Review of Poet Sylvia Plath's Tomato Soup Cake Recipe - Delishably - Food and Drink
Updated date:

Review of Poet Sylvia Plath's Tomato Soup Cake Recipe

I made this cake for a literary-themed English Department meeting at the college where I teach part-time.

All that was left of my tomato soup cake. There was a reason that Sylvia Plath loved this cake.

All that was left of my tomato soup cake. There was a reason that Sylvia Plath loved this cake.

Tomato Soup Cake?

Recently, I received an invitation to go to an end-of-the-semester meeting and luncheon in the English Department where I teach part-time. The lunch had a literary theme, and each potluck item was supposed to be a famous dish from some work or author. Not sure what to bring, I googled some of my favorite works and authors. One of them happened to be Sylvia Plath, the tortured poet who ended her life by turning on a gas oven and sticking her head in it. Sad and fascinating, huh?

Since graduate school, I have been intrigued by Plath's work with its dark richness. Her anger at her father for dying when she was just a child was evident in "Daddy," and the suicidal tendencies that she fought all her life were evident in much of her work. "Lady Lazarus" is, as the title implies, all about dying and coming back to life, as Plath references her attempts to take her own life every ten years. But when did she finally succeed?

After she was married, Plath turned to cooking in an effort to stave off her depression. Her favorite book was reportedly The Joy of Cooking. She often baked and made dinners for friends. Still, her baking could not save her, as her marriage fell apart. Separated from her husband, with two young children at home, Plath could not continue on and was finally successful in her many attempts at suicide. Ironically, this 30-year-old poet ended her life by using the baking medium she loved—the oven.

Ready to mix in the tomato soup!

Ready to mix in the tomato soup!

I dare you to try it and love it!

Plath's Specialty: Tomato Soup Cake

It is said that Plath made tomato soup cake over and over again; it was her signature dish. When I first looked at this recipe, I was fascinated by the title. Tomato soup in a cake? It sounded kind of yucky. Still, I thought taking a tomato soup cake by a disturbed poetess would be an appropriate item to take to an English Department's potluck.

I must admit that I felt very literary when making this cake, and, by the time I was putting on the finishing touches of frosting, I felt that I was paying homage to the great tortured and talented Plath. Read more in this article from the Guardian about Plath's life and the recipe that inspired me to try this experiment.

Cook Time

Prep timeCook timeReady inYields

10 min

23 min

33 min

12 average size pieces of cake

I'll admit that the addition of the condensed tomato soup didn't look very appetizing to me.

I'll admit that the addition of the condensed tomato soup didn't look very appetizing to me.

Ingredients

  • 2 cups (250 grams) flour
  • 1 Tbsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. ground cloves
  • 1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp. ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 cup (120 g) butter, softened
  • 1 cup (200 g) sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 (11-oz.) can tomato soup, condensed
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts (optional)
  • 1 cup raisins (optional)
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract (optional)
Mixture divided into two round baking pans

Mixture divided into two round baking pans

Instructions

  1. Set oven to preheat at 375 degrees. Oil and flour two round baking pans. I did the old-fashioned way with oil and flour instead of a spray, as the old way is sure to keep the cake from sticking.
  2. Stir flour, baking powder, soda, and spices together. Set aside.
  3. Cream together sugar and butter until fluffy. Beat in eggs. This is where I would also add vanilla extract, if I so choose to do next time. I think I will.
  4. To the sugar/butter mixture, add in the flour and soup by thirds, alternating.
  5. Mix well. Add raisins and nuts, if you wish. I didn't.
  6. Divide batter into the two baking pans. The original recipe says to bake for 35 minutes, but test after 20. Insert a toothpick in. When it comes out clean, the cakes are ready. Mine were ready in only 23 minutes.
  7. Let cool for about 5 minutes. Take a knife and insert around the edge of the cake, moving all the way around to ensure that cake doesn't stick. Carefully turn pans over and plop out cakes onto racks to cool.
  8. When cakes are completely cool, spread with cream cheese frosting.

Notes About the Batter

I must say that when I added in the tomato soup, it looked kind of gross. I hurriedly mixed in the soup before tasting the batter. Surprisingly, the batter tasted great, and I had to try it again! It was salty and sweet at the same time. Quite an interesting flavor!

The recipe didn't call for vanilla extract, but I think I'll add that next time. The recipe did call for raisins, while some versions call for prunes and some kind of nut, such as walnuts or almonds. I don't like raisins or nuts in cake, so I opted not to include them.

Tomato soup cake fresh out of the oven

Tomato soup cake fresh out of the oven

Let's frost that cake!

Let's frost that cake!

Looking good!

Looking good!

Cream Cheese Frosting for Tomato Soup Cake

The frosting for this cake looks to be similar to the type of homemade frosting my mom made while I was growing up. I cheated on this first endeavor, as I was busy at the end of the semester and didn't have a lot of time for cake-baking after grading a mountain of papers. I bought the ready-made cream cheese frosting this time.

Here is the creamy looking frosting recipe that I will try the next time I make this delightful dessert.

Ingredients

  • 16 oz cream cheese, softened
  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 pinch salt
  • 5 cups confectioner's (powdered) sugar

Instructions

  1. The cream cheese and butter should be at room temperature; sometimes I soften them for a few seconds in the microwave when necessary.
  2. Mix together these two ingredients into a creamy mixture. Mix in vanilla and salt. Add in sugar a little at a time. Beat until smooth.

The Results? Review of Sylvia Plath's Tomato Soup Cake

So, how did this recipe go over with my English Department cohorts? Well, let's just say that I had to sneak out a piece to take home for myself. A few brave souls, after looking at the notecard labeled "Sylvia Plath's Tomato Soup Cake Recipe," went ahead to try a sliver. Word got around, the room abuzz with this strange but savory cake, with some coming back for more or for pieces to take with them.

Some said the cake reminded them of carrot cake. That's the closest thing we could come up with, but I actually like it better. I've never been a big fan of carrot cake except for the cream cheese frosting. Plath's cake has a firmer texture and a flavor that is more savory and less sweet. I describe the flavor as "darker," even, an odd word to describe flavor but perhaps appropriate for a baker who wrote dark poetry.

I think I've found a new signature potluck dish. Sylvia Plath's tomato soup cake not only offers a unique and tasty dessert, but it sparks interesting discussion about one of my favorite poets. This recipe was fun to make—and share!

Cream cheese frosted tomato soup cake. Delicious!

Cream cheese frosted tomato soup cake. Delicious!

In Sylvia Plath's own voice. A chilling reading!

Comments

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on March 26, 2016:

chef-de-jour--I love your analogies! Well said!

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on March 25, 2016:

Kimberleyclarke--this cake has the best flavor! Hope you try it! I've been making it for my summer Upward Bound students every summer after we study poetry that includes Sylvia Plath!

Andrew Spacey from Near Huddersfield, West Yorkshire,UK on March 06, 2016:

Victoria, in some ways poetry is the opposite to cake - there is no set recipe for a successful poem, you can't measure out the ingredients - but you can eat poetry and it is nutritious and delicious, as I'm sure this tomato cake is. Sylvia Plath's work endures - the same could be said for this recipe!

Kimberley Clarke from England on March 05, 2016:

Just when I thought I'd heard it all. A cake made with soup? Absurd. Delicious. Thank you! This is definitely going on my to do list!

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on March 11, 2015:

poetryman--It's not suicide cake; it's tomato soup cake! Comfort cake! Something a tortured woman made that she enjoyed. It's delish! You should try it!

poetryman6969 on March 06, 2015:

Maybe it's just me but suicide cake seems a bit morbid. I know, make it on Halloween and we will call it blood cake!

Kudos for you on a provocative subject but we won't be making this one.

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on February 24, 2015:

Tomato soup gives it an amazing flavor, peachpurple!

peachy from Home Sweet Home on February 11, 2015:

i never thought of using tomato soup for a cake, awesome

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on May 13, 2014:

That's interesting phdast7. Maybe it was a fad? :-) Sounds kind of fun!

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on May 12, 2014:

LCDWRiter--I'm excited that you want to make the cake. Let me know how it turns out if you see this post!

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on May 10, 2014:

phdast7 That's neat that your mom made this! So cool. Yes, Plath is/was both of those things. I loved combining literature with cooking. I do really need to do it again!

Theresa Ast from Atlanta, Georgia on May 09, 2014:

Back in the late seventies all the young wives in our church were making the Coke Cake, including me. It is a mild chocolate with nuts and the interesting tang of coke in the cake and the icing I think. Haven't made it in 20 years. :)

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on May 09, 2014:

Dolores, I've seen a lot of those recipes but never tried them. Have you?

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on May 09, 2014:

Rebecca--It IS delicious, and I enjoyed incorporating the poet. I think I would like doing more hubs like this one!

L C David from Florida on May 09, 2014:

As a fellow English nerd I must make this cake. Thanks for sharing this. Saving it now to buy the ingredients.

Theresa Ast from Atlanta, Georgia on May 09, 2014:

Great Hub and what a great combination of a literary topic with a terrific recipe. My other used to bake this cake 35 years ago. She also made a traditional carrot cake and a traditional spice cake and we felt this was kind of in the middle with a more intense (darker as you said) flavor. She never added raisins, but occasionally used shopped pecans. The icing was always cream cheese, except on the spice cake - that had a caramel / butterscotchy icing. Great trip down memory lane. :) And Plath is a fascinating and disturbing poet. Enjoyed the hub. :) Theresa

Dolores Monet from East Coast, United States on May 09, 2014:

This was great! When I was young, I was crazy for Plath but I certainly don't remember reading about the tomato soup cake. What I do remember is that back in the 60's and early 70's they were making a lot of cakes with weird ingredients like 7 Up, Coke, and mayonnaise. (voted up, tweeted and awesome)

Rebecca Mealey from Northeastern Georgia, USA on May 09, 2014:

The cake looks delicious, and what a great way to present a recipe by introducing the poet, Sylvia Plath.

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on February 28, 2014:

Susan Recipes I was skeptical about the recipe until I tried it. It's very tasty!!

Susan from India on February 28, 2014:

Great hub. I have never heard of it before. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe.

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on February 24, 2014:

Patsybell Did you see the movie where Gwyneth Paltrow played her? I enjoyed that. Yes, baking was a release for her. I'm glad you enjoyed the hub!

Patsy Bell Hobson from zone 6a, SEMO on February 23, 2014:

This is very interesting. I've read some about her and saw a movie or two about her. But I did not know she baked. Great hub. I learned something new today. Thanks.

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on January 06, 2014:

Lisawilliamsj - I'm glad you enjoyed reading about Plath. She fascinates me. I think you will be pleasantly surprised with the cake!

Lisa Chronister from Florida on January 03, 2014:

This is an awesome Hub! I really loved the history on Sylvia Plath, and I cannot wait to make the cake! I love to cook new things, and this is definitely something I have never heard of. Thanks for sharing!

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on September 27, 2013:

Awesome! I liked your page. Thanks for sharing this hub on it. Hey, and I think it's awesome that you lost to yourself in Chess. LOL

Robert Burroughs on September 27, 2013:

Robert Burroughs Writer

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on September 26, 2013:

Wow, rtburroughs2, that is such a nice compliment! How sweet. I'm touched. What is the name of your Facebook page?

Robert Burroughs on September 26, 2013:

Victoria, I always like reading your hubs, it is people like you that made me decide to give hub pages another go. I created a professional Facebook page to showcase my own hubs and to share things that interest me. I am going to share this on my page.

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on August 22, 2013:

French words are lovely, MagKaye!

MagKaye on August 22, 2013:

Yes - it is also called zucchini in Italian, and baby marrow in English. Corgette is the French for it!

You're welcome :-)

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on August 22, 2013:

HI, MagKaye! I had to look up corgette. I'm not familiar with the term, but it appears to be zucchini? I've had zucchini bread, which is really good.

I really need to make this cake again. It really is savory. Yummers--I love that word! Thanks for reading and commenting!

MagKaye on August 22, 2013:

I'm going to try this. If it tastes like carrot cake, I'm in.

I once made a cake with grated corgette in it, which was also delicious! Sounded weird, but really was yummers.

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on June 17, 2013:

FlourishAnyway--Good point about the cake being "darker," as its creator was! Good catch! I'm so glad you enjoyed the hub. I really enjoyed writing it. I enjoyed entering Plath's world. Hope you enjoy the recipe!

FlourishAnyway from USA on June 14, 2013:

I love Sylvia Plath's powerful as a poet and find it amusing that she had such a strange recipe to specialize in. Tomato cake. Who knew? Funny that you described it as "darker." Hehe. I have actually tried something similar as a result of reading a child's book about a Russian grandmother's special recipe. Then it had the recipe in the back which we had to try. It was actually pretty good. I'm going to try Sylvia's. Thank you for writing this hub. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on June 10, 2013:

sgiguere--It was very cool! Lots of cool dishes there! Thanks for your comments. I enjoyed making the cake, attending the potluck, and writing this hub, too. It was fun!

Stephanie Giguere from Worcester, MA on June 09, 2013:

I want to attend a literary themed pot luck! It sounds like a lot of fun, especially if it were with all the cool English Prof's I know... Thanks for the interesting Hub!

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on May 28, 2013:

Yay, Marlene! I am thrilled to hear how well the recipe went over with your family! I need to make it again. It's so savory! Thanks for coming back to let me know how it went! :-)

Marlene Bertrand from USA on May 24, 2013:

Hello Victoria! I'm returning to let you know I baked the Tomato Soup cake and it turned out great. I baked mine as a sheet cake and it took 30 minutes to bake. I bought the cream cheese frosting to save time. This cake is a hit in my family. It was easy to make, smells great while it's baking, and tastes amazingly wonderful. Thank you for sharing this unique, but awesome recipe.

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on May 17, 2013:

MarleneB--I think you'll be pleased. This cake has an interesting, lovely flavor!

Marlene Bertrand from USA on May 16, 2013:

Hi Victoria, I have all the ingredients except the tomato soup, walnuts, and raisins (yes, I'll be adding the raisins). I have my grandchildren this weekend and hope to be able to make it for them. I think they will enjoy it. And, yes, I'll come back and give you an update. This is so different. I've never been more excited to try a dessert recipe.

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on May 16, 2013:

Marlene--It was so, so tasty. If you make the cake, please come back and let me know! :-)

Marlene Bertrand from USA on May 11, 2013:

I simply must try this recipe even though as you say, it looks kind of yucky while you're making it. The description of your workmates' reactions make it worth trying. Thank you for a wonderful review of a cake I look forward to trying - it's so different!

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on March 28, 2013:

Hi, Lady Guinevere! Do you mean the Joy of Cooking? No, Plath didn't write it; it was just her favorite book. Do I need to clarify that in the hub? It was actually written by Irma or Erma something. I looked it up, but I'll check it out to make sure. Thanks for reading! :-)

Debra Allen from West By God on March 28, 2013:

I didn't know that she wrote that book. I thought it was Julia Child. Learn something new every day! Thanks for the hub. I voted it up and interesting and useful.

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on September 27, 2012:

Try it, Gypsy! Let me know if you do!

Gypsy48 on September 27, 2012:

I am a fan of Sylvia Plath so I must try out this recipe. You never know if you will like something until you try it. Thanks for sharing:)

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on September 27, 2012:

suzette--Yay! I hope YOU are convinced to make the cake. I think that you will be pleasantly surprised!

Suzette Walker from Taos, NM on September 25, 2012:

Victoria: I have heard of her cake but I have never made it. This has inspired me to try this "yukky" "gross" cake. I have to agree with you that that was my first reaction to all this also, and the reason I have never made it. But, your article has convinced me I must try this. Thanks so much for sharing the recipe and your story. Your presentation is so good also. I can see why Plath made this - comfort food.

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on September 04, 2012:

jennzie and mmsu--I hadn't either until I found this recipe. Hope you like it!

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on September 04, 2012:

ignugent--I'd be curious to see if your picky tongue likes this! I thought the taste was delightful!

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on September 03, 2012:

jcevans--perfect! Your mom will love that!

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on September 03, 2012:

Glad you approve, Donnah! It sure went over well for me at our dept pot luck. Thanks for voting and sharing. Hope you try it!

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on September 03, 2012:

Yes, Tammy, the recipe is quite unique--with a unique flavor, too!

mmsu from Pakistan on September 03, 2012:

Me too,never heard of this before.Thanks for sharing it with us!

Jenn from Pennsylvania on September 03, 2012:

Great hub! I have never heard of tomato soup cake... I'll have to give it a try.

ignugent17 on September 03, 2012:

Very interesting a soup in a cake. I would love to taste this. I have to try in a little piece my tongue is a little picky.

Voted up and more. :-)

Judith C Evans from Boise, ID on September 03, 2012:

When I was a kid, my mom made tomato soup cake after a friend gave her the recipe. I had no idea it was Sylvia Plath's favorite! Will have to bake a cake in honor of Plath and my mom, who will be interested to learn this fact! :)

Donna Hilbrandt from Upstate New York on September 03, 2012:

This is fantastic! I love the irony of the recipe coming from Sylvia Plath. I am going to take a cue from you and make this on an occasion when we do an English department potluck. Awesome. Voted up, pinned and shared.

Tammy from North Carolina on September 03, 2012:

I have never heard of this before, but I guess it would be safe to assume Sylvia Plath was as striking and unique as a cook as she was a writer. Very interesting and unique!

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on June 21, 2012:

Thanks, Dragonfly! I'll definitely make it again!

DragonflyTreasure from on the breeze......... on June 21, 2012:

On my list to try :) Interesting xo

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on June 14, 2012:

Thanks, Purple Perl. It was fun making this cake, knowing that a literary figure made it many times all those years ago. Thanks for reading and commenting!

Esther Shamsunder from Bangalore,India on June 14, 2012:

What an innovative idea for this cake? Thanks for sharing and congrats on your win.

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on June 07, 2012:

RTalloni--I've never heard of tomato ice cream! This cake really is good--like a dark spicy kind of cake. Glad you enjoyed the hub!

RTalloni on June 07, 2012:

Really, you can't beat a cake with a story that sparks interesting conversation.

I've heard of tomato ice cream so this wasn't too much of a surprise. I'm divided about trying it, but I probably will do so, and I'm laughing at what your co-workers might have thought--was this cake safe? ;)

Thanks for sharing your research on Path's cake and your experience with it!

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on June 06, 2012:

Kelley--So glad you love this hub. I loved doing it!

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on June 06, 2012:

JSParker--You can have the cake rather than the depression--LOL. Thanks for the cool comments!

kelleyward on June 06, 2012:

This is an unusual idea for a cake and I Love It!!! Thanks for sharing this recipe and amazing pictures!!!! Kelley

JSParker from Detroit, Michigan on June 06, 2012:

A very unusual idea for a hub and a recipe. I got lost in the darkness of the video, however. I'll take the cake, not the depression.

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on June 06, 2012:

PrairiePrincess--Yes, trust me. I was skeptical, too, but it turned out great. I was excited about it!Thanks for sharing!

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on June 06, 2012:

MargaritaEden--It's unique for sure. I was tickled to find it and try it--and love it!

Sharilee Swaity from Canada on June 05, 2012:

Victoria, I must admit that this is a very scary concept to me: tomato soup in the same sentence as cake. But because I trust you, I believe you when you say that it was a huge hit. Great hub and very interesting recipe! I am sharing this one!

MargaritaEden from Oregon on June 05, 2012:

wow, looks so interesting, cake with tomato soup, never would have thought of that, great job!

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on June 05, 2012:

toomuchmint--Thanks for the great comments. I, too, think the cake is very interesting--so much history behind it!

toomuchmint on June 05, 2012:

Congratulations Victoria, on your win! The background information on Sylvia Plath and the context of the recipe makes the dish all the more valuable. It's a great conversation piece for guests, and makes the cake even more interesting than the combination of soup and dessert.

Great work!

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on June 05, 2012:

Yes, ktrapp! I was pleasantly surprised to win one of the $50 prizes. And, yes, this recipe is even more special to me now. Thanks! :-)

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on June 05, 2012:

Simone--I think it's great for parties, as it has a story behind it. It's a great conversation piece! Glad you liked the photos, too. I loved writing this one. I may have to look into some more interesting recipes!

Kristin Trapp from Illinois on June 05, 2012:

Did I see you won $50 for this recipe? That's fabulous! I bet it makes you love this tomato cake even more!

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on June 05, 2012:

Thanks, Vellur. It is quite unique and tastes quite unique (and good!) as well!

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on June 05, 2012:

molometer--Who knew that the recipe would actually be so tasty! It is! Yes, Plath had a sad and tortured life. Thanks for reading and for the 5 stars!

Simone Haruko Smith from San Francisco on June 04, 2012:

What an incredibly intriguing confection! I love your review of it, and the photos you took are fabulous too! I'm so glad you've introduced me to the recipe. It would be GREAT to bring to parties, and I really want to give it a try.

Nithya Venkat from Dubai on June 04, 2012:

A unique cake recipe. Should be great. The photo of the cake looks awesome. Voted up.

Micheal is from United Kingdom on June 04, 2012:

Tomato soup cake recipe, doesn't sound like it is going to be fun or tasty, but this looks like being both.

Shame about Sylvia Plaths early demise via the gas oven, but she left a great recipe and some awesome literature.

I think I tasted something like this whilst in South Africa. It was good.

Nice work Vicki. 5 stars.

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on June 03, 2012:

I know, random! i even thought it was gross when I was mixing it up. And then it tasted great! A sweet saltiness--interesting and unique. Yeah, it was a big hit!

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on June 03, 2012:

ktrapp--Yeah, I thought it was a fun idea to have a theme. Yeah, Plath's life was a sad and tragic one. I liked the cake a lot--surprisingly! Great flavor!

Rose Clearfield from Milwaukee, Wisconsin on June 03, 2012:

How interesting! Tomato soup in a cake sounds pretty gross, but that's good to know that it's tasty. I can imagine what a hit this was with the English majors.

Kristin Trapp from Illinois on June 03, 2012:

What a fun luncheon idea for an English department and what a fun way to present a recipe. Yet how morbid that Sylvia Plath's life ended with her head in a gas oven. I have to say, the cake looks really moist and has a very nice color. I cannot imagine how it tastes, but anything with cream cheese frosting gets a thumbs up from me.

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on June 03, 2012:

I agree, Hyphenbird. Amazing what a can of tomato soup can do in a cake!!!

Brenda Barnes from America-Broken But Still Beautiful on June 03, 2012:

Fabulous! Unusual ingredients can make an amazing dish. I believe we are set on what food goes where )(and when) so we miss a lot of wonderful meals. Thanks for this lovely recipe.

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on June 03, 2012:

Thanks, Debbie. Hope you like it! For the nutritional values, I go to a caloriecount website that analyzes recipes. I put in the ingredients and amounts, and it adds up what's in each ingredient calorie-wise and divides it by total servings. Voila!

Deborah Brooks Langford from Brownsville,TX on June 03, 2012:

This recipe is amazing. I can't wait to try it..I can't seem to figure out the nutrition facts.. where did you get all that information?

I love your recipe.. great pictures.. just excellent

Debbie

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on June 03, 2012:

Yes, Peggy, Plath definitely had her demons, and they got the best of her. I don't make cakes much, but this one was fun! Glad you found it!

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on June 03, 2012:

Thanks, Real! I was skeptical, too. Try it! Glad you liked the hub!

Peggy Woods from Houston, Texas on June 03, 2012:

Your title caught my eye. I never heard of the poet Sylvia Plaths. Sounds like she had her own special demons in her life while she was alive. The cake recipe sounds very interesting. I don't often make cakes, but just might have to give this one a try for some special occasion. Thanks! Voted useful and interesting.

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on June 03, 2012:

Effer--That is like the best comment EVER! I love how you climbed up each branch of my hub. I love to cook but baking (as in desserts) isn't really my thing, either, but, like you, curiosity got me! I'm glad you enjoyed learning about Sylvia Plath, too, poor soul that she was. I want to read the book by Kate Moses, too! I'm glad you took the time to read about her.

Again, I LOVE your comments. The one about the fisherman is priceless. I'm glad I hooked you and pulled you in! That makes me feel great, as I really enjoyed putting together this hub. I like trying new recipes, and of course I like writing and poetry and cool writers, so this all worked. Spreading a little knowledge while sharing a tasty recipe. Glad it worked well! Thanks so much again and again!

Victoria Lynn (author) from Arkansas, USA on June 03, 2012:

You're welcome Kaili! Good luck with it!

Kelly Umphenour from St. Louis, MO on June 03, 2012:

Plath was fascinating and so was this hub!

Tomato soup cake? Wow - I like tomato soup just as much as the next guy but in cake? I have to try this! lol I mean cake is cake right? lol

Up and everything! I loved the writing about Sylvia Plath too - very interesting!

Suzie from Carson City on June 03, 2012:

Vee...This hub is like a strong tree with beautiful branches. I mustered up the interest and energy to climb to the top, stopping a moment on each branch!

I hope you don't mind if I say this is my FAVORITE of your works thus far....although I know you are aware, I love them all.

Tomato soup & cake in the same sentence? hmmmm interesting to me. After all, my most treasured dessert is "Carrot Cake" (veggie & cake) But here's a secret, I am not at all fond of baking...and yet I know I will make this cake to satisfy my curiosity.

I sincerely thank you for the introduction to Sylvia Plath, without which, I would not know of her. Makes sense that I'm not familiar with many poets, which I explained in my "Poetry is Greek To Me," hub. However, Sylvia is VERY intriguing to someone with my background, since she was a desperately troubled creature in need of aggresive therapy. Sad...so sad.

Also never heard of Kate Moses....her writing style is beyond exquisite....and so, because of you, my friend, I'll be reading Kate's fictionalized account of Sylvia as my Tomato soup cake is cooling!!!

Talk about an author who can HOOK her readers with a lure and some bait!! Are you SURE you're not a fisherman at heart?? Up, UP and UP again.

Kaili Bisson from Canada on June 03, 2012:

The frosting looks amazing. I will give this a try...thank you for sharing!