DoorDash Review: What Customers Need to Know About This Food Delivery Service

Updated on August 5, 2019
KCO profile image

Katy tests money-saving apps to find ones that are legitimate, easy-to-use, and effective to share with readers.

What is DoorDash?

DoorDash is a food delivery service that is expanding to cities all over the United States and parts of Canada.

To order food, you open the app (or site) and choose the restaurant. Then build your cart, place the order, and pay through the app.

Similar to Uber, DoorDash delivery drivers aren't employed directly. They are essentially "contractors" who pick up the order for you and deliver it to you.

You might be apprehensive about DoorDash before you use it. Read my review for important things to know about this service and how it stacks up with other food delivery services.

Get food delivered from local restaurants through DoorDash
Get food delivered from local restaurants through DoorDash | Source

Customer Reviews

I've used DoorDash in Denver and Atlanta. While I haven't had any major issues, there are some things you should be aware of when ordering food.

I researched customer reviews from all over the internet before placing my first order. Here are is the general consensus of DoorDash's delivery service, along with my personal experience:

Drivers

One of the common complaints I hear about the service is that individual drivers will be late or mess up the order. This happened a lot more when DoorDash was new.

The drivers' performance still varies but all of them are trying to earn good tips. Most problems drivers run into are unavoidable for them, like traffic and delays at the restaurant.

Consider the time of day and popularity of a restaurant before you order. Don't expect drivers to get your order any faster than you could. Set realistic expectations. For dishes that I need hot and fresh (like pho or Chinese) I don't order during peak times.

Food Quality

The drivers aren't responsible for the food quality and the service isn't responsible for poor customer service from the driver.

This leaves the responsibility on you to ensure you're ordering from a good restaurant. I don't usually try a place for the first time using DoorDash unless I hear fantastic reviews from close friends.

Check menu and delivery prices directly with the restaurant before ordering. Sometimes DoorDash adds a huge price increase.
Check menu and delivery prices directly with the restaurant before ordering. Sometimes DoorDash adds a huge price increase. | Source

Is DoorDash Safe for Customers?

DoorDash protects your information. You can read more details in their Privacy Policy. Here are the highlights:

Location Information

They will collect your location information from your cell if you allow permissions. Even if you don't, they will gather your general location from your IP address. This is to provide more accurate location for deliveries.

Personal and Order Information

They also collect the personal information you submit as well as your orders. Your order history is used to tailor advertisements for you. Their policy also states that they provide this information to restaurants for marketing.

Payment Information

DoorDash collects your payment information and uses it to make transactions at restaurants.

As with most purchases, I'd recommend using a credit card instead of a debit card. That makes it easier to dispute charges. Also, a credit card gives you more protection, whereas a debit card gives the service direct access to your account.

Pricing

The delivery service charge depends on your area and the order total. So it's difficult to say whether DoorDash is cheaper than other services. Your best bet to find out is to start an order and see what the total is.

But there are a few general trends that help you decide whether to order from Grubhub or directly from the restaurants.

Restaurants that specialize in delivery like pizza and Jimmy Johns tend to be cheaper than using a third-party app. DoorDash and Grubhub pricing tend to be comparable. The exception would be during a really high demand time DoorDash might up their charges so watch out for that.

Minimum Order for Delivery

One of the tricky things about ordering food is there's usually a minimum order amount. So if you're getting food for just one or two people you might not meet the minimum. This forces you to spend more than you normally would to get extra drinks or appetizers.

This is where DoorDash is helpful. Their minimums are usually lower than Grubhub and sometimes there's no minimum at all. So DoorDash often ends up the cheaper option.

How Much to Tip the Driver

You need to understand DoorDash's pay model before you tip the driver. When placing your order you can add a tip for the driver. The driver keeps 100% of the tips. Sounds fair for everyone, right?

Well the trick is DoorDash uses your tip money to reach the driver's minimum pay for that order. So the more you tip, the less they have to pay the driver.

That means when you tip your driver, you're giving money to DoorDash, not directly to the driver. Something to keep in mind when you choose a tip amount.


DoorDash App Review

DoorDash's app is pretty easy to use. You can see which restaurants in your area you can order from, which is handy.

I've had a few technical issues in the past with the app crashing when putting in a payment. It once when I start over but it's frustrating to have to go through the process again.

What is your favorite part of DoorDash?

See results

Pros and Cons

After trying other options, here are the pros and cons to using DoorDash:

Pros

  • Lower order minimums
  • You can track your order and see the progress
  • Lots of restaurants

Cons

  • Some restaurants have increased prices
  • No direct customer service

What is the worst part about DoorDash?

See results

Food Delivery Alternatives

When ordering food you usually have a few options besides DoorDash:

  1. Order directly from the restaurant.
  2. Use Grubhub.
  3. Use other delivery services like Postmates, UberEats, or Seamless. These services all have pros and cons and might not be available in your area.

When Should I Use DoorDash?

I like DoorDash best for these situations:

  • The restaurant offers takeout but not delivery
  • You want to schedule an order in advance
  • You want less than the Grubhub mimimum
  • The restaurant isn't on Grubhub and/or doesn't have an easy app for orders

There are many restaurants I want to eat from but they're not on Grubhub or they don't have delivery at all.

I frequent a few places that have wonderful food but their delivery service is awful. For those, I'd rather have DoorDash pick it up for me.

© 2019 Katy Medium

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment
    • profile image

      Kathleen 

      4 days ago

      WARNING: Be careful ordering through their app or you could get stuck paying for something you never received. My app was set to "Pick Up" orders instead of "Delivery," which I didn't realize when I placed an order (I have never used DoorDash for pick up). I realized my mistake immediately and canceled the order through the app. Then, I placed a duplicate order for "Delivery." When I was tracking my delivery, I noticed that the "Pick Up" order was still active. The only option that order had at that point was to call the restaurant, which I did. I called them to make sure that the "Pick Up" order was canceled and that the "Delivery" order was replaced with it. However, I was still charged for the "Pick Up" order. DoorDash says they can't refund me because a restaurant can't cancel an order. But, I canceled it on the app first and when that didn't work, I immediately performed the second option I was given (calling the restaurant). Through three different interactions with DoorDash customer service, they still won't refund my money for a meal I never received, that they never had to pay a driver for and that the restaurant never had to make. Be careful. They do not care about their customers.

    • profile image

      Rich 

      2 weeks ago

      DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY! Our last order from Buffalo Wild Wings was short 2 wings. Disgusting. The drivers eat your food and god knows what else. We personally spoke with BWW and they tried to contact doordash but were on hold for over half an hour. No one is there to be held accountable. This company is a not only a joke but dangerous to your health. Not to mention the prior order when the driver never delivered and we lost our money. There are way too many reasons to not use this company, from non screening of drivers, to not knowing what they do with your food, or the fact they can just steal your money. Consumers, DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY, and businesses...DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY! Its a poor reflection on your business!

    • profile image

      Donna 

      3 weeks ago

      I tried Door Dash a few times and out of 4 purchased 3 were incorrect even though I was given a receipt that listed exactly what I ordered. One time we ordered Chicken Burritos and got Beef which was inedible since I don't eat grizzle thus my ordering chicken, another time no drinks were delivered so we went online and complained to door dash and they said we would have a credit but that is crap because why would I order again after all the issues I have had. Today I noticed a charge on my credit card and when I called I was told it was a subscription charge for 9.99 a month which was never approved so they think that people will not notice and then they can steal your hard earned dollars. Also they mark up all the items and then charge you a delivery fee etc. when other delivery services charge you the delivery and do not act like they are changing you regular prices when they add money to each item and I am not speaking about a little money it adds at least 15% or so to your order ....I would advise that you never use this company.

    • KCO profile imageAUTHOR

      Katy Medium 

      6 weeks ago from Denver, CO

      Hi Kelly, thanks for the info! The drivers don't see a customer's payment info but DoorDash does handle it directly. It's good you made that distinction.

      I updated the article to remove the statement that drivers actually place the order.

    • profile image

      Kelly 

      7 weeks ago

      Hey i used to deliver for door dash and i just want you to know you have some info wrong. Dashers can not see your credit card info. We are mailed what is called a red card which gets filled with moneh only with the amount of your order and only when there is an order. We also dont place the order. We are given the location and we pay with the red card and deliver it to the customer.

    • profile image

      Jennifer 

      7 weeks ago

      HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE

      I ordered from DoorDash after a long day at work and forgot to turn my ringer back on my cell phone. I missed the delivery person’s call and unfortunately the directory to my condo unit is attached to my cell#. When I discovered my error I tried several times to call the driver back but he refused to answer my call. I paid $64 for my food, tip and tax. So, basically my food was stolen and I’m out of $64. I tried to get a human on the phone at DoorDash but there is no way to talk to anyone to complain or have your problem resolved. I will never order from them again and with the reports about these delivery services recently in the news I may not use the other companies the have this type of service.

    • profile image

      Margaret Sharp 

      2 months ago

      abysmal customer service, did not deliver order, marked as delivered. customer service gave excuses and platitudes.

    • profile image

      Nick 

      4 months ago

      A DoorDash driver hit my vehicle that was parked in the street. DoorDash has been unresponsive to the incident and has not taken any initiative to fix the damage. Phone calls to their customer service is just like communicating with a low level education toddler. All of these driving delivery service mobile applications are one big joke with no direction except unprofessional service. Shame on you with lots to learn. I will eat the $1091 damages to my vehicle because I have wasted much of my valuable time attempting to get one thing accomplished with you amateurs.

    • profile image

      Martin 

      4 months ago

      Worst ordering/delivery service ever! 90% of orders are wrong. At first, it looks okay because you can automatically get credits when you report issues. Then they start saying it has to be reviewed. IF you hear from customer service, they say, “we are unable to issue credits due to your account history.” The first time this happened I had received a completely wrong order. Only 1 item matched my order. They don’t care. I ordered about 10 times total because I had some credits or they were offering free delivery.

      After referring a friend and neither of us receiving any credits after several orders (it was supposed to be $20 each), I complained again. At first, they just told me where I could find the referrals in my account. I kept retelling them what the issue was and that neither of us had received credits. Then they said the referral’s first order wasn’t over $10. I told them it didn’t state anywhere that the 1st order had to be over $10. Just that the credits would be issued after an order of $10 or more. After more back and forth, they said one of us had violated their terms. No explanation. I asked what was violated. No response.

      I’m done with these cheats and scammers. Stay far away! They don’t give a crap about customers. Use ANY other service!

    • KCO profile imageAUTHOR

      Katy Medium 

      6 months ago from Denver, CO

      Great Liza! Let us know how it turns out for you :)

    • lizmalay profile image

      Liza 

      6 months ago from UT,USA

      Hi Katy, thanks for your review on DoorDash. I was thinking to use their service for food delivery around my house. I think DoorDash will be a great alternative.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, delishably.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://delishably.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)
    ClickscoThis is a data management platform studying reader behavior (Privacy Policy)