Updated date:

Review of the Tru 3 Crock-Pot Buffet Slow Cooker

There's my three crock buffet in the box, on my counter, waiting to be opened. So excited!

There's my three crock buffet in the box, on my counter, waiting to be opened. So excited!

Benefits of Slow Cookers

I've really been getting into cooking with crock-pots, or slow cookers. These kitchen items are great for the summer because they don't heat up the kitchen like the stove or oven will. In the winter, the slow cooker is also fun to use, as it creates warm and comforting foods.

Slow cookers require much less energy, even when they are on for eight hours, compared to the energy required to cook something on the stove for an hour or so. And how awesome is it to put in the food and walk away without having to continually check on it as you would with the stove or oven. There is virtually no danger of the food boiling over or burning. Plus, if you have the "warm" feature, you can keep food warm, without it continuing to cook.

To me, another perk is that everything just seems to taste better in a slow cooker. Well, maybe not dishes such as fried chicken, but foods do seem to blend together well in a crock-pot. I have cleaned out my refrigerator and freezer before, dumping in my slow cooker the miscellaneous leftover vegetables and meats, adding only a few spices, and the final result is tastier than I could have imagined.

Cook three foods at once!

Although I've been enjoying my traditional slow cooker for years now, recently I caught myself eyeing the three-pot slow cooker. I seemed to spot them everywhere I went. One even went for a door prize at a conference I attended.

As my birthday drew near, I told my boyfriend that getting me one of these triple crock buffets would be a great idea. It wasn't too long before we were off to Kohl's to pick one out!

We looked at the different sizes—one with a regular-size crock plus two small ones of 1-1/2 quarts; one with three 1-1/2 quart sizes; and one with three 2-1/2 quart sizes. I didn't want the regular-sized one, as I already have a large slow cooker. After some contemplation, we decided that I might regret getting the smaller sizes, so we decided on the 2-1/2 quart-sized crocks. I think this is the perfect size.

My triple crock slow cooker buffet, all washed and set up, ready to go!

My triple crock slow cooker buffet, all washed and set up, ready to go!

Three dishes ready to go: marinated chicken, loaded potatoes, and green beans.

Three dishes ready to go: marinated chicken, loaded potatoes, and green beans.

Setting up your slow cooker buffet

The triple crock slow cooker was easy to set up. I found a temporary spot on the counter, flipped quickly through the instructions, washed the pots and lids, placed them in the apparatus, and I was ready to go.

Also included in this brand (Tru) were three heavy duty serving spoons. I could hardly wait to cook in my new prize for the first time.

Since then, I have moved the stuff on my counter around in order to give my crocks a permanent spot. I thought about moving the appliance to the garage or somewhere else when I wasn't using it, but I thought that would be too much trouble. I think I'll be using this slow cooker pretty often. Plus, the attractive black and stainless steel matches the built-in microwave and stove that is next to it.

Three pots cooking, all steamed up!

Three pots cooking, all steamed up!

I love my new three pot slow cooker!

Tru 3 Crock Buffet Slow Cooker

My first triple crock meal

My first triple crock meal consisted of marinated chicken breasts, potatoes and onions, and green beans. After marinating the chicken breasts, I cooked them slowly to tenderize them. I cooked the potatoes and onions on high for a while before switching them to low, adding some grated cheese. For the green beans, I found an online recipe for frozen green beans cooked in chicken broth. Those I cooked on high.

I'm excited about the "warm" setting, as I have only a "high" and "low" on my regular crock pot. The warm--unlike the low--setting keeps the dish warm without continuing to cook it. I love that!

You may want to know that these little crocks are removable for cleaning. The dishwasher isn't recommended for them, but they clean up easily by hand. I've had no trouble with them at all.

I thoroughly enjoyed my first time cooking with my new triple crock slow cooker buffet. This thing will be great for parties!

The results: I took these dishes over to my boyfriend's house to let him try them too, since he bought this delightful kitchen appliance for  me. The experiment was a big success!

The results: I took these dishes over to my boyfriend's house to let him try them too, since he bought this delightful kitchen appliance for me. The experiment was a big success!

Questions & Answers

Question: Can I cook green bean casserole in the crock-pot? Can turkey stuffing be kept warm without burning?

Answer: Yes, I'm sure you could cook green bean casserole in it. I'd just Google it for guidelines on how long to cook it--and whether on low or high. Turkey stuffing should be easy to keep warm on the lowest temperature.

© 2012 Victoria Lynn

Comments

Patricia Scott from North Central Florida on November 14, 2019:

My daughter has one of these and she uses it often especially around the holidays. I have a one pot one and use it often. The crock pot was a smart and helpful invention. Sending Angels your way this morning ps

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on November 13, 2019:

Paula! It has been too long, girlfriend! I'm hardly on here anymore, but thought I'd catch up on some comments and look around. Yes, this was a great contraption. I got rid of it when I downsized. My boyfriend had given it to me, so I let it go when I moved to a smaller house. LOL! Now I wish I still had it, so now I may have to buy one myself! It was very handy--especially for gatherings when some foods are better warm. I'm sure your four starving athletes burned you out on cooking! I'd close down the kitchen, too!

MIss you, too! Happy Thanksgiving! Are you writing lately? I want to get back into it!

Suzie from Carson City on November 12, 2019:

Hey Vee......Peek-a-boo...I see you! LOL Can I be totally bold? Of course, you know, I'm going to be, no matter what! This is some fantastic Cooking contraption and I wish I'd have had one during my career as a Mom of 4 starving athletes who ate me out of house and home for years! Now, not so much because I'm seriously thinking of retiring my kitchen appliances and utensils and closing off the kitchen entirely, with crime tape!! LOL!

I've missed you. Have a great Thanksgiving! Cheers, Paula

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on November 12, 2019:

Oh yes, Peggy! You can totally cook in the oven or on the stove and then use the pots for warmers. Congratulations on your purchase. Enjoy!

Peggy on November 11, 2019:

Just bought one and am looking forward to using it! Is it possible to cook in the crocks in a regular oven and then move to slow cooker on warm?

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on January 14, 2014:

Cynthianne--Thanks for the compliments. I love mine, too!

Cynthianne Neighbors on January 12, 2014:

I got one for a housewarming gift just in time for the holidays and absolutely LOVE it!! Good review and good article.

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on December 02, 2013:

RTalloni-Yes, I've used this quite a bit--for a party or just when cooking a few things for myself. :-)

RTalloni on November 27, 2013:

This would really come in handy tomorrow…, and other times, too.

Hope you have a lovely Thanksgiving!

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on June 08, 2013:

LOL, Kasman! You're funny. This 3 crock thing is really fun to experiment with! Think about it! Thanks for the vote and share!

Kas from Bartlett, Tennessee on June 07, 2013:

I WILL be honest victoria, i read.everything up to your first recipes with this thing because im out and about and didn't want to make myself hungry, lol. Your overall review makes me want one of these because im already a fan of using crockpots but this would make so much more sense. Voting up and sharing!

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on April 23, 2013:

pstraubie--It's fun to cook 3 things at once. And, yes, the pots are removable for cleaning. The dishwasher isn't recommended for them, but cleaning them is pretty easy. :-)

Patricia Scott from North Central Florida on April 23, 2013:

O thank you for this. I have used my one pot crock pot for quite a while and love it because I can take the pot out to clean it. I may have missed it; are these little pots removable for cleaning??

This looks like a new addition to my kitchen.

With summer coming on, less heat in the house the better for sure.

Sending Angels and good wishes your way :) ps

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on December 17, 2012:

Thanks, tebo, for the comments. You should try one of these things! :-)

tebo from New Zealand on December 15, 2012:

I have never seen a three pot slow cooker. It is a great idea. I use my one pot slow cooker quite often and it is so good to just put the food on and forget about it until its time to dish up. Great review.

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on December 07, 2012:

teaches--Yes! This would be a great gift for your mother-in-law. It's awesome!

Dianna Mendez on December 06, 2012:

My mother-in-law would love this slow cooker. She cooks all the time for large family gatherings. I often have wondered what would help her and now I know. I am going to mention this to my hubby. Thanks for the Christmas gift idea.

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on December 06, 2012:

Me, too, Ruchira! thanks for the input!

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on December 06, 2012:

haha, carol! Yes, 3 are sometimes better than one. :-)

Ruchira from United States on December 06, 2012:

Crock pots are my fav too, and three in one is superb :)

Good review, Vicki.

carol stanley from Arizona on December 06, 2012:

I guess three crockpots are better than one. Great job on the review and I can almost smell dinner cooking.

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on December 05, 2012:

Oh, GiblinGirl, crock pots are SOOO worth it, whether you use one or three! Easy, healthy, and makes food taste great!

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on December 05, 2012:

Go, Nell, go! You won't regret it!

You too, random! You would love it, too. You don't have to put it on your birthday list; just buy it for yourself. LOL!

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on December 05, 2012:

RealH Kelly--Red is awesome! Fun color. I bet you'll love it!

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on December 05, 2012:

Mhatter--Now how did that happen???

GiblinGirl from New Jersey on December 05, 2012:

This sounds awesome. I've never used a crock pot before and always thought they weren't really worth it, but I've been pinning all these crock pot recipes on Pinterest and now I'm ready to get one. Maybe I'll check this one out.

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on December 05, 2012:

Angela Blair--I like that word, "muchly"!! I'm excited to see what ways I'll be using my three pot cooker! :-)

Rose Clearfield from Milwaukee, Wisconsin on December 05, 2012:

I love hosting and would really enjoy this! Very tempting. I've already maxed out my Christmas gift list this year, but I'll have to keep this in mind for my birthday.

Nell Rose from England on December 05, 2012:

What a great review! now I seriously want one! lol! your cooking looks great too, I am on my way!

Kelly Umphenour from St. Louis, MO on December 05, 2012:

Hi Vicki! I just got one of those from my sister for a gift! Now I really can't wait to use it....I think it's almost exactly the same except its red...I knew it would be awesome for family dinners and holidays!

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on December 04, 2012:

always exploring--I didn't know they were out there either, until they started hitting me in the face b/c they were everywhere!!!!!

Martin Kloess from San Francisco on December 04, 2012:

Good product review. Thank you. Though I once used 2, somehow I have 3.

Angela Blair from Central Texas on December 04, 2012:

I'd seen the three-pot cookers but didn't know anyone who'd bought and used them -- so thank you muchly for this informative Hub. I use my one-pot cooker a lot and can think of ways the 3-pot model would be tremendously helpful. Great review! Best/Sis

Ruby Jean Richert from Southern Illinois on December 04, 2012:

I most definitely will purchase the three pot cooker. I didn't know they were on the market. Thank you for sharing..

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on December 04, 2012:

Martie--The ones at takealot look just fine!

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on December 04, 2012:

Martie--ONly $7? Wow. You should have at least ONE slow cooker!! :-)

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on December 04, 2012:

Yeah, savingkathy, it's awesome! You could set it on the dryer when you're not using it! LOL

Martie Coetser from South Africa on December 04, 2012:

Victoria, apparently the 3 Crock Pot Buffet is not yet here - but I will check the stores - On the other hand, one pot will be enough for me. I love stews! This is what's available in SA. And BTW, R1 (ZAR) equals about $7 ~~~ http://www.takealot.com/home-kitchen/slow-cookers?...

Kathy Sima from Ontario, Canada on December 04, 2012:

I've never heard of this before, but think it is a brilliant idea! Now, if only I can find some more counter space in my kitchen... ;)

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on December 04, 2012:

I don't know, Martie, but I bet you could order it online and get it shipped there, perhaps? I forget that you are in South Africa! :-)

Martie Coetser from South Africa on December 04, 2012:

A Slow Cooker is just what I need. So glad to see the 3 Crock Pot Buffet (instead of one pot). I wonder if it is available in SA? Let me go check. Thank you, Victoria!

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on December 04, 2012:

Louisa--Sometimes I cook just for myself and have stuff for the whole week. I'm sure I'll use it when just cooking for myself! I don't guess I have to always cook 3 things at once. :-)

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on December 04, 2012:

Georgie--It might work for 8. It holds quite a bit. I didn't even fill half the crocks when I used it. You might look in a store to see the actual sizes--what 2 1/2 quarts looks like. It might at least be good for side dishes when there doesn't need to be as much of one dish. It's something to consider. It might make cooking easier for your roommate.

Louisa Rogers from Eureka, California and Guanajuato, Mexico on December 04, 2012:

I love my crock pot! Don't think I cook enough volume for the three crock-pot version, in fact I didn't even know of its existence, but it was a good read.

GH Price from North Florida on December 04, 2012:

Great review, thank you for sharing it!

I've been eyeballing the three crock cooker for a little while, but I have a dilemma. I want to get it for my roommate and she and her husband have five kids! Plus me, that makes eight to cook for. Do you think the large size of this brand would be big enough to cook for eight?