An Honest Review of Misfits Market

Updated on December 21, 2019
LeahsKosherFix profile image

Leah is a follower of the 21-Day Fix. She works in mental health.

What Is Misfits Market?

Misfits Market is an online service that delivers organic produce directly to your door.

"Almost half of all produce harvested in the United States is never eaten. Fruits and vegetables go unpicked in fields or get thrown away at the store, simply because they don’t look good."

"Every box of Misfits produce you order benefits farmers, helps prevent food waste, and ultimately helps save our environment. Our rapidly expanding Philadelphia- and New Jersey-based operation rescues produce from regional farms and distributes it throughout the Northeast in three business days or less."

These are direct quotes from the Misfits Market website. When I signed up for this service, it sounded great. Organic produce delivered straight to my door, costing less than non-organic produce at my local supermarket, and it benefits local farmers? It sounded great! I wasn't really concerned about how the produce looked, it was all going to get cooked or eaten anyway.

I signed up for the "mischief box," which was 10-12 pounds of organic produce weekly. My first box arrived within two days of placing my order. I was super excited, and it was loaded with all kinds of stuff. I was expecting mostly veggies but was surprised to find a bunch of fruit as well (though I was a bit disappointed to see that the fruit was almost all red delicious apples, which I don't love).

The Ugly Side of Ugly Produce

After a few weeks of receiving similar boxes—lots of the same vegetables and a ton of red delicious apples, I started noticing the labels on the produce. The vast majority of it was grown in Mexico, which was shocking to me, since the website said the produce was grown on regional farms and supports local farmers to reduce food waste in America. I live in New York, so Mexico isn't exactly a neighboring state.

I understand that avocados may come from Mexico, but when I contacted customer service, the response I got was that "unless you want a box full of root vegetables, we have to source our produce from outside of the United States, especially in the winter." Okay, I guess, but the root vegetables in my box also came from Mexico (see photos below), and this was in May, which isn't considered winter in the Northern hemisphere.

It was also around this time that I started noticing that the produce in my boxes was also arriving badly bruised (to the point where it was inedible), rotting or actually rotten, or sprouting. I always have potatoes in the house, and I understand that organic produce may go bad quicker, but to have a box full of potatoes sprout and be mushy by the time they arrive or within days of arrival, to have carrots be soft and mushy on the day they arrive, and to have 3/4ths of the produce be inedible by the time it arrives on my doorstep seemed unacceptable to me. This seemed like even more of a waste.

Grown in Mexico.
Grown in Mexico.
Grown in Mexico.
Grown in Mexico.

Allergen Issues

If you have an allergy to a specific type of produce, you may want to rethink a subscription to Misfits Market. When I explained that I have an allergy to a specific item, the response from customer service was:

"We will note your allergy in your account to restrict it from being packed into your box. Our team will make every effort to accommodate your allergy. However at this time we are not able to guarantee that this item or item(s) will never make it into one of your orders."

Of course, that specific item made it into nearly every one of my orders, and when I complained about it and the waste it was causing, their solution was to "give it to someone else." So they didn't see any issue with me paying for a subscription box that continually had items that they knew I was allergic to and couldn't use, and the best resolution they could come up to was to just give them to someone else. The whole basis for using Misfits Market was to save money, but I found myself throwing money into the garbage week after week.

A Terrible Box

Although the boxes came packed full of biodegradable packaging, the produce still arrived so bruised that it was mushy to the point of being unappealing and inedible, far past the point of being just ugly, as shown in the box above. The pears were so deeply bruised that they were just mush. The peppers and the zucchini were somehow sliced, which I don't think happened during the delivery process. The slicing couldn't have happened when I opened the box, since they were way at the bottom under layers of brown paper packaging, and they were so dried out I couldn't even use them to cook with. The leeks had actually been broken as well. I complained about this box and received a replacement box which was actually worse than this one.

One of the Worst Boxes I've Received

In the photo above, you see the contents of the box on the day I received it. The green peppers arrived split open. The insides are dried out, and the peppers themselves were unusable. The purple item in the center was at some point a regular, orange carrot, but when I opened the box it was slimy, soft, and rotten. One half of the onion was dissolving. While I don't personally eat onions, my family always had them around when I was growing up and it took months for them to rot like this. The spaghetti squash was dried out and inedible when I cut it open, and the fruit was so overripe that I couldn't eat them. I ended up having to use gloves to even touch this stuff to throw it out. The kale was on my list as an allergen, but they continued sending it to me every single week. The shishito peppers were in pretty good condition, although some were a little soft. I looked up recipes that told me they're supposed to be mild with an occasional hot one in the bunch—every single one was like eating a jalapeño.

The worst part is that this was the replacement box I received just days after complaining about the condition of a box I had received earlier in the week. I've worked in customer service in the past, and whenever a customer has complained, I've always made sure that any replacement has been perfect. This was the box that broke the camel's back and had me cancel my subscription.

Rotting potatoes
Rotting potatoes

Two Weeks' Worth of Potatoes

After cancelling my subscription, I had decided to make a dinner using potatoes. I knew I had plenty of potatoes, since each box always had plenty of potatoes included. When I looked at the two weeks' worth of potatoes I had, this is what I found. Every single one (some were received just three days earlier) was sprouting alarmingly, and many were so mushy they seemed to be dissolving. Once again, I had to glove up to put these in the trash.

My Overall Opinion of Misfits Market

If you haven't tried Misfits Market, I'd strongly suggest that you don't. The quality was poor, and while the idea was good, they weren't able to put it into practice. If I wanted Mexican produce, I'd be able to go to my local supermarket and buy the kind that doesn't rot before it enters my house. Plus, the customer service at Misfits Market was atrocious. My request to speak to a manager was never returned.

If you'd like to support local, organically grown farms, I'd suggest that you find a farmers market in your area, or a CSA to support real local people. There are other ugly produce delivery programs available, but unfortunately, none of them are available in my area at the present time. I'd love to hear about your experience with them.

Questions & Answers

  • I would try Misfit Market, but think this review has changed my mind. Should I try it anyways?

    I can't stop you from trying it, but based on my experience, I wouldn't give them another shot. Based on the other comments, it seems like many people are still having the same problems that I did when I cancelled my service with them.

  • Have you tried delivery every two weeks for Misfits Market? I’ve been very pleased.

    I haven’t, because the quality of weekly boxes was so poor. I can’t see what would change if I had gone to every two weeks, and I refused to keep throwing money in the trash.

  • If most is coming from Mexico how can you make statements saying it’s local farmers? I’m not doing this now.

    Exactly. It certainly wasn’t coming from local farmers, and if I wanted produce from Mexico, I could easily purchase it from my supermarket in much better condition! Farmer’s markets are a better way to support local farmers.

  • I take issue with your "rotting potatoes" picture. They aren't rotting! Some of them are wrinkly and growing eyes. That is normal! Clearly, you didn't grow up around farming! Trim those eyes off and plunge the wrinkly ones in water. We keep them all winter long like that. Aren't rotting potatoes are stinky and wet?

    I don’t have any issue with potatoes that have a few eyes growing - I just cut those out. But when a potato is so soft that it’s slimy and disintegrating, I’d consider that rotting. I have never seen a potato do that before, and I don’t know of any ways to fix a potato that’s gotten to that point. I’ve never had these issues with any other potatoes, just the ones from Misfits Market. And no, I didn’t grow up on a farm. But I know rotting produce when I see it.

  • This “comment” seems more like an advertisement. Do you, the writer of this article, work for a Food Corporation or a Farming Co-op?

    It isn’t a comment or an ad. I don’t work in the food or farming industry at all, and I just wanted to share my own experience. If you don’t think vegetables that are cut up and dried out, or straight out rotting isn’t terrible, feel free to throw your money in the trash and use Misfits Market. I didn’t spend that much time on this article, but it’s just my own opinion of the products and the service.

© 2019 Leah

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment
    • LeahsKosherFix profile imageAUTHOR

      Leah 

      2 days ago from New York

      Experiences like ours seem to be far too common - amazing boxes at first, and then a dramatic decline in quality AND service. It's a shame because it could have been such a good idea.

    • profile image

      Knight 

      3 days ago

      I was very happy with Misfits for the first few weeks. I even excitedly sent pictures of the beautiful colorful contents of each box to my 4 sisters encouraging them to sign up. WOW, what a difference a few weeks can make. I have received completely unacceptable produce for the past three weeks. The first week I gave them the benefit of the doubt because of past good experiences. However, now it has been three weeks of garbage ... and "crickets" from customer service, despite multiple attempts on my part to reach them. There is no phone number, which I think is a little bit sketchy. You have to message them and hope for the best. After this last box of rotten, broken and/or old produce I have cancelled my subscription. Too bad, it sounded like a good way to support American farmers and avoid food waste. Not exactly avoiding waste if I have to throw it out when it gets here. Also, not supporting our farmers if it comes from Central America, not the United States!

    • profile image

      Heidi 

      6 days ago

      I had the same experience, I feel as if I paid to have their garbage shipped to me to throw away and after a week still no word from customer service.

    • LeahsKosherFix profile imageAUTHOR

      Leah 

      11 days ago from New York

      Patricia - I wish I had thought to weigh my boxes! Back when I was subscribed, the website actually did say “local farmers,” and nothing about “America’s.” But I’d think they could find some local produce in Florida for you I’m sorry you didn’t have a good experience, but at least you learned quicker than I did.

    • profile image

      Patricia O'Rourke 

      12 days ago

      Leah - I wish I had seen your review earlier - I too was excited about helping out the local farmers and getting organic produce, which I buy anyway, for a reduced price. I ordered the smaller box as a test and I am so unhappy it is ridiculous. My total weight was 10.09 (just made it there) and taking the prices from Walmart organic where I could and non if I couldn't and pricing out what I got and what it would have cost if I shopped Walmart $19.33 vs $22.00 +5.50 shipping, meaning I received no savings _ I paid more and the majority is from Mexico. Their cover page leads you to believe that they are working with U.S. farmers and grabbing what they can't sell - until you go to their sourcing page which then states "Americas" - shady, shady, shady. I have a group of us that are trying to buy and support American businesses and this was the test box -- needless to say - we will not be buying from them again. Best is, I'm in Florida and they shipped from NJ - with all the farms down here, thought I'd at least get something closer.

    • LeahsKosherFix profile imageAUTHOR

      Leah 

      2 weeks ago from New York

      Ruth - your experience was the complete opposite of mine. Even though I had a specific produce item listed as an allergy, it would be included in every single box, and would often be the only item that wasn't rotten. I didn't see the value in paying for a box of produce and having to give away the only item that was actually usable, and being told to see that as "saving money." But if it works for you ... more power to you!

    • LeahsKosherFix profile imageAUTHOR

      Leah 

      2 weeks ago from New York

      Diana - it seems like people either have very good or very bad experiences, and you’re so right! I’m sorry that you fall in the second group too.

    • profile image

      Diana 

      2 weeks ago

      I wanted to like Misfits. The first few boxes after I signed up in Feb were decent. Especially given the pandemic. Even if a few things were rotten I let it go. Even if the box was a couple days late, it's okay. But for the last 3 weeks in a row, they sent 10 lb, 11 lb and 12 lb boxes respectively for the "madness" size which is suppose to be a minimum of 18 lbs. Plus out of the 10-12 lbs received at least 2 lbs were truly rotten and not usable. Then the remaining 10 lbs is just about to rot. I emailed them as there is no phone number and hadn't heard back from them at all for 2 weeks. Posted on their Facebook community page asking for a response and all they do is now delete any post that reflects negatively on their company. Finally decided to file a dispute with my credit card company and bam. Misfits decides to refund me a partial refund of $10.50 for each box. So without add ons, that's about $45-10.50. About $34.50 for about 10 lbs tops of usable produce (not fresh, just barely usable and starting to rot). Most of the weight is from butternut squash acorn squash and potatoes. It's great that some people have good experiences, but it's true that not everyone has great experiences. The people having good experiences can't believe and almost think we people who have had experiences are lying. Like why would we be lying? If Misfits worked out that would've saved me time, money and protected my family. Trust me, I wanted it so badly to work out. It's a shame.

    • profile image

      Ruth Herman 

      2 weeks ago

      I’ve been very pleased overall. I’ve gotten responses within 3 days when I requested something. My boxes are worth the price -or more - consistently. I can’t eat cilantro or peppers, and I give them away. I use CSA farms in the summer- that’s June till October- but between times, I applaud Misfits. I have NEVER had one item that was inedible in any way. Thank you

    • LeahsKosherFix profile imageAUTHOR

      Leah 

      4 weeks ago from New York

      You should at least be able to dispute the charge with your credit card company. It sounds like all the issues they already had just got worse with the pandemic. Sorry you’re dealing with this.

    • profile image

      gail dingilian 

      4 weeks ago

      I have been waiting over a month for my first box which was due to arrive today. Upon checking the FEDEX tracking I saw that it hasn't even been picked up. I have been charged for not only that box but also the second box. Their customer service is nonexistent. If you try to email them they send you back an automated response with no help for your problem.

    • LeahsKosherFix profile imageAUTHOR

      Leah 

      4 weeks ago from New York

      Wow, I’m sorry you’re going through this! Waiting a month and getting charged for 2 boxes before getting anything sent is ridiculous.

    • profile image

      A-Sch 

      4 weeks ago

      I signed up for Misfits on 04/05/20 thinking this would be a good cause and a great service. I was charged right away for my weekly shipment, but then advised that I would not receive my first delivery before the end of April. I then patiently waited for my first delivery, all the while I was continuously pitched to buy into additional services. Finally, today, 01/05/20 - 4 weeks later - I was advised that my order had shipped with a chipper email. When I checked the tracking information, I found out that the package supposedly left the warehouse on 04/28, but the shipper never received it. Meanwhile, I will be charged for my second shipment.

      To sum it up: this company does not have its act together, or is a fraud. In any case, it would have taken 3 days for my order to be delivered and I'm not sure in what state my greens would have arrived? Not sure what to think, but I would not recommend this service and will cancel my account and ask for a full refund.

    • profile image

      Thriftyveganeats 

      4 weeks ago

      I had some broken zucchini and busted bell peppers, but I blamed the delivery. I also had onions and oranges rot in a couple of days of sitting out, but I didn’t think too much of it.

      But lately they are having serious issues with delivery - just check what people are saying on twitter. I complained a little too much and got referee to their “community guidelines” where they threatened to remove my twitter posts or ban me as a customer. I’d waited almost 2 weeks for my missing box I’d been charged for and wasn’t getting any real response from customer service (just auto-replies). They did refund me, but the damage is done and I’ve cancelled my account.

    • profile image

      Do not order from them vegetables will come roton 

      5 weeks ago

      This company is scam and selling rotten and molded veggies for high price

    • LeahsKosherFix profile imageAUTHOR

      Leah 

      5 weeks ago from New York

      How frustrating! I hope you get your money back.

    • profile image

      Poporila 

      5 weeks ago

      Signed up in early march.

      First box was pretty good, second one was ok.

      With everything going on I understand some sort of delay by a few days but I am about to get billed 3rd time and the billed first box in question still in processing, getting run around.

      I think they got greedy and bit more then they can chew.

      Will cancel and dispute with credit card.

    • LeahsKosherFix profile imageAUTHOR

      Leah 

      6 weeks ago from New York

      Sarah - I’m glad you’re learning your lesson faster than I did!

    • profile image

      Sarah 

      6 weeks ago

      I just got my first box today and I experienced everything you said above! I thought maybe with everything going on right now that is the reason this box looked like that. I emailed them over 2 weeks ago and still no response. Appears no one can ever get in contact with customer service. This will be my first and last box sadly.

    • profile image

      Lori 

      7 weeks ago

      My first 2 boxes were just OK. I thought I would upgrade to the larger 18-22lb box. Well, 2 days late, warm, banged up and broken, worm holes, cabbage browning veggies. Oh, my box weighed in, at just 14lbs. This is not acceptable. They threw in 2 bunches of kale on top for filler.

      I have tried the customer service 3 time. I just get a standardized letter. I've sent pictures of the produce. Well, I am giving them 24 hours to respond. I'm being generous. Buyer beware!! Sorry to say but.. I cannot recommend MM market.

    • LeahsKosherFix profile imageAUTHOR

      Leah 

      2 months ago from New York

      As I had mentioned earlier, when I was using this service, the website clearly stated “local farms,” but apparently has since changed it to state produce comes from across the Americas. Either way, I wouldn’t recommend MM to anyone.

    • profile image

      Frank B 

      2 months ago

      They are probably buying expired and/or damaged produce from supermarkets and reselling, that would explain the cuts on some of the produce, how quickly they rot or are already rotten, and the supermarket type stickers. They would not be lieing, as the produce probably originally came from farms, weather locally or "across the Americas" Just a guess.

    • LeahsKosherFix profile imageAUTHOR

      Leah 

      2 months ago from New York

      I guess their page has changed, because when I signed up it didn’t say across the Americas, but it specifically stated local farms. It was the only box that delivered in my area too - I just wish I hadn’t kept giving them chances to get better. Good luck!

    • profile image

      Cassandra 

      2 months ago

      Thanks for the info, they are the only ones available in my area, so going to give them a try anyway. Maybe they have improved. One thing to note, their sourcing says they gather from farms and partners...across the Americas. Technically speaking, Mexico is part of the Americas. So not entirely a lie but perhaps a bit misleading. Wish me luck :)

    • LeahsKosherFix profile imageAUTHOR

      Leah 

      2 months ago from New York

      Cynthia - let me know how Imperfect Foods is!

    • profile image

      Cynthia 

      3 months ago

      I thought I was the only one...first box, everything was completely rotten except for perhaps a wilted head of lettuce, which I was able to eat. It is hard to photograph how bad it was, but there was actual mold growing on half the produce...and I live in a city, certainly not far from distributors. I complained, and the second box was worse too - I also had carrots you could tie in knots and dissolving onions. I think I may have gotten the same batch of shishitos too, haha. Sorry you had this experience. I'm looking at trying Imperfect Foods this week to see if it's any better.

    • profile image

      Kevin Cash 

      3 months ago

      Thank you! I was about to sign up for misfit market. While online i stumbled on your site and thank goodness i did. You had a great review. After seeing your review misfit is out the door. Ill go back to the farmers market where i can see what I'm getting before I pay for it. P.S. you got a new subscriber too.

    • LeahsKosherFix profile imageAUTHOR

      Leah 

      4 months ago from New York

      I’m sorry you had the same experience as I did, Diana. At least my first few boxes weren’t rotten.

    • profile image

      Diana Lopatinsky 

      4 months ago

      So I got my 1st box very excited! I opn it and there are 2 gull bags of jalapeños what csn one do with so many jalapeños? 2 egg plants that were not just ugly But rotten. Few onions snd carrots few apples wich I am not sure are even organic and this was the big box? Don’t waist your money people. I support no waist of food and that’s why I bought this box but it’s a rip off

    • LeahsKosherFix profile imageAUTHOR

      Leah 

      5 months ago from New York

      I’d have to agree with you, John. Don’t hold your breath for a refund or a better box. Closing your account won’t stop them from contacting you all the time anyway. Even though I’ve had my account closed for quite some time and requested to be unsubscribed from all emails, they’ve continued to contact me monthly, often with deceptive emails about updating my preferences or I’ll receive a mystery box by Tuesday, etc.

    • profile image

      John sinclair 

      5 months ago

      Heard good things about it but it’s terrible got 1st box Christmas Eve not only sparse but vegetables weren’t even fresh contacted them they did nothing terrible company good riddance

    • LeahsKosherFix profile imageAUTHOR

      Leah 

      5 months ago from New York

      I hope it stays that good for you! Mine was that it got progressively worse until the entire box was unusable at the end, although initially only a few items were that way.

    • profile image

      Angi 

      5 months ago

      I’ve received 5 boxes so far. There have been a couple items I didn’t use and some items were over-ripe but overall I have been happy. I try new items that I’ve never used before. We get a great variety of fruits and veggies. Sorry you had a bad experience. My husband and I really enjoy it.

    • LeahsKosherFix profile imageAUTHOR

      Leah 

      5 months ago from New York

      It seems like I’m definitely not the only person who’s had these issues. My interactions with customer service were atrocious, and even though I cancelled service and unsubscribed from emails, I’m still getting at least one email a month from MM. I’ve reached out to customer service another 5-6 times and been ignored or hung up on every single time. It seems like their service is just as rotten as their produce was for me.

    • profile image

      Cissy 

      5 months ago

      Wow. I've been receiving Misfits boxes from the beginning and have had great boxes of veggies. When I reported the occasional problem their customer service team was so accommodating. I live in New England and come from an organic agricultural background and understand produce. This is a true conundrum.

    • LeahsKosherFix profile imageAUTHOR

      Leah 

      5 months ago from New York

      At the time, I was using it for 2-3 people and still couldn't use it, so don't feel too bad! It's kind of sad that a service that aims to reduce food waste just ends up creating waste. I'm not a huge fan of dill, but FYI - you can always freeze it. My mom always does that to use in chicken soup, but a little goes a long way.

    • profile image

      Stella Kim 

      5 months ago

      I tried Misfits for a month and had just unsubscribe from it today. I was unable to pick what I wanted in my box and ended up wasting so much food. They also expired so quick so it wasn't a good fit for a single person. The box was also filled up with things that weighs a lot but can't eat like dill. Who would eat that much of dill? They were clearly added just so that the box would weigh more. I'm pretty disappointed.

    • LeahsKosherFix profile imageAUTHOR

      Leah 

      5 months ago from New York

      Amber - you’re definitely not alone. I’m not surprised to hear that so many people had the same experience as we did.

    • profile image

      Amber 

      5 months ago

      I completely agree with this. My first box was wonderful; the produce was delicious, and an amazing variety. I am on my 4th, (and last) box and the quality of the produce just keeps getting less and less. Yesterday, when my box arrived there were three bunches of lettuce that were completely unusable, both carrots had to be thrown away because they were already mushy, and the majority of usable produce was several stalks of celery. I love the concept of Misfits, and I could care less what the produce looks like, (weird shapes, various sizes, etc...) but when they send produce that is rotten and unusable, it is not worth the cost. I'm done with Misfits.

    • LeahsKosherFix profile imageAUTHOR

      Leah 

      5 months ago from New York

      Shanada - I absolutely agree with you. I loved the idea, but it falls way short in practice. They should have been able to plan properly and provide the service and products they charge us for! I had so many issues with the boxes every single week, and they refused to refund my money. Just a couple of weeks ago, they actually tried to woo me back! I pointed out that their boxes were atrocious, and my repeated requests to speak to a manager or supervisor were ignored, so I wouldn’t be wasting any more money on their company.

    • profile image

      Shanada 

      5 months ago

      Backstory one me. I was a classically trained chef now I am a SAHM so the moment the box is delivered it in the house being unpacked. I meal plan our dinners and I thought it might be fun to have a "mystery box" of vegetable sides or even main dishes thrown into our menu.

      We also canceled our Misfits Market, today actually, after receiving two large boxes. The first box had split bell peppers a rotten cucumber, green chard that I had to cook practically the moment it came out of the box and 5 turnips that we all terribly bitter. I roasted one, pickled two and made turnip soup with the remaining two, all came out awful and was ultimately a waste of time, energy and money. The second box came with bruised pears, a brown green apple a rotted sweet potato and wilted lettuce at least it did not have turnips!

      I get that they are a growing company and need to work out the kinks of the business but they are doing it using our hard earned money. Besides rent/mortgage food is the most expensive bill we all have and I for one cannot afford to get food that we will not eat and get food that will be tossed out due to it being spoilt. I don't see this being around very long. Spending almost $40 on somethings I would never choose for us is a complete waste of money.

    • LeahsKosherFix profile imageAUTHOR

      Leah 

      6 months ago from New York

      They must have changed the website, because when I wrote this article and had been a subscriber, it said “the produce was grown on regional farms and supports local farmers to reduce food waste in America.” I would have liked the fruit, if I ever got anything other than red delicious apples. It was definitely a miss for me. Between the poor quality, lack of variety, and horrible customer service, I don’t regret cancelling service. I just wish I hadn’t given them so many chances to disappoint me.

    • profile image

      Catherine DiDesidero 

      6 months ago

      I've been using Misfits Market for months now and I have been very happy with them. I also live in the NYC area.

      Per their website : All of the produce in your weekly Misfits box is certified organic and non-GMO, sourced from hand-picked farms and partners in our region and across the Americas.

      I believe "partners" refers to supermarkets, from whom they also purchase any overstock of fruits and veggies. Either way, they are transparent regarding their sourcing

      And I've been happy for the fruit contained in the boxes, I know some people prefer all veggies.

      I'm sorry you had a bad experience. It seems that it's hit or miss.

    • LeahsKosherFix profile imageAUTHOR

      Leah 

      6 months ago from New York

      I’m sorry you had the same experience as I did. Hopefully their customer service has improved, and if you mention this, they’ll refund your money without a hassle!

    • profile image

      Cindy 

      6 months ago

      I so wish I would have seen your review before ordering from them. I received a box of split veggies and dried out corn on the cob. I ordered the big box, and 90% of the box was bruised, damaged, or mush. Thanks for your review. It was accurate in my case too.

    • LeahsKosherFix profile imageAUTHOR

      Leah 

      6 months ago from New York

      No problem!

    • profile image

      PWOLFINGER 

      6 months ago

      Thanks for taking the time to be thorough and include pictures. Dodged that bullet!!

    • LeahsKosherFix profile imageAUTHOR

      Leah 

      6 months ago from New York

      I definitely haven't had nearly as positive of an experience as you have. I found that I was just throwing money directly into the garbage by using Misfits Market.

    • profile image

      MM 

      6 months ago

      I've had nothing but fantastic experiences with Misfits Market. They're still growing and have a lot of kinks to work out as a new business, it won't be a perfect service, as no service ever is. I find way more pros than cons and highly recommend this. Being in NYC, it is a hassle to grocery shop, prices are high, and even more so for organic.

    • LeahsKosherFix profile imageAUTHOR

      Leah 

      7 months ago from New York

      Karen -

      No problem! That’s exactly why I wrote this!

    • profile image

      Karen 

      7 months ago

      Thank you so much for sharing your experience and sparing others from having this negative experience. The things you described are the very apprehensions I had about starting this service.

    • LeahsKosherFix profile imageAUTHOR

      Leah 

      7 months ago from New York

      My pleasure!

    • profile image

      Nikki 

      7 months ago

      Thank you for saving me from the mushy ugly produce!

    • LeahsKosherFix profile imageAUTHOR

      Leah 

      7 months ago from New York

      Olivia - I’m glad you got such a kick out of it!

    • profile image

      Olivia 

      7 months ago

      This is one of the funniest reviews I've ever read in my life. I laughed my ass off the entire time. Thank you for including all the photos, I'd wait to scroll down until I read the paragraph describing it, and truly, comedy gold. Thanks again.

    • LeahsKosherFix profile imageAUTHOR

      Leah 

      7 months ago from New York

      Andrea - maybe it does, but since they appear to be based in Philadelphia and New Jersey, both of which are only a few hours of where I live, I wouldn’t think it should have this much impact on the quality of the boxes I received. Where are you located?

    • profile image

      Andrea 

      7 months ago

      Wow. I have had the complete opposite experience. My boxes have all been treasure troves of great produce. I have had a few bruises and mushed in spots, but nothing I couldn't cut around. I wonder if location has an impact on the contents and condition.

      I have recommended Misfits to family, friends and co-workers.

      Unfortunate we cannot all have similar good experiences. LOVE LOVE LOVE Misfits Market!!!

    • LeahsKosherFix profile imageAUTHOR

      Leah 

      7 months ago from New York

      Claudia - my boxes never came late, they just had subpar produce. And the weird thing is, they wouldn’t refund more than a tiny percentage of the price. When I made a big enough fuss, they sent a replacement box that was worse than the box they were replacing, and that’s ultimately what led me to cancel.

      I would also be concerned about the goo in the packaging. It doesn’t seem like something that would be safe to just pour down the drain. I would always throw it out, but that seemed like it wasn’t the most ecologically sound option either.

      There was one box I got that had all plastic packaging that wasn’t biodegradable at all. When I contacted the company about it, I was told that they were working out some issues with suppliers. I really didn’t find the experience to be a satisfying one at all, and I’m glad to see that other produce delivery services are available in my area now. But I’m happy buying produce at my local farmers market and stores, where I can support local growers and trust that I’m getting fresh produce and good quality.

    • profile image

      Claudia 

      7 months ago

      I have had almost great boxes. If a box was inferior like the one that was delayed extra days on a UPS truck and then dropped on my step to sit in the sun, they refunded with no effort. HOWEVER, my worries are twofold: 1) products are coming from Mexico. But if they would be shipping to US anyway and then couldn't be sold, perhaps okay to *save 2) My big qualm...the trucking, and mostly the box packaging. Just got 4 cooler packs in mine. They say you can cut the plastic and pour the goo down the drain. Online opinions differ and say don't pour down the drain as it may cause problems. Even though the cornstarch insides of the packing [which is encased in plastic wrap] are said to be biodegradable- it is a hassle. Thinking about cancelling as I'm worried that the ungreen down side outweighs the *saving the produce from disposal* side. Bummed because I enjoy it a lot!

    • LeahsKosherFix profile imageAUTHOR

      Leah 

      7 months ago from New York

      I hope it stays that way for you! My first few boxes were okay, but then they got consistently worse. Note where the produce labels come from too - you’ll probably see that a lot of the regional produce that supports local farms is anything but. Good luck with it!

    • profile image

      Connetta Brown 

      7 months ago

      Just got my first box and I am happy with it

    • LeahsKosherFix profile imageAUTHOR

      Leah 

      7 months ago from New York

      The issue wasn't that the produce was from Mexico. I buy produce from Mexico all the time when I go to the supermarket. The issue was that when I signed up for Misfits Market, their website indicates that produce is obtained from regional farms in the Northeast. When a company clearly states that they are getting produce from local farmers, that is what they should be getting. Maybe that is why the produce was always rotting when it arrived.

      The potatoes weren't just soft to the texture of a citrus fruit. They were soft to the point where they were disintegrating within days of arrival. The produce that Misfits Market was providing to me was not edible in any way shape or form. Rather than providing produce that was helping to reduce food waste, they were basically selling me compost fodder.

    • profile image

      Stacy McDonald 

      7 months ago

      I don't see the problem with produce from Mexico because food waste is a global issue. And those potatoes can surprise you. When they sprout & get soft, it's all the water in them drying out which can give you a great texture. I mean, obviously you can't eat them if they're myshy & black. But if you let them get about as soft as maybe an orange or even a tangerine, they're delicious!!

    • LeahsKosherFix profile imageAUTHOR

      Leah 

      9 months ago from New York

      I’m in NY and consistently had these issues week after week for 6 months. I reached out to them every single week about this until I finally decided to stop wasting my time, energy, and money. I don’t think it was my location, especially since my boxes would come within 2 days of ordering. It was definitely more of a quality and customer service issue.

    • profile image

      mae 

      9 months ago

      So sorry to hear you had these issues. I've been extremely pleased with the quality and condition of my produce. My one "bad" box was due to a shipping issue. The water-logged, battered MM box had actually been placed inside a large plastic in a plain brown box with the original shipping label, that had been sliced from the original box, reattached to the new packaging. When I contacted Customer Service, I received a replacement box sent directly from the warehouse! I don't know where you live, but I live within 150 miles from the MM New Jersey warehouse. Could distance be part of the problem? As a side note, MM is currently testing customization of boxes. I was selected to participate and received my first custom box yesterday. I couldn't have been more pleased.

    • LeahsKosherFix profile imageAUTHOR

      Leah 

      9 months ago from New York

      Rochelle - it definitely seems like they might!

    • profile image

      RTalloni 

      9 months ago

      Thanks for this important review.

    • Rochelle Frank profile image

      Rochelle Frank 

      9 months ago from California Gold Country

      Sounds like you were very patient with them and reasonable with your complaints. It seems like a good idea, but I'm not inclined to try it.

      Do they go around raiding dumpsters to find their products?

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, delishably.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://maven.io/company/pages/privacy

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)
    ClickscoThis is a data management platform studying reader behavior (Privacy Policy)