NuWave Oven Review: Does This Oven Really Work?

NuWave Oven Reviews: The NuWave Pro

Is it a novelty that doesn't deliver on its claims, or is it a kitchen appliance that genuinely makes our cooking lives easier? Read on to see if this device is for you.

I am a husband and father of two and one of my favorite hobbies is to cook. Fortunately, this hobby comes in useful with a family to feed, and needless to say it's a hobby that keeps me very busy when I am not at work! Like many people, I am always looking to find ways to make cooking a little easier.

Over the past 15 years I have bought many kitchen tools and appliances. I am a sucker for a gadget. Some have been useful — I am quite fond of the Magic Bullet and the Breville Juice Fountain — but more often than not, the gadgets I have bought have not been worth it. They break quickly or they are not half of what they are claimed to be.

However, I am pleased to say that regardless of some of its faults and a few exaggerated claims, the NuWave Pro Infrared Oven is a great addition to my kitchen. Stick with me and I will explain exactly what this tabletop oven is great for, what its shortfalls are, and why home cooks who use it just a few times love it and start using their microwave and regular oven less and less.

What is the NuWave Oven and How Does It Work?

The NuWave Infrared Oven is simply a new method of cooking that uses three different systems simultaneously: infrared, conduction, and convection.

  1. Infrared: Using their patented infrared rods, Hearthware (the company that has designed and sells this portable oven) includes infrared heat as the key heating element in this product. Infrared is an invisible, radiant form of heat. It penetrates through food to cook the inside, while browning the outside. 80% of the heat coming from the sun is in the form of infrared heat; in the same way it warms our skin is how infrared cooks food.
  2. Convection: This is a familiar way of cooking, and of course is the method that common convection ovens use. Convection is simply hot air that is circulated to help produce even heat. Using a quiet motor and a specially-designed fan, this unit circulates air effectively. To you and me, that means tasty, evenly-browned meat.
  3. Conduction: This type of heat is what is used in pan-frying. It is basically putting the food in direct contact with something hot and letting the heat transfer. In the Nuwave Oven, the food sits on a grill or dish.

For more info about how this device works and how it looks, take a look at the official infomercial below.

I think the novelty of this 3 way cooking system is one of the reasons I was initially skeptical. Sounded too "novel" to me, but it is always nice to be surprised.

The Pros of the NuWave Oven

The main selling points of the NuWave as marketed by the company are these: it saves time, it cooks from frozen, it is a healthier way of cooking, no preheating is required, it is easy to clean up, and it can roast, broil, grill, barbecue, bake, steam, dehydrate, and air-fry. I can confirm that all of this is (pretty much) true, but it does perform some of these tasks better than others. First, I will give a detailed list of benefits before detailing some of the disadvantages that you can expect.

A Real Time-Saver:

For me, the number one benefit of this oven is the time and effort it saves. You don't need to preheat it. That alone makes a big difference when you want to cook some meat quickly. When I get home from work a little worn out and hungry, and the family is waiting to see what I dish up, time is a factor. I am sure you understand! Well, it makes all the difference when you can just turn on one of these infrared ovens and put in your meat or fish for the evening without having to wait for the preheating of a conventional oven.

If you don't have fresh meat or fish on hand, then the time and effort you save gets even better. It cooks food all the way from frozen to completely done. No need for adding additional defrosting steps, such as defrosting meat in the microwave, or putting frozen fish in hot water for a little while. Just put frozen food straight in!

It cooks faster than a conventional oven, too. This is one of the main claims of the infomercial for this product. While I have found that the oven shaves off 5 to 20 minutes of cooking time, depending on what you are cooking, I have not found it to cook quite as quickly as they claim. I have certainly not seen it work 50% faster. Even so, I am not complaining. Time is certainly saved.

Meat and Fish Taste Great:

The oven can cook a variety of foods, but its greatest strength in my opinion is with meat and fish. Looking at the many reviews I see online, other owners almost all agree with this, too. Chicken and turkey, in parts or whole, turn out nicely browned and really juicy and tender. It is very easy to get that perfect balance of juiciness and browning. Pork and lamb also cook beautifully, and the oven cooks a juicy and tender mouthwatering steak. You won't get that "flamed" taste, because no flames are used. Even so, if you need a quick tasty steak, then that is exactly what you will get.

I can honestly say that the NuWave Oven cooks chicken, turkey, pork, lamb, beef and fish just as well as a conventional oven. In fact, I have to admit that because of the even browning and juiciness, it cooks meat tastier and with less effort.

It's Healthy:

If you are health-conscious or you need less fat in your diet because of health issues, then this oven is going to be a good friend to you. While the rest of my family eat all the fat they can take, I am the odd one out. I try to make an effort to eat healthy. It's great because no matter what meat you put in there, a lot of the fat drips out and collects in the drip tray at the bottom. I was concerned the first time I cooked hamburgers, believing that if there were no fat drippings, the burgers would end up without rich flavor. I was surprised to find that the hamburgers were still very tasty and that my kids did not notice any difference (a miracle).

A quick study of the official website explained why this is the case. This is what I read:

"In another test conducted by Silliker Laboratories a hamburger was cooked in a conventional oven, a ShowTime Rotisserie grill, and the NuWave Oven. Because the of its use of the dynamic triple combo cooking power the NuWave Oven retains more of its natural juices and releases more fat than either a conventional oven or a grill. The tests were conclusive and showed that the hamburger cooked in the NuWave Oven had less fat content than the conventional oven and the ShowTime Rotisserie grill further proving that the NuWave Oven is the healthiest method of cooking."

Pretty neat!

It Saves Energy:

Want to save a little money and/or help reduce your carbon footprint? Using this unit in place of your conventional oven is the way to go. Independent testing has proven that it uses only 1/3 of the energy of a conventional oven. You don't waste any energy with preheating because it is not needed. When using a conventional oven, the whole thing needs to be heated up, and that requires a lot of energy. The unit is nice and compact, so the heat is centralized within the unit. The other advantage of this is that it does not heat your kitchen up the way a conventional oven does, which is great in warm or hot weather, and does not conflict with A/C. Also it doesn't smell up the house, so you never have to fear salmon steaks or fillets again.

Reheating Food is Easy:

The "new wave oven" is also awesome for reheating food. If you want to reheat some meat, pizza, veggies —you name it — this oven will bring food back to life. A microwave is not even a close second in this respect. You can reheat pizza without the crust getting that hardened or rubbery texture. If you have some take-out fried chicken left over from the day before, then this oven will not just reheat it to tastiness, but actually make it healthier as you watch some of the fat drip out.

Summary of Pros:

You don't need to preheat.

You don't have to defrost.

It's faster than a conventional oven.

Meat and fish taste great.

It's healthy.

It saves energy.

Reheating food is easy.

It's hard—but not impossible— to cook pizza in a NuWave oven!
It's hard—but not impossible— to cook pizza in a NuWave oven!

The Cons: NuWave Oven Complaints

Okay, so by now you can see that I really like this oven. I use it almost every day for cooking something or other. However, there are a few things that should be highlighted here so that you get the full picture.

  1. Cooking times are inaccurate:

    I found that most of the cooking times supplied in the instructions are not accurate. Chances are, you will need to cook for longer than stated. Even so, most foods do cook a little quicker than in a conventional oven.

  2. The dome is plastic:

    A key complaint of mine and others is that the dome should be made of pyrex rather than plastic. In fact this is the #1 complaint with this unit. Of the many NuWave Pro oven reviews I have read, people complain that they have had to replace their dome because it has cracked. I have owned my unit for a little over 2 years, and I have had to replace the dome once. However, I found for $15, so to me, this was a worthwhile "running cost."

    As an update to the above paragraph, I just read on their website that they don't make the dome in glass for safety reasons. Glass gets much hotter than the heat-resistant plastic that they use and this increases the chance for burns, and the likelihood of dropping the glass and smashing it. Makes sense, when I look at it from that point of view.

    An additional downside of the dome is that it has a tendency to get a little cloudy after a while. Although this is a cosmetic issue and not a functional one. The unit still works fine even if you can't see through the steam.

Summary of Cons:

The cooking times listed in the instructions are not accurate.

The unit does not cook as fast as it claims.

The dome is made of plastic, and may need to be replaced at some point.

It's not good for baking.

What Can the NuWave Cook?

While there are many foods that I have yet to cook with the NuWave Pro, here are the other foods that I think it cooks just great:

  • Meat and Fish (see what I said above).
  • Corn on the Cob: Put some butter on the corn, put it on the rack, and cook on high for 10 minutes.
  • Fries: Coat them with a little olive oil and salt and cook on high for 20 minutes. Bingo, a tasty and healthy fries recipe.

Pizza: No more burned crusts with a cold center, you will be happy to hear. The unusual thing with cooking pizza is that you have to start by cooking it upside down. You will also need to buy the pizza accessory kit to make pizza without a hassle. The kit includes a liner so that the toppings don't fall when the pizza is upside down. Depending on how thick the pizza is, you will need to cook it for 12 -20 minutes upside down, and then flip it for a few minutes to brown the cheese nicely.

Lasagna: Freshly prepared lasagna always tastes best. I prepare my favorite lasagna recipe and simply use this unit instead of my regular oven. Takes about 30 minutes, depending on the size. Of course, for a quick option, just stick in a lasagna from the freezer. Add another 10 minutes or so if cooking from frozen.

Shortcakes: You can make a quick, easy, and tasty shortcake. Create your dough, make into small balls, and put them in the liner pan. Make sure the pan has been lightly sprayed with oil and then cook on high for about 10 minutes. Then cut cake in half and fill with strawberries (or any other fruit) and cream topping. A quick desert for the family.

Roasted Vegetables: You can probably roast any vegetable to a tasty finish. The vegetables that I like to roast regularly are parsnips and peppers.

Roasting, Broiling, Grilling, Barbecuing, Baking, Steaming, Dehydrating, and Air-Frying

Although the NuWave heats using its three methods of convection, infrared, and conduction, there are no buttons on the oven that you press to choose each of these methods. Instead, the difference is in the temperatures used, how the food is prepared, and where in the oven the food is placed.

Let's look at how well it performs each style of cooking.

Roasting: Performs excellent. You can cook the perfect pot roast, poultry in parts or whole, or any other type of meat. To roast, cook on medium to medium/high heat and don't put the food too close to the heat source. The same applies for roasting vegetables.

Broiling: Performs excellent. The difference between broiling and roasting in this unit is where you place the food and the temperature you use. For broiling, use the highest temperature and put the food very close to the heat source. I find this perfect for cooking fish steaks or fillets.

Barbecuing/Grilling: Performs so-so. The reality is that without a flame, you cannot get that authentic barbecued or grilled flavor. Even so, you can still get some tasty meat when cooked with bbq sauce in this oven. Ultimately you are broiling or roasting the meat, not technically grilling or barbecuing in the NuWave.

Steaming: Performs excellent. The oven steams veggies in almost the same way as an electric steamer, the difference being that there is extra heat created by the Nuwave in addition to the steam coming from the heated water.

Baking: Performs fair but is limited. A conventional oven performs better if you need your baking to rise. In fact, you're better off using your conventional oven across the board for baking if you want the best results. In the NuWave, cakes and breads just don't rise as high. A few attempts at both led me back to my regular oven for baking. If you are baking things like cookies or brownies, where rising is not such an issue, then it does okay, but I still prefer the oven. The only thing I bake in this unit is a quick shortcake for dessert. It is okay for baking select items on the fly. (In all fairness, the company is clear in the instructions that their oven is limited when it comes to baking.)

Dehydrating: To be honest, I have never used the oven to dehydrate anything, so I cannot comment personally, but I have found reviews, comments, and videos by others that show they have dehydrated fruits and meat effectively, making beef jerky recipes and banana chips.

Air-frying: Performs excellent. On my first attempt, the air came out perfectly fried. (Sorry — bad joke!) In truth, it air-fries as well as it broils and roasts.

Is It Easy to Clean?

If you cook something in the regular oven that is open-topped and not completely covered (especially something with a lot of liquid in it, like fat and juices), then you've definitely got a little clean up ahead. This is where the NuWave Oven shines. A nice, compact unit with removable parts, all of which can go straight into the sink for hand washing or into the dishwasher, except for the power head.

Tip: Lining the drip pan with foil and spraying the rack lightly with oil before cooking, makes an already easy cleaning job even easier.

Take The Poll!

What attracts you to the nuwave oven most?

  • How well it cooks
  • The energy it saves
  • The time is saves you (convenience)
  • Don't have a regular oven and you need a great alternative
  • It is easy to clean!
  • Other
See results without voting

Complaints About NuWave Ovens

If you have read any of this review, you will see that I think it is great. It works great, it cooks great, it saves time, it saves energy, and it makes life in the kitchen easier. However, a number of people have sent me comments here complaining about the NuWave oven company's fee processing. Other searches online have confirmed these issues, too. Double charging, lack of clarity about shipping charges, and then the hassle of trying to get this sorted out with customer service. Clearly that is NOT GOOD! Although, not everyone has this issue, just enough to bring caution.

There is a solution to this—buy one from Amazon. At Amazon, all these card-charging and shipping issues are eliminated. That is where I got mine, so I was not aware of these other issues when I first wrote this review. Check a few different sellers to see which is the cheapest at this time.

NuWave Oven, NuWave Oven Pro, and the NuWave Mini Oven: What's the Difference?

Understanding the difference between these devices is a common problem that people are getting confused about. The official website does not make it clear, either. In fact, there's not much to it, and I will explain.

The NuWave Oven and the NuWave Oven Pro cook in exactly the same way and are almost identical. The difference is that the Pro has a more convenient digital control panel, and the simpler model has an analog control panel. To make things more clear, the company has separated the two type by color. The Pro is in black, the standard comes in white.

Full-size oven:

  • Outside dimensions: 15.5 inches wide and 13.5 inches tall
  • Inside dimensions: 6.5 inches deep and 12 inches in diameter

The NuWave Mini Oven is just that, a mini version:

  • Outside dimensions: 12 long, 9 inches wide, 12.5 inches high
  • Inside dimensions: 10 inches long, 8 inches wide, 4.5 inches high

Final Word

The Nuwave Oven Pro has become such a useful and positive part of my cooking life that I cannot imagine being without it now. It makes me wonder why it is not more popular than it is? Maybe it is just that old habits die hard? Or that people are wary of buying "As Seen On TV" products? I can understand that because they are often so gimmicky, but I can assure you that if you buy one and start using it, you too will be wondering how you managed life in the kitchen without it. To be honest, I think it is a stroke of simplicity and genius.

Warmest wishes,


Comments: Got anything to share about the NuWave Oven? 56 comments

Alexia Helm 2 months ago

I love my Nuwave.. food especially meat is super juicy. Had it 2 years..never broke anything..shorter cook time. However I just had to figure out myself just how long to cook to suit my likings.. Highly recommended

bill 3 months ago

Be prepared to purchase a new dome every 4 to 6 months of use.

Cheryl 5 months ago

I know not to set the NuWave on top of gas or electric stoves but need to ask if can set on glass top stoves since no burners are are open? Thank you.

Catherine Kraft 5 months ago

I appreciated your article. I've actually worn out my first NuWave and now using the one I purchased for my Mom. It was too heavy for her to use from a wheel chair (with high draining board). Anyway, this is one appliance I've not been sorry purchasing. Whole chickens are great though I flip it 1/2 way through. So juicy. Also use parchment paper for frozen pizzas. I lay pizza on parchment, cook crust and then flip over onto another piece of parchment. Works really well. You won't be sorry if you are thinking of purchasing a NuWave!!

Farin 11 months ago

I have one but idon't know how to work with it can you sent me the instruction of cooking for food

Skip 11 months ago

You like chicken legs. Get you a little shake and bake, mix is some cajun seasoning. Cook esch side for 10 minutes, best chicken legs on the planet. Although fresh popeyes spicy is great. You can easily tell the difference between "oil" taste in fried chicken and chicken juices taste in the nuwave, Cooked a whole chicken and it fell off the bone. The seemingly downside to the "flip the frozen pizza" to cook approach isnt as big a deal as it seems, even if its just a refrige pizza. You literally dont have a problem after cooking the crust side up and flipping it over and thinking the cheese or toppings will be an issue. It isnt, and the pizza turns out cooked and crispy.

Taranwanderer profile image

Taranwanderer 12 months ago

Speed and efficiency are what I look for most in kitchen appliances. I might have to consider buying the Nuwave - and if I do so, it'll be from this hub. Great work!

christina l 15 months ago

The nuwave cook top works great until it stops .....after 8 months it died. I called nuwave customer service they will send me a new one after I pay 17.00 more shipping and send old one back for another 17.00. All I get is a refurbished one. How's that for customer service. Pretty expensive 200.00 for 8 moths use. Also I will only get 2 months on that one cause you only get a year all togeather

Ela 16 months ago

Recently I just quit work and have enough money to coaofrtmbly buy whatever clothes, school supplies, and food I need during lunch for school for the whole year. Well the problem is my dad keeps pestering me for all my money and wants me to make an online account so he knows what i buy, how much I have and generally how much he can take from me. He has done the exact same thing with my brother and sister, taking ALL their money they have earned. That would be around $10,000. My sister even got a scholarship that paid her whole first university year and my dad took that money too and put her on student loans. What you guys have to understand is that he is a very hard person to say no to and promises that he will pay for all their university fees. That's very hard to believe since he just bought a new car this year and its going to take him a whole year to pay it off. Obviously he used that money for the car. Well I didn't make the same mistake as my sibling and I basically lied to him about where my money went (told him I had to pay back friends for school trips). He bought that excuse and I withdrew all my money in cash so he can't check my online account and basically hid it in my room. I know that's a little extreme but I worked so hard for that money and let him know how hard I worked for it. Still he thought that he could take it and the thing is, we arent poor or anything, he has a normal job that pays well and the only debt he has is with my siblings. Well now I bought myself an Ipod touch with some of my money (always wanted one and finally had money to buy it) and I tried hard to hide it but he found it. Since then, he is constantly pestering me about why I bought it, It's a waste of money, he could have found a better deal, etc. And since his birthday is coming up, he's asking me to buy him a new ipod touch or give him the one I have. That made me really upset since he has never given me anything for my grade 8 grad, any of my birthdays in high school (I'm a high school senior) even though I let him know the day before that its my birthday, nothing for christmas and I mean nothing, not even a card. He always forgets that I'm graduating this year and i swear I would be so happy if he showed just a little appreciation for his kids with gifts. It's absolutely useless telling him how I feel because it doesn't sink in for him. Ive tried it before and he either became irritated or changed the subject. Now he wants to see his mom back home in Europe and he's planning a month long vacation for himself. He didn't even tell us he is going until I saw him packing and asked. I haven't even seen my grandma my entire life and she's the only grandparent I have. My dad says it costs too much to bring the whole family but if he can afford to buy a new car, he can afford to pay for a vacation for his family for once. Sorry for the long read guys, tell me if you think I should continue hiding my money or just give it to him and have nothing for the whole year so he will be happy.

Moses 23 months ago

They don't tell you that you have to flip the meat,on the T.V. it claims you just push 3 buttons and you're done. And it takes 40 mi utes to cook a frozen Chicken breast,im not to impressed.

jim hansen 23 months ago

Not always fully cooked,not.durable,item I shouldn't have purchased

Kay 24 months ago

I have had a nuwave for about 4 years and it ended up in the back of my cupboard.....Thanks to you fantastic article I pulled it out and really am giving it a chance and I AM ENJOYING it big time now. Thanks for all your time and effort.

Andrea 2 years ago

I love my nuwave...I even took it on a campout and used it for all my cooking! For dinner, we had hamburgers and roasted veggies, and for breakfast we had bacon, scrambled eggs and bagels!

patsiola 2 years ago

Just purchased my second oven from qvc. Price was fair. The second oven is in

Case something happens to the one I am using now. I can't imagine being without

this oven. If you have the extender ring and don't cook a turkey, you are missing out on the best feature of this oven. I have every appliance known to man, but this is the Best best best. Haven't turned my big oven on in over a year.

Watched those damn infomercials for years and would not buy one. I am kicking myself.

There are times when Seeing IS believing.

This oven deserves 10 stars.

DanielGonzalez LM profile image

DanielGonzalez LM 2 years ago

Very nice Review. I want one of these!!!

Muchee1 2 years ago

This was an excellent and accurate review. I have had my Nuwave Oven for about 6 months. I no longer have a microwave and don't think I have used my regular oven since I brought my Nuwave. For a Thanksgiving I cooked the turkey in the Nuwave and my family absolutely loved it! It cut down the cooking time and the turkey was delicious.

My one complaint is that sometimes underneath the handles get too hot If you do not grab it correctly. While I haven't gotten a burn, my finger tips were not happy.

While I have not used the Nuwave Oven in as many was as the reviewer, I have use it to cook poultry, vegetables, fish and to re-heat items. I would definitely recommend it.

anonymous 3 years ago

Thank you Jerry for your in-depth review! I appreciate all the time and effort you put into it to share with others.

anonymous 3 years ago

Bought 2 of the black pro ovens from a lady at the flea market for 40.00 each.. Brand new and never used still had all paperwork & factory packing,, I LOVE IT!!!! I am going to sell 1 on ebay but the other is staying here.. I have cooked some of the best pork chops & ribs ever in this oven .. It is great

anonymous 3 years ago

LOVE IT!!!! I got the Black one about a month ago. What a great oven. I live in Florida and cooking dinner in the summer is MISERABLE. (hot) This oven does NOT HEAT UP MY KITCHEN!! :-)

It's wonderful for two. Ive NEVER been able to cook steak. wahoooo I cooked steak in it and WOW! Perfect!

So worth the money....... My husband loves the way the meat comes out soooooooo juicy and tender.

Wouldn't trade it for nothing!

anonymous 3 years ago

I have used a FlavorWave for years, but I needed to dehydrate some food for a camping trip. Which unfortunately my Flavorwave doesn't do. First, I borrowed my neighbors which she bought brand new at a garage sale for 15 bucks!! Hers had the dial...which I had to be there to turn the dial if I wanted more than 60 minutes. My husband looked at some of the others with the dial and decided as a surprise to get me. BTW...I don't even use my stove much...I cooked with my Flavorwave exclusively...then after I used it to dehydrate the most wonderful fruits, veggies and beef/chicken...I watched a youtube video on the differences of the Flavorwave and the Nuwave Ovens. I made grilled chicken first...more flavor and more juicy in less time in the last night I made a meatload put it in a pie tin and cooked for 35 minutes on high. OMGosh! I was better than my oven ever! Even my husband commented how moist the meatloaf was. Well, I have both and I love both...for sure Nuwave a tiny bit nicer but side by side I can make a feast!!

anonymous 3 years ago

Excellent review and on point. I got my Nuwave Oven from Kohl's on Black Friday 2011 and it has cost me money...sometimes I go to the store just to by food to cook in it. I've used it everyday, 2 or more times a day and it has performed flawlessly. Dome has yellowed slightly but I have yet to replace any parts. I make meals and food now, that I was not very skilled at making my wife's 'Cinnamon Fried Chicken'. Air fried, no grease and minimal mess and "finger lickin..." well you know the rest. It is the best money I've spent and I too highly, highly recommend it!!!

anonymous 3 years ago

The timer is a real convenience...anyway for me..a senior citizen..

anonymous 3 years ago

I recently won one in a raffle and was skeptical about trying it. After reading your review, I will give it a try instead of pawning it off on a family member or friend.

anonymous 3 years ago

I own one of the black ones, I purchased it from an infomercial years ago, mine is still kicking, I take it with me when I travel and cook healthy food, because I'm a big guy, trying to lose weight, I have lost 20lbs just from not going eat fast food every night... Awesome product, I am thinking about getting the pics now.

anonymous 3 years ago

This product have great reviews....I wanted to resrarch before buying as well. I will buy one for me and my mother.

anonymous 3 years ago

Great Review! I was considering buying one but wanted to research customer complaints first and I must say you havve answered every question I jad and then some. Thanks bunches....side note: they should pay you for your review because it was excellent! I will be buying my NuWave today.

tonybonura profile image

tonybonura 3 years ago from Tickfaw, Louisiana

Hi Tony,

My mom loves hers and is always using it. She especially likes using it for large pieces of meat like roasts. I love the oven because it makes such wonderful dishes and makes them quickly.


anonymous 3 years ago

My conventional oven just went out two days before Christmas@#*. Will mt NuWave brown rolls? Can I use anything else for pizza as a ubstitute for the pizza liner?

anonymous 3 years ago

@Tony Cooks: DebbieP: I ordered the oven and still haven't gotten the hang of cooking in it. Glad you posted this review, I'm going to try using it more often!

anonymous 3 years ago

Totally agree. We've been using a NuWave for years and I agree with everything you've said on every single point.

Couple of thoughts.

1) I did a lot of experimenting with the grilling and found that the Nuwave will adequately grill a steak. You just have to give it enough time to caramelize the outside. If you have a really thick steak that you cook from frozen on predominantly one side, it is possible for the NuWave to sear a steak adequately. We typically still opt for a tradition grill when we have steak.

2) One thing you failed to mention is bacon. It's literally the very best thing about the Nuwave. Consistent and easy with great results and the mess is all well contained. The main trick to bacon is to make sure to take the lid off right after it beeps or the texture will begin to soften.

3) We convinced a friend of ours to buy a NuWave while they were waiting for the oven to get fixed. Once they started using it, they like it so much they decided not to fix the broken oven until years later when they put the house on the market. To this day, she still uses the NuWave for all their meals and only uses the big fancy oven in the new house when she has to do baking...which (as you mentioned) the Nuwave kinda sucks at.

4) In case anyone is wondering...No, I don't work for Nuwave. For some reason, people always ask me that. lol. I wish I did though because I'd love a commission check for all the ovens I've sold for them. ;-)

Great review!

Pinaar profile image

Pinaar 3 years ago

Nice informative Lens - Good luck with your dreams of going to chef school.

awesomedealz4u profile image

awesomedealz4u 3 years ago

Good info, thanks!

Kailua-KonaGirl profile image

Kailua-KonaGirl 3 years ago from New York

Excellent !st lens review. Thanks for sharing. I was curious, but it is still not something I think I need at the moment. *Squid Angel Blessed* I don't usually give a blessing to a 1st lens, but you deserve it. Looking forward to your next lens. Let me know when you create it.

anonymous 3 years ago

Thank you for your detailed review. I can't wait to try my Nuwave oven!

anonymous 4 years ago

I just bought one last week. I tried 2 large turkey thighs since I wanted to experiment with a $3 food rather than a $12 roast. It took 30 min. (2" rack)on high then about 20 min. with skin side up. Crispy brown all over. Juicy and tender.cook to (160)My husband (very fussy about food) said it was wonderful. Thanks for your excellent review.Will try Iowa chops tomorrow.

anonymous 4 years ago

Very nicely reviewed... Thanks for sharing this here!

i Dia1 profile image

i Dia1 4 years ago

This sounds like a good oven. Thanks for the thorough review.

anonymous 4 years ago

Great review, thank you Tony for the time and effort you put in. I own one myself, but for people on the fence, you probably made them believers!

Anime-e profile image

Anime-e 4 years ago

The pizza looks so good! I love how it can make something so great, I wish I had some pizza right now. I think my best friend was telling me about these Nuwave Ovens and all. Good stuff!

anonymous 4 years ago

I don't use my oven any more after getting the nuwave oven. When you cook Italian sasuage in a pan all the juicyness is sucked out but in a NWO it's very juicy like right off the grill. I can't say enough about the NWO. Every thing comes out juicy. I even made meat loaf in a small bread pan and it was great. As seen on tv made me cautious but I'm glad I got it. I have had it for a year now and it's great. Imagine it's 95 degrees out and you want a roasted chicken but the thought of a 350 degree oven on for almost two hours changes your mind think again you can bake and roast with out turning the kitchen into an inferno. This is the best part because you can cook year round. Today I'm going to cook a whole one pound fish for dinner. I can't go back to the oven. I like steak seared and rare on hi heat but the NWO will not do that but that is the only thing I can't use it for. I love this NWO because it works.

anonymous 4 years ago

I watched the infomercial several times, wondering if it really works. I finally bought one when I had a little extra money and I have to say this review is right on target. I love my NuWave oven and I use it as often as I can. I think it's best feature is the frozen to fully cooked claim. It really does work and the meat is tender and juicy. I cooked pork tenderloin medallions, frozen, and they were done in 20 minutes, we're browned, and juicy and tender. I also cooked hard cooked eggs in their shells and end up with perfectly cooked eggs without the green ring around the yolk, and no hot water, no fuss. Hot dogs and hamburgers cook together, whole roasted chicken, shrimp, ham, bacon, ribs, open face toasted cheese really is my favorite cooking tool, and I am not being paid to say this...I am just a happy consumer....

anonymous 4 years ago

I Love mine and use it all the time It is great and time saving and so good for weight loss since the grease lays on the bottom and not in your food

anonymous 4 years ago

I'm not sure that I've seen the Nuwave ovens before, I love that you can cook so many different things in it. Saving energy is a bonus too!

DianeStafford profile image

DianeStafford 4 years ago

Great Lens! I've seen these advertised but now I 'know' from your experience that they work... xmas gift to self I think! :) thanks for the info. Diane

anonymous 4 years ago

Nicely done. I had never heard of this before.

Carashops profile image

Carashops 4 years ago

Versatile gadget! Nice lens.

tjmaj1959 profile image

tjmaj1959 4 years ago

never heard of this oven, so I'm glad i checked out your review........great lens

Sunflower2423 profile image

Sunflower2423 4 years ago

Nice lens. Very informational. I have one similar to this and it works great and it definanetly saves you time.

Tony Cooks profile image

Tony Cooks 4 years ago Author

@vetochemicals: I am continually surprised that it works as well as it does. Thanks for dropping in :-)

Melissa Miotke profile image

Melissa Miotke 4 years ago from Arizona

Great review, this looks like a really beneficial oven. Blessed!

DarrenVeronica profile image

DarrenVeronica 4 years ago

I had no idea these infrared oven cooked as well as you say they do. I will definitely have to get myself one, they sound great!!!

anonymous 4 years ago

Great lens and review. Thanks for this.

flinnie lm profile image

flinnie lm 4 years ago from Alabama USA

Hi the Nuwave oven sound good to me. Thank for the review.

vetochemicals profile image

vetochemicals 4 years ago from Pittsburgh Pa

I had no idea how handy the Nuwave oven was until your review, great job and love all the uses for it! xoxo

Tony Cooks profile image

Tony Cooks 4 years ago Author

@captainj88: Yep - I was totally skeptical at first too. I am surprised how much I took to it. I still use my regular oven for baking, but 80% of the time I cook my meat, fish and veggies in the Nuwave. I am also a fan of the George Foreman grill; loved the fact that you can get rid of so much fat using it. The Nuwave has certainly taken its place for me though.

captainj88 profile image

captainj88 4 years ago from East Berlin, PA, USA

Great review. I was skeptical of this, but after reading your review I feel more informed. I love that it has the drip pan for catching fat, too, like the George Foreman grill that I use when I cook chicken, pork or red meat.

    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages Network account.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.

    Click to Rate This Article