Review of Pat's Restaurant in Kingston, Ontario

Updated on August 31, 2018
Simon Lam profile image

Simon Lam loves eating, especially really delicious food. Although he isn't a chef, he sure knows what good food tastes like.

Interior

Pat's Dining Room
Pat's Dining Room | Source

Best Vermicelli and Spring Roll in Kingston

Pat's Restaurant has been in Kingston since 2009, first on Division and now on Princess Street. It has become one of the more popular Cambodian/Thai restaurants in the city.

The restaurant itself is filled with bright natural light coming in from their large windows. They have great photography on display. The restaurant, however, lacks a sense of cohesion in terms of their interior design, as some of their table and chairs don't match.

My friends and I visited Pat's in late August. I ordered the vermicelli with spring rolls. It came with a spring roll, grilled pork loin, and shrimp, and it was served with vegetables, peanuts, and fish sauce. The grilled pork was my least favourite component of the dish; it was a bit burned and tangy for me. However, the shrimp was wonderful. The best part of the dish were the spring rolls. They were done to perfection: crispy, warm, and peppery with a great umami flavour. Taken together, it is the best vermicelli with spring rolls in Kingston!

In terms of service, I thought our server was pleasant, friendly, and efficient. The washroom was a pleasant surprise as it was quite roomy, nicely done, clean, and well stocked. Regarding their health record, they were last inspected in June 2018, and they passed their inspection with no violation.

Overall, I would recommend Pat's restaurant for their scrumptious food.

A Bit of History

Sophat Vann and his son Saveth own Pat's Restaurant on Princess Street. It is named after Sophat's nickname "Pat." They first opened the restaurant in 2009, which was located then on Division. They moved to their current location near downtown in 2013. Pat is well known in Kingston for his Cambodian/Thai cuisine. He has started up a total of five restaurants (Wok-In, Cambodian Village in 1995, Royal Angkor in 1996, Phnom Penh in 2000, and Cambodiana in 2003) and then selling them before this one. Pat's Restaurant has become a local favourite winning a silver medal in the 2017 Kingston This Week's Reader Choice Thai Restaurant category.

Atmosphere

What I love about Pat's Restaurant is the abundance of natural sunlight that comes in from the large windows in the front. It really brightens and illuminates the interior. What I'm not a fan of is their choice of lighting, which is fluorescent light that you would expect in an office space, not a restaurant.

Their walls are in a warm light yellow, tan hue, populated by beautiful photographs of Cambodia. Wood panels decorate the lower half of the walls. Some of the tables are covered with red table cloths, others are bare. Some of these tables have individual brown wooden chairs, whereas others have chairs attached to the floor with green leather-like covering. This creates a mismatch of design elements and appears inconsistent.

Although they lack a cohesive design theme, their dinning space is bright, and roomy.

Lots of Natural Light

Big Windows
Big Windows | Source

The Food

My friends and I visited Pat's in late August. There was a table for the five of us at the back of the restaurant. We were given water and menus when we were seated. Their menu includes appetizers like spring rolls, soups and a variety of entrees. They have many rice and noodle dishes as well as vegetarian options too.

I ordered the number four: vermicelli with spring rolls for $12.95. This rice noodle dish is served with grilled pork loin and shrimp with a spring roll, fresh vegetables, peanuts and fish sauce.

Menu

Dishes
Dishes | Source

Vermicelli with Spring Rolls

I remember getting this exact dish at their other restaurant and really enjoyed it. If you have been following me, you would know this is one of my favourite South East Asian dishes.

The first thing I did when I got my order was to drizzle fish sauce over my dish. The grilled pork was slightly burned, and had that charcoal, smoky flavour. It wasn't the best part of the dish, a bit tangy for me. The shrimps were nicely done though. The noodles were also quite good and soaked up the flavour of the fish sauce. The vegetables, which included iceberg lettuce, cucumber, bean sprouts and prinkled carrots were all right. There was also Thai basil, which added a nice touch of freshness. I thought the star of the dish was the spring roll. They were perfectly done, crispy, warm and peppery and had a great umami flavour. By far, Pat's makes the best version of this dish in all of Kingston. I really enjoyed it!

Number 4

Vermicelli with Spring Roll
Vermicelli with Spring Roll | Source

The Service

I believe our server is one of Sophat's sons. He got us water when we were seated, gave us lots of time to look at the menu, and served our food quite promptly. He was very pleasant, friendly, and efficient.

The Washroom

The state of a restaurant's washroom is an indication of the cleanliness and upkeep of the whole establishment. I visited Pat's washroom and was completely surprised. It was spacious, bright, and very pleasing. They had a beautiful large mirror that made the washroom look more refined. Overall, I thought it was very clean, and well stocked.

Washroom

Washroom
Washroom | Source

Health Inspection

The local Public Health Unit does regular health inspection of food facilities in Kingston and posts their results online. I checked to see how Pat's Restaurant did in their last inspection. They were last inspected on June 26, 2018. I'm happy to report there was no violations and they passed their inspection.

Questions & Answers

    Comments

      0 of 8192 characters used
      Post Comment

      • Simon Lam profile imageAUTHOR

        Simon Lam 

        4 months ago

        Hi Peggy!

        Thanks for your comment! Yes, the food was really tasty! I totally agree. A clean washroom often indicates a clean place overall!

        Take care!

      • Simon Lam profile imageAUTHOR

        Simon Lam 

        4 months ago

        Hi Mary!

        Yes, it's worth the drive to enjoy the spring rolls! Thanks for your kind words! I hope you can visit this restaurant and taste its delicious food some day!

        Take care!

      • Peggy W profile image

        Peggy Woods 

        4 months ago from Houston, Texas

        Thanks for your review of this restaurant. Just looking at the food makes me hungry! If a restaurant's restroom is nice and clean that usually translates into a clean place overall which is a good sign.

      • aesta1 profile image

        Mary Norton 

        4 months ago from Ontario, Canada

        Oh, a drive to Kingston just for that crispy Cambodian spring roll might just be worth it. I love the vermicelli as well. I like Cambodian dishes as they're not as sweet. You've done a very good review of this restaurant.

      • Simon Lam profile imageAUTHOR

        Simon Lam 

        4 months ago

        Hi Louise!

        Thanks for your comment! Pat's is a really nice restaurant with really good food. I think you would enjoy it! I hope one day you can come and visit Pat's.

        Take care!

      • Coffeequeeen profile image

        Louise Powles 

        4 months ago from Norfolk, England

        This sounds like a very nice restaurant, and I love the look of the food. It looks lovely. Looks like they do a wide selection of food too. I'd like to visit this restaurant.

      working

      This website uses cookies

      As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, delishably.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

      For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://delishably.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

      Show Details
      Necessary
      HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
      LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
      Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
      AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
      HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
      HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
      Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
      CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
      Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
      Features
      Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
      Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
      Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
      Marketing
      Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
      Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
      Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
      Statistics
      Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
      ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
      Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)