Review of Grecos in Kingston, Ontario

Updated on May 3, 2018
Simon Lam profile image

Simon's background is in biomedical and health science. He also writes about fashion, nature, and photography.

Not Completely Impressed

Grecos opened its doors in 1992. Since then it has become a popular downtown Greek eatery famous for its lamb, Saganaki, and souvlaki. Their atmosphere is bright and comfortable, with a white, green and wooden brown colour scheme. The white table clothes add a touch of class as do the wine glasses. I visited Grecos in April 2018 with a small group of friends. I decided to order something I hadn't tried. It was the moussaka. This is a dish with alternate layers of potatoes, eggplant and ground beef topped with béchamel sauce. It was served with salad, rice and potatoes. The salad was the only part of the dish that I liked. The rice was just mediocre. The potatoes were a bit too sour for me. And the moussaka was just plain to me. I wasn't impressed with my order. My friends enjoyed their meals. Unfortunately, I didn't. I think I will order the Shish Kebab next time. Their service, however, was great, very attentive and efficient. Their washrooms are nice, clean and well stocked. Unfortunately, there was no data for their health inspection, so I didn't know how they did. Overall, the moussaka was a miss. I would recommend Grecos but not the moussaka.

Inside Grecos

Dining Space Inside Grecos
Dining Space Inside Grecos | Source

A Bit of History

Gus Kofinis and his son, Jimmy, operate Grecos on Princess in Kingston, Ontario. Grecos was established in 1992. Before Grecos, the Kofinis family ran Costello's, a road house-style restaurant. Going back even further to the very beginning in 1974, the family owned The Tropicana, which was a short-order establishment.

Grecos has become a popular spot for Greek food. They are known for their lamb and souvlaki.

The Atmosphere

Grecos is a medium sized restaurant with an oblong configuration. Their walls are white, with wooden trim and dark hunter green accents. Beautiful photos of Greece also decorate the walls. Tables are covered with elegant white table cloths that nicely contrast with the darker brown wooden chairs. The settings are quite formal with wine glasses. There is ample lighting coming from pendant fixtures and sconces along the walls.

Overall, the space is inviting and comfortable.

The Food

I was with a small group of friends when we visited Grecos in April 2018. There were six of us all together. Some of us ordered souvlaki, others ordered Shish Kebab. I decided to try something new and ordered the moussaka. This popular Greek dish has alternate layers of potato, eggplant, and ground beef, topped with béchamel (white sauce). It is served with salad, rice and potatoes.

The Moussaka

Moussaka Served With Salad, Rice and Potatoes
Moussaka Served With Salad, Rice and Potatoes | Source

The Taste

I tried the salad component of my dish first. It had romaine lettuce, tomatoes, red cabbage and red onions topped with a creamy dressing, which I didn't know the name of. I thought the salad was quite good. The potatoes were a bit too sour for me. I assume they marinated it with lemon or vinegar. The rice was not too bad, but not too exciting either. The moussaka was, for me, disappointing. I didn't enjoy the flavours. The béchamel sauce, which should have added a punch, seemed lost in the dish. There were also too many potatoes and not enough beef.

My friends seemed to enjoy their food. I just didn't enjoy mine as much. I think I will order something different the next time I'm here.

The Service

There were in total only two waiters in the whole restaurant. It was also very busy, however, the waiters did a good job of staying on top of things. Except for two brief interruptions, when the waiter had to go and flame the Saganaki at another table, our waiter was quite attentive. We were served bread and butter as we waited for our food. The food was brought out fairly quickly. We didn't have to wait too long.

Overall, the waiter was friendly, attentive and efficient.

The Washroom

The state of a restaurant's washroom is an indication of their cleanliness and attention to detail. I checked out Grecos washroom during my visit. I was pleased with what I saw. Their washroom was clean and well stocked. The appearance was also very good--it didn't look run down. I give their washroom a pass!

Grecos' Washroom

Washrooms Were Clean and Well-Stocked
Washrooms Were Clean and Well-Stocked | Source

Inspection Results

The Public Health Unit of Kingston has a website where they post health inspection results of food facilities. I went on there to see how Grecos did on their last inspection. The website states that Grecos' last inspection was on December 12, 2017. However, no details of the results were shown. This means I have no idea how they did.

Questions & Answers

    Comments

      0 of 8192 characters used
      Post Comment

      • Simon Lam profile imageAUTHOR

        Simon Lam 

        7 months ago

        Hi gs!

        Thank you for your comment! Yes, the moussaka was a let down. Perhaps they have a new chef. Anyways, Grecos is still a very popular place for Greek food. I think I will try the Shish Kebab next time!

        Take care!

      • profile image

        gs 

        7 months ago

        Hello Simon

        I read your review of Greco's restaurant. For the most part I would agree with your assessment of the food. I had the Moussaka too. The Mousaka didn't taste as good as when I first had it about 15 years ago. The cheese on top did not look appealing. I found the salad, potatoes and rice was above average. I would recommend Greco's to all your readers.

      • Simon Lam profile imageAUTHOR

        Simon Lam 

        7 months ago

        Hi Mary!

        Thank you for checking out my review! You should come to Kingston for a visit this summer. You'll see many different ethnic restaurants from Greek to Indian to Vietnamese.

        Take care!

      • aesta1 profile image

        Mary Norton 

        7 months ago from Ontario, Canada

        Interesting review. We used to go to Kingston but we have not been there for awhile. I think it is good to have several ethnic restaurants in a city.

      working

      This website uses cookies

      As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, delishably.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

      For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://delishably.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

      Show Details
      Necessary
      HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
      LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
      Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
      AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
      HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
      HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
      Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
      CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
      Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
      Features
      Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
      Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
      Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
      Marketing
      Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
      Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
      Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
      Statistics
      Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
      ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
      Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)