Updated date:

DoorDash Review: What Customers Need to Know About This Food Delivery Service

Katy tests money-saving apps, tools, and websites to find ones that are legitimate, easy to use, and effective to share with readers.

What Is DoorDash?

DoorDash is a food delivery service that is expanding to cities all over the United States and parts of Canada.

To order food, you open the app (or site) and choose the restaurant. Then build your cart, place the order, and pay through the app.

Similar to Uber, DoorDash delivery drivers aren't employed directly. They are essentially "contractors" who pick up the order for you and deliver it to you.

You might be apprehensive about DoorDash before you use it. Read my review for important things to know about this service and how it stacks up with other food delivery services.

Get food delivered from local restaurants through DoorDash

Get food delivered from local restaurants through DoorDash

DashPass: Is It Worth It?

DashPass is a monthly subscription that gives you free DoorDash delivery. I signed up for this when one of my credit cards had a promotion.

You get three months of DashPass for free if you have a Chase Freedom credit card. That's definitely worth checking out if you get delivery weekly or biweekly.

Customer Reviews

I've used DoorDash in Denver and Atlanta. While I haven't had any major issues, there are some things you should be aware of when ordering food.

I researched customer reviews from all over the internet before placing my first order. Here are is the general consensus of DoorDash's delivery service, along with my personal experience:

Drivers

One of the common complaints I hear about the service is that individual drivers will be late or mess up the order. This happened a lot more when DoorDash was new.

The drivers' performance still varies but all of them are trying to earn good tips. Most problems drivers run into are unavoidable for them, like traffic and delays at the restaurant.

Consider the time of day and popularity of a restaurant before you order. Don't expect drivers to get your order any faster than you could. Set realistic expectations. For dishes that I need hot and fresh (like pho or Chinese), I don't order during peak times.

Food Quality

The drivers aren't responsible for the food quality and the service isn't responsible for poor customer service from the driver.

This leaves the responsibility on you to ensure you're ordering from a good restaurant. I don't usually try a place for the first time using DoorDash unless I hear fantastic reviews from close friends.

Check menu and delivery prices directly with the restaurant before ordering. Sometimes DoorDash adds a huge price increase.

Check menu and delivery prices directly with the restaurant before ordering. Sometimes DoorDash adds a huge price increase.

Is DoorDash Safe for Customers?

DoorDash protects your information. You can read more details in their Privacy Policy. Here are the highlights:

Location Information

They will collect your location information from your cell if you allow permissions. Even if you don't, they will gather your general location from your IP address. This is to provide more accurate location for deliveries.

Personal and Order Information

They also collect the personal information you submit as well as your orders. Your order history is used to tailor advertisements for you. Their policy also states that they provide this information to restaurants for marketing.

Payment Information

DoorDash collects your payment information and uses it to make transactions at restaurants.

As with most purchases, I'd recommend using a credit card instead of a debit card. That makes it easier to dispute charges. Also, a credit card gives you more protection, whereas a debit card gives the service direct access to your account.

Pricing

The delivery service charge depends on your area and the order total. So it's difficult to say whether DoorDash is cheaper than other services. Your best bet to find out is to start an order and see what the total is.

But there are a few general trends that help you decide whether to order from Grubhub or directly from the restaurants.

Restaurants that specialize in delivery like pizza and Jimmy Johns tend to be cheaper than using a third-party app. DoorDash and Grubhub pricing tend to be comparable. The exception would be during a really high demand time DoorDash might up their charges so watch out for that.

Minimum Order for Delivery

One of the tricky things about ordering food is there's usually a minimum order amount. So if you're getting food for just one or two people, you might not meet the minimum. This forces you to spend more than you normally would to get extra drinks or appetizers.

This is where DoorDash is helpful. Their minimums are usually lower than Grubhub and sometimes there's no minimum at all. So DoorDash often ends up the cheaper option.

How Much to Tip the Driver

You need to understand DoorDash's pay model before you tip the driver. When placing your order, you can add a tip for the driver. The driver keeps 100% of the tips. Sounds fair for everyone, right?

Well the trick is DoorDash uses your tip money to reach the driver's minimum pay for that order. So the more you tip, the less they have to pay the driver.

That means when you tip your driver, you're giving money to DoorDash, not directly to the driver. Something to keep in mind when you choose a tip amount.

DoorDash App Review

DoorDash's app is pretty easy to use. You can see which restaurants in your area you can order from, which is handy.

I've had a few technical issues in the past with the app crashing when putting in a payment. It once when I start over but it's frustrating to have to go through the process again.

Pros and Cons

After trying other options, here are the pros and cons to using DoorDash:

Pros

  • Lower order minimums
  • You can track your order and see the progress
  • Lots of restaurants

Cons

  • Some restaurants have increased prices
  • No direct customer service

Food Delivery Alternatives

When ordering food you usually have a few options besides DoorDash:

  1. Order directly from the restaurant.
  2. Use Grubhub.
  3. Use other delivery services like Postmates, UberEats, or Seamless. These services all have pros and cons and might not be available in your area.

When Should I Use DoorDash?

I like DoorDash best for these situations:

  • The restaurant offers takeout but not delivery.
  • You want to schedule an order in advance.
  • You want less than the Grubhub minimum.
  • The restaurant isn't on Grubhub and/or doesn't have an easy app for orders.

There are many restaurants I want to eat from but they're not on Grubhub or they don't have delivery at all.

I frequent a few places that have wonderful food but their delivery service is awful. For those, I'd rather have DoorDash pick it up for me.

© 2019 Katy Medium

Comments

Michel Bourbonniere on July 17, 2020:

My order took close to 2 hours to deliver. The driver was rude. The food was cold. Awful service. They charged me twice for the order and it was not even the same price with $1.00 difference. I strongly not recommend this awful service. The order was $45.50, They offered to give me a $9.00 credit that I never received. I guess they think that the name and reputation of their company is not worth $9.00, simply PATHETIC

phuck doordash on June 21, 2020:

Absolutely 100% dissatisfied. Did nothing but have patience admire my driver have understanding and compassion, yet received calls back after 40 minutes saying they didn't have my order only met with people unable to speak english completely trying to take me for my money and my time do not use them complete bs garbage.

Monica101 on June 16, 2020:

I had a bad experience with DoorDash they’re stilling customers money then lie and say they don’t have a order with certain amount that was took out of my account but I have a receipt in my email for the order...I don’t recommend anyone to use this app unless you want your money took. DoorDash don’t get a 5 start from me and I’m a first time user for this DoorDash

bernynhel on June 12, 2020:

I don't like being ripped off. Door Dash likes ripping people off. I place and order. Pay. Tracking shows the restaurant is preparing the food, then shows the driver going to the restaurant to pick up my food then ORDER CANCELLED. The explanation was that there was no driver available to pick up my food. SO WHY WAS THE ORDER ACCEPTED IN THE FIRST PLACE??? This has happened 3 times. A sticker on the bag says the order was double checked for accuracy. So how did my Del Taco 2 for $4 fish tacos only have one taco? I don'f think you can even order one fish taco but's that's all I got after DoorDash double checked my order! Adding insult to injury - DoorDash has been charging me $9.99 every month for a Dash Pass since December 2019!!! They kept this on the DL - every 3rd of the month they charged me $9.99 but did they email or text me with "Hey Dash Pass subscriber its another month and another $9.99 to us now here's what we can do for you". Ah HELL NO! Not a peep to suggest I was subscribed to anything!! I never saved a dime on deliveries unless I was ordering the $12 for free delivery so I have no idea what the $9.99 a month was supposed to be for. Like I said I don't like being ripped off and if you don'e either stay away from Door Dash because they're nothing but THIEVES!

Kaitlyntolby on June 07, 2020:

I live in Mississippi I ordered at 8 on my doordash app. Almost 45 minutes later it’s still saying the restaurant is making my order so I contact them and they say that the knew they didn’t have any drivers to pick up my order but still took money. After an I give up tell them I want my money back they telll my they can’t put it back on my card so they give my doordash credits well no thanks to them knowing they didn’t have a driver when I put my order they made me wait an hour and now they won’t let me order anything else. Horrible service I would not recommend.

Bela on April 11, 2020:

They demand a 2nd credit card! WHY? What are they doing with all that credit data? Already been hacked a time or two and lost millions of customers' data! :((

Stacey on April 10, 2020:

Ordered for first time due to quarantine took driver 45 mins to deliver food from restaurant 5 mins down the road because he kept hanging up me while i was trying to give him directions to my house. Then when he gets to my neighborhood he asks 2 different neighbors where i live they both tell him and points to my house and he drives in the opposite direction. When he finally sees me flagging him down in The middle of the road he throws my food out the window and drives off and 3 days later my credit card is compromised for $25.00 by non other than DoorDash at a restaurant that ive never been to in my life. Oh Joy!! Ill never do that again!

Kathy on February 20, 2020:

Has anyone else had issues with a data breach with Door dash? My son and I have had $ taken out of our bank accounts using our debit cards!! I haven’t worked for them for over a year my son still works for them I think they have someone getting banking information and then using it to take $ out of accounts

Terri Brooks on February 10, 2020:

I ordered the garlic French fries and got the sweet potato ones instead!

Sushiman on February 07, 2020:

Worst online service in the world. DO NOT USE THIS SERVICE!!!

Tracey on January 31, 2020:

They also pad the tab, meaning for each item ordered, they add a couple of bucks to it to increase their profits. This is in addition to the service and delivery fees they also charge.

PATEL on January 01, 2020:

DoorDash manipulate customer tips, i am Dasher and noticed this when I requested customer to verify the tip amount when i delivered the order. Customer said she gave 10$ in just tips but DoorDash gave me only 7.60$ for the whole order which includes Basepay + Peakpay+ Tip. I called DoorDash support to ask for explanation they put me on hold for more than 1 hour and i got disconnected eventually.

On the same day Me and my brother were doing dash in a single car and noticed the order that pops up on my phone has 10$ and when I don't accept the order the same order pops up on my brother's phone for 7$. We were both in same car, same distance to the restaurant, same traffic conditions, same weather conditions, same time to reach restaurant, same promotion....... Then how come order values change from one Dasher to another! My brother called DoorDash customer service, the guy has no answer so he was saying all kind of stupid answers to avoid conversation to go in that direction.

I requeste all Dasher to verify your tip amount with the customer and ask DoorDash to provide breakdown of the order values so you guys know how much is the tip, basepay and promotion. you guys will be surprised to see how much DoorDash is stealing from hardworking Dasher and customers who pay fairly to Dasher.

I also request customer to pay tips in cash....in hand to Dasher so nobody is manipulating the money in transaction. Customers can write the notes while placing an order, how much tip they are willing to pay honesty so Dasher will read the order and can decide weather it's worth for them to drive or not...for customers, they don't have to worry about their order because the Dashers close to the restaurant might have shorter distances from his location to yours so you'll get your order on time anyways.

Warren Murphy on December 13, 2019:

Straight crooks!!!

Marlene Bond on November 21, 2019:

Never using DoorDash again. I was home sick, which is the only reason I chose to order DoorDash delivery from a restaurant only a mile away. The order never arrived and the driver never answered his phone or texts. There is virtually NO customer service online or otherwise. They refer you to a FAQ page and nothing fits the actual situation. It's BS and now I'm out the $25 for an order I didn't receive. That may not sound like a lot, but I'm not in the habit of paying for items I don't receive, nor appreciating it either. So I will be on every single review site that's out there and let everyone know...order at your own risk. If Guadalupe doesn't get your order to your door, well that's just too bad. You're screwed!

Kurt on November 15, 2019:

Terrible. Someone took my card information and stole 764 dollars from my account.

Paulette on November 01, 2019:

My nieghbor ordered food we live in apartment building instead of delivering to apartment left food by mailboxes i. Found it and went to 3 apartments til i found the right one if anyone else would of seen it who knows what would of happened to it .

Joanne barron on October 31, 2019:

Took two hours to get my order then the driver said his app told him to deliver

at 932 mine said 736 what a lier I ended up making dinner myself because it was so late. I wish I would have seen all these bad reviews before I tried this. Horrible company I predict they will be out of business soon

Virginia on October 31, 2019:

I used Door Dash for the first time. Delivery was timely and driver very personable. However I ordered salad with chicken and only received the salad. I called the restaurant and they said to call DoorDash. After being on hold for 30 min I talked with a rep who said I could get credit or the rest of my order. Dinner time was over so I took the credit. My daughter drove for DoorDash and said driver is supposed to check that the order is complete. Next time I will pick up my own order.

Vickie on October 27, 2019:

My friends, my family, and myself are no longer using the service due to the consistent, perpetuel bad service. We are not going to be recommending that anyone use this service.

Vanessa on October 20, 2019:

Don’t use this app, drivers don’t care and will take an hour to get your food delivered, If you try to cancel a $45.00 order they won’t give you a refund because the driver “it’s already on the way” although when you track it, you see the driver Is not moving from a totally opposite location. When they finally deliver the food it will be all cold or if you order iced drinks they will be melted. Then when you call to complaint, the “customer service” reps promise to give you a partial credit but end up giving you only a third of what they promised. Don’t waste your money, you will be angry, is not worth it, this company sucks big time.

arthur f coffey on October 08, 2019:

never used DoorDash, i was curious about one thing, am i suppose to tip the driver or is all this done on the websight?

Sabina McAleer on October 08, 2019:

DoorDash Stole $44.58 from me. I placed an order then cancel immediately and they said I waited to long and they Are Not going

to give me my money back. Like a lot people Iam on a tight budget

and to throw away $44.58 really really upsets me.

Screw You DoorDash

Kathleen on September 18, 2019:

WARNING: Be careful ordering through their app or you could get stuck paying for something you never received. My app was set to "Pick Up" orders instead of "Delivery," which I didn't realize when I placed an order (I have never used DoorDash for pick up). I realized my mistake immediately and canceled the order through the app. Then, I placed a duplicate order for "Delivery." When I was tracking my delivery, I noticed that the "Pick Up" order was still active. The only option that order had at that point was to call the restaurant, which I did. I called them to make sure that the "Pick Up" order was canceled and that the "Delivery" order was replaced with it. However, I was still charged for the "Pick Up" order. DoorDash says they can't refund me because a restaurant can't cancel an order. But, I canceled it on the app first and when that didn't work, I immediately performed the second option I was given (calling the restaurant). Through three different interactions with DoorDash customer service, they still won't refund my money for a meal I never received, that they never had to pay a driver for and that the restaurant never had to make. Be careful. They do not care about their customers.

Rich on September 03, 2019:

DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY! Our last order from Buffalo Wild Wings was short 2 wings. Disgusting. The drivers eat your food and god knows what else. We personally spoke with BWW and they tried to contact doordash but were on hold for over half an hour. No one is there to be held accountable. This company is a not only a joke but dangerous to your health. Not to mention the prior order when the driver never delivered and we lost our money. There are way too many reasons to not use this company, from non screening of drivers, to not knowing what they do with your food, or the fact they can just steal your money. Consumers, DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY, and businesses...DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY! Its a poor reflection on your business!

Donna on August 26, 2019:

I tried Door Dash a few times and out of 4 purchased 3 were incorrect even though I was given a receipt that listed exactly what I ordered. One time we ordered Chicken Burritos and got Beef which was inedible since I don't eat grizzle thus my ordering chicken, another time no drinks were delivered so we went online and complained to door dash and they said we would have a credit but that is crap because why would I order again after all the issues I have had. Today I noticed a charge on my credit card and when I called I was told it was a subscription charge for 9.99 a month which was never approved so they think that people will not notice and then they can steal your hard earned dollars. Also they mark up all the items and then charge you a delivery fee etc. when other delivery services charge you the delivery and do not act like they are changing you regular prices when they add money to each item and I am not speaking about a little money it adds at least 15% or so to your order ....I would advise that you never use this company.

Katy Medium (author) from Denver, CO on August 05, 2019:

Hi Kelly, thanks for the info! The drivers don't see a customer's payment info but DoorDash does handle it directly. It's good you made that distinction.

I updated the article to remove the statement that drivers actually place the order.

Kelly on August 04, 2019:

Hey i used to deliver for door dash and i just want you to know you have some info wrong. Dashers can not see your credit card info. We are mailed what is called a red card which gets filled with moneh only with the amount of your order and only when there is an order. We also dont place the order. We are given the location and we pay with the red card and deliver it to the customer.

Jennifer on July 31, 2019:

HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE

I ordered from DoorDash after a long day at work and forgot to turn my ringer back on my cell phone. I missed the delivery person’s call and unfortunately the directory to my condo unit is attached to my cell#. When I discovered my error I tried several times to call the driver back but he refused to answer my call. I paid $64 for my food, tip and tax. So, basically my food was stolen and I’m out of $64. I tried to get a human on the phone at DoorDash but there is no way to talk to anyone to complain or have your problem resolved. I will never order from them again and with the reports about these delivery services recently in the news I may not use the other companies the have this type of service.

Margaret Sharp on July 18, 2019:

abysmal customer service, did not deliver order, marked as delivered. customer service gave excuses and platitudes.

Nick on April 30, 2019:

A DoorDash driver hit my vehicle that was parked in the street. DoorDash has been unresponsive to the incident and has not taken any initiative to fix the damage. Phone calls to their customer service is just like communicating with a low level education toddler. All of these driving delivery service mobile applications are one big joke with no direction except unprofessional service. Shame on you with lots to learn. I will eat the $1091 damages to my vehicle because I have wasted much of my valuable time attempting to get one thing accomplished with you amateurs.

Martin on April 26, 2019:

Worst ordering/delivery service ever! 90% of orders are wrong. At first, it looks okay because you can automatically get credits when you report issues. Then they start saying it has to be reviewed. IF you hear from customer service, they say, “we are unable to issue credits due to your account history.” The first time this happened I had received a completely wrong order. Only 1 item matched my order. They don’t care. I ordered about 10 times total because I had some credits or they were offering free delivery.

After referring a friend and neither of us receiving any credits after several orders (it was supposed to be $20 each), I complained again. At first, they just told me where I could find the referrals in my account. I kept retelling them what the issue was and that neither of us had received credits. Then they said the referral’s first order wasn’t over $10. I told them it didn’t state anywhere that the 1st order had to be over $10. Just that the credits would be issued after an order of $10 or more. After more back and forth, they said one of us had violated their terms. No explanation. I asked what was violated. No response.

I’m done with these cheats and scammers. Stay far away! They don’t give a crap about customers. Use ANY other service!

Katy Medium (author) from Denver, CO on February 28, 2019:

Great Liza! Let us know how it turns out for you :)

Liza from USA on February 28, 2019:

Hi Katy, thanks for your review on DoorDash. I was thinking to use their service for food delivery around my house. I think DoorDash will be a great alternative.