onions, and green beans. After marinating the chicken breasts, I cooked them slowly to tenderize them. I cooked the potatoes and onions on high for a while before switching them to low, adding some grated cheese. For the green beans, I found an online recipe for frozen green beans cooked in chicken broth. Those I cooked on high.

I'm excited about the "warm" setting, as I have only a "high" and "low" on my regular crock pot. The warm--unlike the low--setting keeps the dish warm without continuing to cook it. I love that!

You may want to know that these little crocks are removable for cleaning. The dishwasher isn't recommended for them, but they clean up easily by hand. I've had no trouble with them at all.

I thoroughly enjoyed my first time cooking with my new triple crock slow cooker buffet. This thing will be great for parties!

The results: I took these dishes over to my boyfriend's house to let him try them too, since he bought this delightful kitchen appliance for  me. The experiment was a big success!
The results: I took these dishes over to my boyfriend's house to let him try them too, since he bought this delightful kitchen appliance for me. The experiment was a big success! | Source

Have you used a three pot slow cooker?

See results

Questions & Answers

    Comments

      0 of 8192 characters used
      Post Comment

      • Victoria Lynn profile imageAUTHOR

        Victoria Lynn 

        4 years ago from Arkansas, USA

        Cynthianne--Thanks for the compliments. I love mine, too!

      • Cynthianne profile image

        Cynthianne Neighbors 

        4 years ago

        I got one for a housewarming gift just in time for the holidays and absolutely LOVE it!! Good review and good article.

      • Victoria Lynn profile imageAUTHOR

        Victoria Lynn 

        5 years ago from Arkansas, USA

        RTalloni-Yes, I've used this quite a bit--for a party or just when cooking a few things for myself. :-)

      • RTalloni profile image

        RTalloni 

        5 years ago from the short journey

        This would really come in handy tomorrow…, and other times, too.

        Hope you have a lovely Thanksgiving!

      • Victoria Lynn profile imageAUTHOR

        Victoria Lynn 

        5 years ago from Arkansas, USA

        LOL, Kasman! You're funny. This 3 crock thing is really fun to experiment with! Think about it! Thanks for the vote and share!

      • Kasman profile image

        Kas 

        5 years ago from Bartlett, Tennessee

        I WILL be honest victoria, i read.everything up to your first recipes with this thing because im out and about and didn't want to make myself hungry, lol. Your overall review makes me want one of these because im already a fan of using crockpots but this would make so much more sense. Voting up and sharing!

      • Victoria Lynn profile imageAUTHOR

        Victoria Lynn 

        5 years ago from Arkansas, USA

        pstraubie--It's fun to cook 3 things at once. And, yes, the pots are removable for cleaning. The dishwasher isn't recommended for them, but cleaning them is pretty easy. :-)

      • pstraubie48 profile image

        Patricia Scott 

        5 years ago from sunny Florida

        O thank you for this. I have used my one pot crock pot for quite a while and love it because I can take the pot out to clean it. I may have missed it; are these little pots removable for cleaning??

        This looks like a new addition to my kitchen.

        With summer coming on, less heat in the house the better for sure.

        Sending Angels and good wishes your way :) ps

      • Victoria Lynn profile imageAUTHOR

        Victoria Lynn 

        5 years ago from Arkansas, USA

        Thanks, tebo, for the comments. You should try one of these things! :-)

      • tebo profile image

        tebo 

        5 years ago from New Zealand

        I have never seen a three pot slow cooker. It is a great idea. I use my one pot slow cooker quite often and it is so good to just put the food on and forget about it until its time to dish up. Great review.

      • Victoria Lynn profile imageAUTHOR

        Victoria Lynn 

        6 years ago from Arkansas, USA

        teaches--Yes! This would be a great gift for your mother-in-law. It's awesome!

      • teaches12345 profile image

        Dianna Mendez 

        6 years ago

        My mother-in-law would love this slow cooker. She cooks all the time for large family gatherings. I often have wondered what would help her and now I know. I am going to mention this to my hubby. Thanks for the Christmas gift idea.

      • Victoria Lynn profile imageAUTHOR

        Victoria Lynn 

        6 years ago from Arkansas, USA

        Me, too, Ruchira! thanks for the input!

      • Victoria Lynn profile imageAUTHOR

        Victoria Lynn 

        6 years ago from Arkansas, USA

        haha, carol! Yes, 3 are sometimes better than one. :-)

      • Ruchira profile image

        Ruchira 

        6 years ago from United States

        Crock pots are my fav too, and three in one is superb :)

        Good review, Vicki.

      • carol7777 profile image

        carol stanley 

        6 years ago from Arizona

        I guess three crockpots are better than one. Great job on the review and I can almost smell dinner cooking.

      • Victoria Lynn profile imageAUTHOR

        Victoria Lynn 

        6 years ago from Arkansas, USA

        Oh, GiblinGirl, crock pots are SOOO worth it, whether you use one or three! Easy, healthy, and makes food taste great!

      • Victoria Lynn profile imageAUTHOR

        Victoria Lynn 

        6 years ago from Arkansas, USA

        Go, Nell, go! You won't regret it!

        You too, random! You would love it, too. You don't have to put it on your birthday list; just buy it for yourself. LOL!

      • Victoria Lynn profile imageAUTHOR

        Victoria Lynn 

        6 years ago from Arkansas, USA

        RealH Kelly--Red is awesome! Fun color. I bet you'll love it!

      • Victoria Lynn profile imageAUTHOR

        Victoria Lynn 

        6 years ago from Arkansas, USA

        Mhatter--Now how did that happen???

      • GiblinGirl profile image

        GiblinGirl 

        6 years ago from New Jersey

        This sounds awesome. I've never used a crock pot before and always thought they weren't really worth it, but I've been pinning all these crock pot recipes on Pinterest and now I'm ready to get one. Maybe I'll check this one out.

      • Victoria Lynn profile imageAUTHOR

        Victoria Lynn 

        6 years ago from Arkansas, USA

        Angela Blair--I like that word, "muchly"!! I'm excited to see what ways I'll be using my three pot cooker! :-)

      • randomcreative profile image

        Rose Clearfield 

        6 years ago from Milwaukee, Wisconsin

        I love hosting and would really enjoy this! Very tempting. I've already maxed out my Christmas gift list this year, but I'll have to keep this in mind for my birthday.

      • Nell Rose profile image

        Nell Rose 

        6 years ago from England

        What a great review! now I seriously want one! lol! your cooking looks great too, I am on my way!

      • RealHousewife profile image

        Kelly Umphenour 

        6 years ago from St. Louis, MO

        Hi Vicki! I just got one of those from my sister for a gift! Now I really can't wait to use it....I think it's almost exactly the same except its red...I knew it would be awesome for family dinners and holidays!

      • Victoria Lynn profile imageAUTHOR

        Victoria Lynn 

        6 years ago from Arkansas, USA

        always exploring--I didn't know they were out there either, until they started hitting me in the face b/c they were everywhere!!!!!

      • Mhatter99 profile image

        Martin Kloess 

        6 years ago from San Francisco

        Good product review. Thank you. Though I once used 2, somehow I have 3.

      • Angela Blair profile image

        Angela Blair 

        6 years ago from Central Texas

        I'd seen the three-pot cookers but didn't know anyone who'd bought and used them -- so thank you muchly for this informative Hub. I use my one-pot cooker a lot and can think of ways the 3-pot model would be tremendously helpful. Great review! Best/Sis

      • always exploring profile image

        Ruby Jean Richert 

        6 years ago from Southern Illinois

        I most definitely will purchase the three pot cooker. I didn't know they were on the market. Thank you for sharing..

      • Victoria Lynn profile imageAUTHOR

        Victoria Lynn 

        6 years ago from Arkansas, USA

        Martie--The ones at takealot look just fine!

      • Victoria Lynn profile imageAUTHOR

        Victoria Lynn 

        6 years ago from Arkansas, USA

        Martie--ONly $7? Wow. You should have at least ONE slow cooker!! :-)

      • Victoria Lynn profile imageAUTHOR

        Victoria Lynn 

        6 years ago from Arkansas, USA

        Yeah, savingkathy, it's awesome! You could set it on the dryer when you're not using it! LOL

      • MartieCoetser profile image

        Martie Coetser 

        6 years ago from South Africa

        Victoria, apparently the 3 Crock Pot Buffet is not yet here - but I will check the stores - On the other hand, one pot will be enough for me. I love stews! This is what's available in SA. And BTW, R1 (ZAR) equals about $7 ~~~ http://www.takealot.com/home-kitchen/slow-cookers?...

      • savingkathy profile image

        Kathy Sima 

        6 years ago from Ontario, Canada

        I've never heard of this before, but think it is a brilliant idea! Now, if only I can find some more counter space in my kitchen... ;)

      • Victoria Lynn profile imageAUTHOR

        Victoria Lynn 

        6 years ago from Arkansas, USA

        I don't know, Martie, but I bet you could order it online and get it shipped there, perhaps? I forget that you are in South Africa! :-)

      • MartieCoetser profile image

        Martie Coetser 

        6 years ago from South Africa

        A Slow Cooker is just what I need. So glad to see the 3 Crock Pot Buffet (instead of one pot). I wonder if it is available in SA? Let me go check. Thank you, Victoria!

      • Victoria Lynn profile imageAUTHOR

        Victoria Lynn 

        6 years ago from Arkansas, USA

        Louisa--Sometimes I cook just for myself and have stuff for the whole week. I'm sure I'll use it when just cooking for myself! I don't guess I have to always cook 3 things at once. :-)

      • Victoria Lynn profile imageAUTHOR

        Victoria Lynn 

        6 years ago from Arkansas, USA

        Georgie--It might work for 8. It holds quite a bit. I didn't even fill half the crocks when I used it. You might look in a store to see the actual sizes--what 2 1/2 quarts looks like. It might at least be good for side dishes when there doesn't need to be as much of one dish. It's something to consider. It might make cooking easier for your roommate.

      • Louisa Rogers profile image

        Louisa Rogers 

        6 years ago from Eureka, California and Guanajuato, Mexico

        I love my crock pot! Don't think I cook enough volume for the three crock-pot version, in fact I didn't even know of its existence, but it was a good read.

      • Georgie Lowery profile image

        GH Price 

        6 years ago from North Florida

        Great review, thank you for sharing it!

        I've been eyeballing the three crock cooker for a little while, but I have a dilemma. I want to get it for my roommate and she and her husband have five kids! Plus me, that makes eight to cook for. Do you think the large size of this brand would be big enough to cook for eight?

      working

      This website uses cookies

      As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, delishably.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

      For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://delishably.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

      Show Details
      Necessary
      HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
      LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
      Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
      AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
      HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
      HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
      Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
      CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
      Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
      Features
      Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
      Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
      Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
      Marketing
      Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
      Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
      Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
      Statistics
      Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
      ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
      Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)