An Honest Review of Misfits Market

Updated on August 23, 2019
LeahsKosherFix profile image

Leah is a follower of the 21 Day Fix. She works in mental health.

What Is Misfits Market?

Misfits Market is an online service that delivers organic produce directly to your door.

"Almost half of all produce harvested in the United States is never eaten. Fruits and vegetables go unpicked in fields or get thrown away at the store, simply because they don’t look good."

"Every box of Misfits produce you order benefits farmers, helps prevent food waste, and ultimately helps save our environment. Our rapidly expanding Philadelphia- and New Jersey-based operation rescues produce from regional farms and distributes it throughout the Northeast in three business days or less."

These are direct quotes from the Misfits Market website. When I signed up for this service, it sounded great. Organic produce delivered straight to my door, costing less than non-organic produce at my local supermarket, and it benefits local farmers? It sounded great! I wasn't really concerned about how the produce looked, it was all going to get cooked or eaten anyway.

I signed up for the "mischief box," which was 10-12 pounds of organic produce weekly. My first box arrived within two days of placing my order. I was super excited, and it was loaded with all kinds of stuff. I was expecting mostly veggies but was surprised to find a bunch of fruit as well (though I was a bit disappointed to see that the fruit was almost all red delicious apples, which I don't love).

The Ugly Side of Ugly Produce

After a few weeks of receiving similar boxes—lots of the same vegetables and a ton of red delicious apples, I started noticing the labels on the produce. The vast majority of it was grown in Mexico, which was shocking to me, since the website said the produce was grown on regional farms and supports local farmers to reduce food waste in America. I live in New York, so Mexico isn't exactly a neighboring state.

I understand that avocados may come from Mexico, but when I contacted customer service, the response I got was that "unless you want a box full of root vegetables, we have to source our produce from outside of the United States, especially in the winter." Okay, I guess, but the root vegetables in my box also came from Mexico (see photos below), and this was in May, which isn't considered winter in the Northern hemisphere.

It was also around this time that I started noticing that the produce in my boxes was also arriving badly bruised (to the point where it was inedible), rotting or actually rotten, or sprouting. I always have potatoes in the house, and I understand that organic produce may go bad quicker, but to have a box full of potatoes sprout and be mushy by the time they arrive or within days of arrival, to have carrots be soft and mushy on the day they arrive, and to have 3/4ths of the produce be inedible by the time it arrives on my doorstep seemed unacceptable to me, and like even more of a waste.

Grown in Mexico.
Grown in Mexico.
Grown in Mexico.
Grown in Mexico.

Allergen Issues

If you have an allergy to a specific type of produce, you may want to rethink a subscription to Misfits Market. When I explained that I have an allergy to a specific item, the response from customer service was:

"We will note your allergy in your account to restrict it from being packed into your box. Our team will make every effort to accommodate your allergy. However at this time we are not able to guarantee that this item or item(s) will never make it into one of your orders."

Of course, that specific item made it into nearly every one of my orders, and when I complained about it and the waste it was causing, their solution was to "give it to someone else." So they didn't see any issue with me paying for a subscription box that continually had items that they knew I was allergic to and couldn't use, and the best resolution they could come up to was to just give them to someone else. The whole basis for using Misfits Market was to save money, but I found myself throwing money into the garbage week after week.

A Terrible Box

Although the boxes came packed full of biodegradable packaging, the produce still arrived so bruised that it was mushy to the point of being unappealing and inedible, far past the point of being just ugly, as shown in the box above. The pears were so deeply bruised that they were just mush. The peppers and the zucchini were somehow sliced, which I don't think happened during the delivery process. The slicing couldn't have happened when I opened the box, since they were way at the bottom under layers of brown paper packaging, and they were so dried out I couldn't even use them to cook with. The leeks had actually been broken as well. I complained about this box, and received a replacement box which was actually worse than this one.

One of the Worst Boxes I've Received

In the photo above, you see the contents of the box on the day I received it. The green peppers arrived split open. The insides are dried out, and the peppers themselves were unusable. The purple item in the center was at some point a regular, orange carrot, but when I opened the box it was slimy, soft, and rotten. One half of the onion was dissolving. While I don't personally eat onions, my family always had them around when I was growing up and it took months for them to rot like this. The spaghetti squash was dried out and inedible when I cut it open, and the fruit was so overripe I couldn't eat it. I ended up having to use gloves to even touch this stuff to throw it out. The kale was on my list as an allergen, but they continued sending it to me every single week. The shishito peppers were in pretty good condition, although some were a little soft. I looked up recipes that told me they're supposed to be mild with an occasional hot one in the bunch—every single one was like eating a jalapeño.

The worst part is that this was the replacement box I received just days after complaining about the condition of a box I had received earlier in the week. I've worked in customer service in the past, and whenever a customer has complained, I've always made sure that any replacement has been perfect. This was the box that broke the camel's back and had me cancel my subscription.

Rotting potatoes
Rotting potatoes

Two Weeks' Worth of Potatoes

After cancelling my subscription, I had decided to make a dinner using potatoes. I knew I had plenty of potatoes, since each box always had plenty of potatoes included. When I looked at the two weeks' worth of potatoes I had, this is what I found. Every single one (some were received just three days earlier) was sprouting alarmingly, and many were so mushy they seemed to be dissolving. Once again I had to glove up to put these in the trash.

My Overall Opinion of Misfits Market

If you haven't tried Misfits Market, I'd strongly suggest that you don't. The quality was poor, and while the idea was good, they weren't able to put it into practice. If I wanted Mexican produce, I'd be able to go to my local supermarket and buy the kind that doesn't rot before it enters my house. Plus, the customer service at Misfits Market was atrocious. My request to speak to a manager was never returned.

If you'd like to support local, organically grown farms, I'd suggest that you find a farmers market in your area, or a CSA to support real local people. There are other ugly produce delivery programs available, but unfortunately, none of them are available in my area at the present time. I'd love to hear about your experience with them.

Questions & Answers

    © 2019 Leah

    Comments

      0 of 8192 characters used
      Post Comment
      • LeahsKosherFix profile imageAUTHOR

        Leah 

        7 days ago from New York

        I hope it stays that way for you! My first few boxes were okay, but then they got consistently worse. Note where the produce labels come from too - you’ll probably see that a lot of the regional produce that supports local farms is anything but. Good luck with it!

      • profile image

        Connetta Brown 

        7 days ago

        Just got my first box and I am happy with it

      • LeahsKosherFix profile imageAUTHOR

        Leah 

        12 days ago from New York

        The issue wasn't that the produce was from Mexico. I buy produce from Mexico all the time when I go to the supermarket. The issue was that when I signed up for Misfits Market, their website indicates that produce is obtained from regional farms in the Northeast. When a company clearly states that they are getting produce from local farmers, that is what they should be getting. Maybe that is why the produce was always rotting when it arrived.

        The potatoes weren't just soft to the texture of a citrus fruit. They were soft to the point where they were disintegrating within days of arrival. The produce that Misfits Market was providing to me was not edible in any way shape or form. Rather than providing produce that was helping to reduce food waste, they were basically selling me compost fodder.

      • profile image

        Stacy McDonald 

        13 days ago

        I don't see the problem with produce from Mexico because food waste is a global issue. And those potatoes can surprise you. When they sprout & get soft, it's all the water in them drying out which can give you a great texture. I mean, obviously you can't eat them if they're myshy & black. But if you let them get about as soft as maybe an orange or even a tangerine, they're delicious!!

      • LeahsKosherFix profile imageAUTHOR

        Leah 

        8 weeks ago from New York

        I’m in NY and consistently had these issues week after week for 6 months. I reached out to them every single week about this until I finally decided to stop wasting my time, energy, and money. I don’t think it was my location, especially since my boxes would come within 2 days of ordering. It was definitely more of a quality and customer service issue.

      • profile image

        mae 

        8 weeks ago

        So sorry to hear you had these issues. I've been extremely pleased with the quality and condition of my produce. My one "bad" box was due to a shipping issue. The water-logged, battered MM box had actually been placed inside a large plastic in a plain brown box with the original shipping label, that had been sliced from the original box, reattached to the new packaging. When I contacted Customer Service, I received a replacement box sent directly from the warehouse! I don't know where you live, but I live within 150 miles from the MM New Jersey warehouse. Could distance be part of the problem? As a side note, MM is currently testing customization of boxes. I was selected to participate and received my first custom box yesterday. I couldn't have been more pleased.

      • LeahsKosherFix profile imageAUTHOR

        Leah 

        8 weeks ago from New York

        Rochelle - it definitely seems like they might!

      • profile image

        RTalloni 

        8 weeks ago

        Thanks for this important review.

      • Rochelle Frank profile image

        Rochelle Frank 

        8 weeks ago from California Gold Country

        Sounds like you were very patient with them and reasonable with your complaints. It seems like a good idea, but I'm not inclined to try it.

        Do they go around raiding dumpsters to find their products?

      working

      This website uses cookies

      As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, delishably.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

      For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://delishably.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

      Show Details
      Necessary
      HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
      LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
      Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
      AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
      HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
      HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
      Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
      CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
      Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
      Features
      Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
      Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
      Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
      Marketing
      Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
      Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
      Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
      Statistics
      Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
      ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
      Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)
      ClickscoThis is a data management platform studying reader behavior (Privacy Policy)