Mirage Casino Buffet Review in Las Vegas

Updated on March 18, 2016
wilderness profile image

A longtime camper, Dan has experience with tents, pop-up trailers, camp trailers, and motorhomes. He has also done repairs on all of these.

The Mirage casino houses the Cravings Buffet, being reviewed here.
The Mirage casino houses the Cravings Buffet, being reviewed here. | Source

Las Vegas Buffets

Las Vegas is known almost as much for its buffet restaurants as it is for its casinos and when my wife and I bought a motorhome online in Phoenix we came home to Idaho via Las Vegas. That meant we had to sample at least a couple of these restaurants.

Our first choice was the buffet at Circus Circus, where we did not have a particularly enjoyable meal. On our last evening in town we decided to try the buffet at the Mirage, which came recommended to us.

We arrived at the casino just before the volcano display outside and stopped for a few minutes to watch as it exploded once more, then went inside to see what the fuss was about with the buffet. Here, then, are our observations and experience at the Mirage buffet in Las Vegas.

A
Mirage Casino las Vegas:
Mirage Hotel & Casino, Las Vegas, NV 89109, USA

get directions

Mirage Casino

Cravings, the Mirage Casino Buffet

Entering the Mirage casino we were rather lost, but overhead signs provided the path to Cravings. The entrance is attractive, hinting at what is to be found inside. Our visit was at about 6 PM on a Saturday evening, and we expected a rather long line to get in but were pleasantly surprised when we were seated immediately.

Service was impeccable with a friendly and congenial waiter that promptly showed up to take our drink order and returned immediately every time plates were empty. Our first stop was the salad bar, which we found to be well stocked with a good variety fresh foods.

After the salad I headed for the seafood section, but was quite disappointed there. Not that it was empty or that what was being offered wasn't good, but it was not the main course I wanted. Both shrimp and split crab legs were pleasingly displayed, but on ice. Several types of baby shrimp were also available in small cups with different sauces - again quite good but on ice. There was no hot seafood to be found.

Continuing through several more sections of dishes (Chinese, Mexican, American, etc.). I found the "carving" area and accepted a piece of prime rib along with an assortment of vegetables. All were very good, with the meat done to perfection.

Between the two of us we sampled nearly everything on the menu but the extensive sushi bar - neither of us are fond of that dish. Everything we tried was well prepared and served and we had no real complaints anywhere.

My wife was very happy with what was offered, but I was less so. To me most of the dishes fit more into the category of hors d'oeuvres rather than main dishes. Although what was available was very good to excellent I found the choices not to my liking.

Click thumbnail to view full-size
The entrance to the Cravings buffet in the Mirage casino
The entrance to the Cravings buffet in the Mirage casino
The entrance to the Cravings buffet in the Mirage casino | Source
Source
Source
Source

Conclusions of the Mirage Buffet

As we left there was a difference of opinion between my wife and I. We both enjoyed the atmosphere and found the service excellent. The décor and the food presentation were better than most buffets we have visited, and the food was near top of the line. Cost, at a little over $30, was on the high side for a buffet without an exceptional menu (think lobster or an equivalent here) but acceptable. Our zero wait time to be seated was a welcome change from many restaurants. The room, even though ¾ filled with patrons was quiet and we did not have to raise our voices to be heard; the Mirage is to be complimented there.

Our only disagreement was in the choice of foods being offered; while my wife was quite happy I was less so. No that there wasn't a wide variety (there was), not that there weren't foods of many different styles (there was); it was simply that there weren't a great number of dishes that I truly enjoy. The food was very well prepared and I had no problems with that, it just wasn't to my taste in too many cases. Others, like my wife, are likely to be quite happy there. Recognizing that tastes for particular dishes will vary from person to person I give the Mirage buffet in Las Vegas a rating of 4 out of 5 stars.

We left the Mirage buffet quite satisfied with the experience.
We left the Mirage buffet quite satisfied with the experience. | Source

Questions & Answers

    © 2012 Dan Harmon

    Comments

      0 of 8192 characters used
      Post Comment

      • profile image

        itsMrDee 

        2 years ago

        I have been to Cravings a couple of times, drinks are self serve. You must have been somewhere else...

      • bingo spelpunt profile image

        Tim 

        3 years ago from Netherlands

        looks like a really enjoyable place :D

      • wilderness profile imageAUTHOR

        Dan Harmon 

        5 years ago from Boise, Idaho

        Donna, we're not gamblers either. As we walked through the casino to our camper for the last time I had a few coins in my pocket and told my wife I was going to put them into the slots. Couldn't find a machine that accepted coins, though, so we left without gambling even a single nickel!

        We went for the sights and spectacle of it, just as you say, and enjoyed our visit from that standpoint. There's far more to Vegas than just the gambling. Buffet's, for example!

      • Donna Huebsch profile image

        Donna Fairley Huebsch 

        5 years ago from Clearwater, Florida

        Enjoyed reading your review - very well written! I've never been to Las Vegas; we aren't big gamblers (strictly nickel slots for us!), but I'd like to go for the sheer spectacle of it.

      • wilderness profile imageAUTHOR

        Dan Harmon 

        5 years ago from Boise, Idaho

        Wouldn't it be nice if those free buffets were still there? I suppose the casinos lost out on a major money maker and finally decided that giving away meals just wasn't in their best interest.

      • profile image

        Southernmapart 

        5 years ago

        Reading this Hub, I recall memories of the days when all the major casinos had enormous, excellent FREE buffets. Things change. It cost a lot to bring all that water to the desert for fountains and swimming pools.

      • wilderness profile imageAUTHOR

        Dan Harmon 

        5 years ago from Boise, Idaho

        I hope you enjoy it as much as my wife did. It really was nice, just not to taste in most of the dishes. Can't have it all, I guess, and variety is what makes the world go 'round.

      • eHealer profile image

        Deborah 

        5 years ago from Las Vegas

        Hey wilderness, I live in Las Vegas, I don't gamble and haven't been to the mirage for the past 5 years! Thanks for the reminder of the buffet and I am going there tonight. My husband also loved your hub! We are RV'ers also. Thanks and voted up!

      working

      This website uses cookies

      As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, delishably.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

      For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://delishably.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

      Show Details
      Necessary
      HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
      LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
      Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
      AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
      HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
      HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
      Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
      CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
      Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
      Features
      Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
      Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
      Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
      Marketing
      Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
      Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
      Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
      Statistics
      Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
      ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
      Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)