Krusteaz Cookie Mix Review and Recipes

Updated on August 18, 2017
VirginiaLynne profile image

VirginiaLynne has been experimenting in the kitchen for almost 50 years. She loves to share her recipes, cooking tips, and reviews.

Double Chocolate Chip. Easy to make in 20 minutes.
Double Chocolate Chip. Easy to make in 20 minutes. | Source

Krusteaz Makes the Best Mix

Looking for fast, easy homemade-tasting treats for your family? Don't always have the time? In a pinch, I have tried just about every product on the market when I needed a something fast. Simply put, I've concluded Krusteaz mixes are superior. Here is why I like them:

  • Fast: As a mom of 5, cookies go fast in my house and I'm always looking for ones that can be ready to go in 20 minutes.
  • Tastes Like Scratch: These are by far the best-tasting of any store made mix and much better than any store-bought cookie.
  • Cheaper than Homemade: Better yet, these are often on sale at my local grocery store for under a dollar, which makes them cheaper than from scratch, especially the chocolate chip mix.
  • Lots of Varieties: Especially recently, the brand has been coming out with more choices in different flavors like lemon sugar or raspberry bars.

Source

Sugar Cookies

Good taste and rich flavor but may spread out unless you add extra flour.
Good taste and rich flavor but may spread out unless you add extra flour. | Source

This mix tastes sweet and makes great crispy drop cookies. If you want to make shaped or cut-out ones, you may want to add extra flour (1/2 to 1 cup) so the batter is firmer and they don't spread out as much when they bake. Be aware that any batter with eggs is likely to spread and puff up. If you really want crisp shapes, you need to use my Shortbread recipe below.

Tips for Using Mixes

One web review complained that the sugar cookies spread too much. That is true if you are trying cut-outs. However, there are some things that make any mix work better:

  • Margarine: Use margarine in the mix if you want a crispier taste.
  • Butter: Butter does taste better and it makes them softer.
  • Flour: If you want to make cut-outs, add 1/2 cup of flour to the mix, or even up to 1 cup if the mix still isn't very stiff.

Peanut Butter

Nice rich peanut butter taste.
Nice rich peanut butter taste. | Source

Truthfully, this is one of the best mixes on the market. In fact, I can't tell the difference between this and homemade. They have wonderful deep peanut taste and are very crispy. This uses oil rather than butter or margarine, which makes them even cheaper to make. The dough is stiff and makes it easy to do the traditional fork marks. These are so popular in my household that I've come up with lots of variations below. My husband devoured the Peanut Butter Mini-Chocolate chip ones I made just this week. Here are some ideas:

  1. Peanut Butter Cup: Press dough into mini-muffin cups and put in a Reese's Peanut Butter Cup. Bake at 350 degrees for 10 minutes.
  2. Kiss Peanut Butter: Press dough into mini-muffin cups and put a kiss (regular or caramel) in. Bake at 350 degrees for 10 minutes.
  3. Peanut, Peanut: Pile on the peanut flavor by adding 1 cup of Reese's chips and 1/2 cup of peanuts. Bake at 350 degrees for 10 minutes.
  4. Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip: Mix 1 cup of regular or mini chocolate chips into the dough. Mound up on a baking sheet and bake at 350 degrees for 10 minutes.
  5. Peanut Butter Chocolate Frosted: Mound dough on baking sheet, press down with hand to flatten. When they come out of the oven, frost using canned chocolate frosting or homemade gauche made by putting 1 cup chocolate chips, 1 TB butter and 1 TB milk in the microwave for 1 minute. Mix and add some powdered sugar if it is too liquid (some chocolates require the powdered sugar, others don't). Frost when cool. Try not to eat too many before serving!

Gingerbread

Gingersnaps or Gingerbread
Gingersnaps or Gingerbread | Source

I love making gingerbread men and houses at Christmas time and have always made my own recipe until I discovered this product. Not only is it easy to make, this version has just the right amount of spices for my kids. So now I just look for sales and don't worry about remembering to buy molasses. In fact, not having to buy all of the ingredients not only saves time, but it also ends up being much cheaper and I can make a small batch when friends come over.

Unlike the sugar cookie mix, this one is great for cutting out without adding extra flour. However, it helps to chill the dough a while. You can also just make the dough up and keep it in the refrigerator for making some quick treats when guests come over unexpectedly during the holidays. Here are some ideas:

  1. Whoopie Pies: Make dough and shape into a 2-inch diameter log (like refrigerated doughs you buy) and put in refrigerator overnight. Slice into 1/4 inch circles. Bake in a 350-degree oven for 10 minutes. Cool. Put a dab of vanilla frosting on one and put another on top to make Whoopee pie. These are a terrific snack for parties.
  2. Warm Ice Cream Sandwiches: A food truck near our house makes these and they are absolutely amazing. Make the cookies like whoopie pies and while they are still warm, put a scoop of ice cream in-between and flatten. To make this work better, I actually scoop out ice cream first and put it on plastic cling wrap and flatten until about the size of the cookies. You could even use one of those hamburger presses. Put the flattened ice cream back in the freezer until you are ready to use them. Yum!
  3. Gingersnaps: Use the same log and cut very thin slices. Put slices on a baking sheet covered with foil or parchment. Sprinkle sugar on top. Bake in a 350-degree oven for about 7-8 minutes or until lightly brown. These are great with coffee or tea.
  4. Christmas Gingerbread Men: My signature Christmas treat is making Gingerbread Men and then frosting them with white frosting, red or green sprinkles and then using red and green M&Ms for eyes and buttons. My kids prefer this with sugar cookies, but I'm partial to gingerbread.

Source

Chocolate Chip

Click thumbnail to view full-size
Box picture does exaggerate the chips.Double Chocolate Chuck ready to bake.My picture of double chocolate chunk.
Source
Box picture does exaggerate the chips.
Box picture does exaggerate the chips. | Source
Double Chocolate Chuck ready to bake.
Double Chocolate Chuck ready to bake. | Source
My picture of double chocolate chunk.
My picture of double chocolate chunk. | Source

Chocolate chips are not cheap, so this variety ends up being the best bargain in the Krusteaz line up. In comparison, refrigerated doughs have a funny taste to them and so do Chips Ahoy. These are so quick to make and they taste as good as my homemade recipe. I honestly can't really tell the difference and my picky family can't either. So why not choose the cheapest, easiest, and fastest homemade treat?

Use my tips above to make the cookies crispier or softer. Or try my "accident" recipe below. I'd mistakenly heated my margarine 1 minute instead of 20 seconds and was in too much of a hurry to let it cool down. When it melted the chocolate chips in the mix, I added another cup. My family loved these. Yours might too!

Cook Time

Prep time: 10 min
Cook time: 10 min
Ready in: 20 min
Yields: 36 two inch cookies

Ingredients

  • 1 box Krusteaz Chocolate Chunk
  • 1 stick margarine, melted 1 minute
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup chocolate chips

Instructions

  1. Melt margarine in microwave 1 minute. It will be hot. Add mix and egg and stir. The chocolate chips in the mix will melt. Cool a couple of minutes.
  2. Add chocolate chips to mix and stir. Put spoonfuls of the mix on a baking sheet covered with parchment or foil. Bake at 350 degree oven for 10 minutes or until done.

Double Chocolate Chunk

Nutrition Facts
Serving size: 1 (2 inch cookie)
Calories 108
Calories from Fat18
% Daily Value *
Fat 2 g3%
Saturated fat 1 g5%
Unsaturated fat 1 g
Carbohydrates 17 g6%
Sugar 11 g
Fiber 1 g4%
Protein 1 g2%
* The Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet, so your values may change depending on your calorie needs. The values here may not be 100% accurate because the recipes have not been professionally evaluated nor have they been evaluated by the U.S. FDA.

Quality Issues

Update January 2016: See comments below for the reviews on problems with a new recipe for this mix. I've really appreciated the fact that other people have weighed in on this issue and one women even went so far as to call the company for information.

I had one box which didn't taste very good (July 2015) but thought it was just some problem with my other ingredients. Then I started getting complaints in the comments of this article. From August to November 2015, my grocery store did not stock the chocolate chip mix. Then in December 2015 they appeared again with a "New and Improved" label. I tried them in January 2016 and they seem to taste just fine, so whatever problem they might have had seems to be resolved.

Questions & Answers

  • Can I use Triple Chocolate Chunk cookie mix to make brownies?

    If you mean you want to make these in a pan like brownies, that should work great. It will take a bit longer to cook them. If you want something that is more like brownies, you should add some cocoa powder.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • VirginiaLynne profile imageAUTHOR

      Virginia Kearney 

      7 months ago from United States

      Hi Liz, I'm not sure if this would work, but I often use cake mixes to make cookies, so it is a possibility. I'll give it a guess and let you tell me if it worked. I'd add 1/2 cup melted butter or margarine, 3 eggs and 1/2 cup milk. If that mixture was too thick, I'd add a bit more milk until it was a thick batter but not dry (closer to cake batter, not muffins). Then pour in a bundt pan and bake. You could put the cinnamon sugar on the top. Yum!

    • profile image

      Liz Mimi 

      7 months ago

      Hi,

      Can I make a bunt cake out of Krusteaz Snickerdoodle cookie mix? If yes, do I need to change any ingrediants?

    • VirginiaLynne profile imageAUTHOR

      Virginia Kearney 

      9 months ago from United States

      Sure Nancy, I use the 9 x 13 all the time but the bars will be thin.

    • profile image

      Nancy pearch 

      9 months ago

      Want to make SUPREME BAR MIX, MICHIGAN CHERRY. Instead of 2 8x8 could i use a 9x13 baking dish?

    • VirginiaLynne profile imageAUTHOR

      Virginia Kearney 

      13 months ago from United States

      Hi Ruth Ann--One stick (1/2 cup) of butter and 1 egg.

    • profile image

      Ruth Ann Worman 

      13 months ago

      Lost sugar cookie recipe box, and need to know what to add to the sugar cookie packet?

    • profile image

      Kales 

      2 years ago

      VirginiaLynn-

      Thank you for YOUR initiative and I am happy to have found your site to help figure out the Krusteaz dilemma. Not being a natural in the kitchen, as yourself, I was thrilled to discover a delicious brand like Krusteaz to help, and was crushed when they changed one of the favorites (triple choc chunk), and perhaps more. I do hope others will comment to the company so they might correct the changes. Meanwhile would like to know how to follow your blogs as I am committed to becoming a better cook since semi-retiring :) Thanks again-

    • VirginiaLynne profile imageAUTHOR

      Virginia Kearney 

      2 years ago from United States

      Kales--I am very thankful for your initiative! I wrote this article based on the same experience. My grocery store regularly has coupons which let me buy these mixes at around $1.00 each, which is a real steal, and like you I've used them for quite a while. I had problems with one batch tasting bad and then started having comments from others. Our store is actually no longer carrying the Triple chocolate chunk. I've bought some of the new ones they are selling but haven't made them yet. I hope other people will call as well.

    • profile image

      Kales 

      2 years ago

      Krusteaz update:

      After seeing on this site that I was not the only one to notice negative changes in some Krusteaz recipes I called the company directly. I spoke to a customer relations representive to ask about the Triple Chocolate Chunk cookie and share my thoughts. We are not imagining things as Krusteaz did make changes to the flour and chocolate chips and I got a sense that they were starting to become aware of the problems. Prior to the recipe change there was an issue with the ink on the box creating a smell that might have affected the taste, but that was prior to the recipe change.

      She was very interested in the feedback. Bottom line is Kruteaz is a nice small family owned company and she said they are responsive to customer feedback and want to know our thoughts - and the company is known to make changes based on feedback. Their number is: (800) 457-7744. I discovered this brand years ago through a chef/ friend, and quickly figured out after trying several products that their recipe mixes are some of the best secrets on the grocery store shelf; People don't believe I used a mix when I tell them. In addition to the choc chip cookies, the honey cornbread, pancakes and pecan bars are also amazing. Share your feedback with the company so they will know and hopefully restore the good recipes.

    • profile image

      Kales 

      2 years ago

      Our family used to LOVE Krusteaz Chocolate Chip Cookie mix- As others have found, Krusteaz recently changed the recipe and they are now terrible! Definitely a chemical taste, the chocolate chips aren't as smooth and the consistency is strange. I used to buy multiple boxes and baked for different group meetings, parties, etc. and they were consistently a big hit ! As someone else mentioned they were as good as, if not better than homemade. Sad that Krusteaz changed a PERFECT recipe and ruined it.

    • VirginiaLynne profile imageAUTHOR

      Virginia Kearney 

      2 years ago from United States

      Thanks for the information. I noticed at my last trip that they had some different flavors. I've bought a few and will test them. I'll be very unhappy if they do not work out well.

    • profile image

      bestcookinworld 

      2 years ago

      Krusteaz recently changed their bakery style sugar cookies to some butter vanilla sugar cookies. I am very unhappy as I have used the bakery style for years. I made a batch and they tasted very weird...fake, chemical flavor. I will not use this mix for my holiday cookies any more. Betty Crocker bag sugar cookie mix is better than this new mix.

    • VirginiaLynne profile imageAUTHOR

      Virginia Kearney 

      3 years ago from United States

      I actually made a batch last week and they tasted fine. I'm not sure if there is a quality control problem. I do think I will be cautious about this.

    • profile image

      SAnderson 

      3 years ago

      I tried the Triple Chocolate Chunk cookies tonight and they had a very strange taste. After reading the reviews, I will throw the cookie in the trash!

    • Sir Took profile image

      Alfred Miller 

      3 years ago from Rowland NC/United States

      thanks for the tips. I love trying new things when I bake.

    • VirginiaLynne profile imageAUTHOR

      Virginia Kearney 

      3 years ago from United States

      I'm not sure I tasted a chemical in my last batch, but they did not taste very good. The chocolate chips were not the same. I have another box in my cupboard and I may try that, but I may have to revise this review.

    • profile image

      Lisa 

      3 years ago

      I just baked a batch of Krusteaz triple chocolate chunk tonight and the chips tasted like a chemical. I have baked these for years and never ran into this, so I went to computer to see if there was a recall. I saw that someone else posted something similar. I threw out the whole batch.

    • VirginiaLynne profile imageAUTHOR

      Virginia Kearney 

      3 years ago from United States

      Actually Christine--I just made a batch myself this week which wasn't nearly as good. I used margarine instead of butter and thought maybe that was it. Maybe there has been a change in the formula. I have another box and will have to try that one.

    • profile image

      Christine Bailiff 

      3 years ago

      Hi, I generally agree about the Krustaez mixes, but recently I have had some bad experiences and wondered if anyone else has. I make the triple chocolate chunk cookies regularly, and the last two boxes I made have a terrible chemical taste that I have never before experienced. Anyone else? I am almost afraid to buy them again, but also curious to see if it was just a fluke or something has changed.

    • profile image

      timber@aol.com 

      4 years ago

      I chop up mini peanut butter cups roughly and add to chocolate chunk mix..they are delicious!

    • MsDora profile image

      Dora Weithers 

      5 years ago from The Caribbean

      I find "chocolate" and "cookie mix" very appealing when it comes to desserts. Thanks for these valuable tips.

    • carol7777 profile image

      carol stanley 

      5 years ago from Arizona

      I have used their keylime squares as well as lemon squares. I could not have baked any better. They were delicious. Thanks for a great review. GOing up and pinning.

    • RTalloni profile image

      RTalloni 

      5 years ago from the short journey

      Thanks for this look at Krusteaz cookie mixes. I've seen them and wondered about them. Now I'll take another look. :)

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, delishably.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://delishably.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)