An Honest Review of Misfits Market - Delishably - Food and Drink
Updated date:

An Honest Review of Misfits Market

Author:

Leah is a follower of the 21-Day Fix. She works in mental health.

What Is Misfits Market?

Misfits Market is an online service that delivers organic produce directly to your door.

"Almost half of all produce harvested in the United States is never eaten. Fruits and vegetables go unpicked in fields or get thrown away at the store, simply because they don’t look good."

"Every box of Misfits produce you order benefits farmers, helps prevent food waste, and ultimately helps save our environment. Our rapidly expanding Philadelphia- and New Jersey-based operation rescues produce from regional farms and distributes it throughout the Northeast in three business days or less."

These are direct quotes from the Misfits Market website. When I signed up for this service, it sounded great. Organic produce delivered straight to my door, costing less than non-organic produce at my local supermarket, and it benefits local farmers? It sounded great! I wasn't really concerned about how the produce looked, it was all going to get cooked or eaten anyway.

I signed up for the "mischief box," which was 10-12 pounds of organic produce weekly. My first box arrived within two days of placing my order. I was super excited, and it was loaded with all kinds of stuff. I was expecting mostly veggies but was surprised to find a bunch of fruit as well (though I was a bit disappointed to see that the fruit was almost all red delicious apples, which I don't love).

The Ugly Side of Ugly Produce

After a few weeks of receiving similar boxes—lots of the same vegetables and a ton of red delicious apples, I started noticing the labels on the produce. The vast majority of it was grown in Mexico, which was shocking to me, since the website said the produce was grown on regional farms and supports local farmers to reduce food waste in America. I live in New York, so Mexico isn't exactly a neighboring state.

I understand that avocados may come from Mexico, but when I contacted customer service, the response I got was that "unless you want a box full of root vegetables, we have to source our produce from outside of the United States, especially in the winter." Okay, I guess, but the root vegetables in my box also came from Mexico (see photos below), and this was in May, which isn't considered winter in the Northern hemisphere.

It was also around this time that I started noticing that the produce in my boxes was also arriving badly bruised (to the point where it was inedible), rotting or actually rotten, or sprouting. I always have potatoes in the house, and I understand that organic produce may go bad quicker, but to have a box full of potatoes sprout and be mushy by the time they arrive or within days of arrival, to have carrots be soft and mushy on the day they arrive, and to have 3/4ths of the produce be inedible by the time it arrives on my doorstep seemed unacceptable to me. This seemed like even more of a waste.

Grown in Mexico.

Grown in Mexico.

Grown in Mexico.

Grown in Mexico.

Allergen Issues

If you have an allergy to a specific type of produce, you may want to rethink a subscription to Misfits Market. When I explained that I have an allergy to a specific item, the response from customer service was:

"We will note your allergy in your account to restrict it from being packed into your box. Our team will make every effort to accommodate your allergy. However at this time we are not able to guarantee that this item or item(s) will never make it into one of your orders."

Of course, that specific item made it into nearly every one of my orders, and when I complained about it and the waste it was causing, their solution was to "give it to someone else." So they didn't see any issue with me paying for a subscription box that continually had items that they knew I was allergic to and couldn't use, and the best resolution they could come up to was to just give them to someone else. The whole basis for using Misfits Market was to save money, but I found myself throwing money into the garbage week after week.

honest-review-of-misfits-market

A Terrible Box

Although the boxes came packed full of biodegradable packaging, the produce still arrived so bruised that it was mushy to the point of being unappealing and inedible, far past the point of being just ugly, as shown in the box above. The pears were so deeply bruised that they were just mush. The peppers and the zucchini were somehow sliced, which I don't think happened during the delivery process. The slicing couldn't have happened when I opened the box, since they were way at the bottom under layers of brown paper packaging, and they were so dried out I couldn't even use them to cook with. The leeks had actually been broken as well. I complained about this box and received a replacement box which was actually worse than this one.

honest-review-of-misfits-market

One of the Worst Boxes I've Received

In the photo above, you see the contents of the box on the day I received it. The green peppers arrived split open. The insides are dried out, and the peppers themselves were unusable. The purple item in the center was at some point a regular, orange carrot, but when I opened the box it was slimy, soft, and rotten. One half of the onion was dissolving. While I don't personally eat onions, my family always had them around when I was growing up and it took months for them to rot like this. The spaghetti squash was dried out and inedible when I cut it open, and the fruit was so overripe that I couldn't eat them. I ended up having to use gloves to even touch this stuff to throw it out. The kale was on my list as an allergen, but they continued sending it to me every single week. The shishito peppers were in pretty good condition, although some were a little soft. I looked up recipes that told me they're supposed to be mild with an occasional hot one in the bunch—every single one was like eating a jalapeño.

The worst part is that this was the replacement box I received just days after complaining about the condition of a box I had received earlier in the week. I've worked in customer service in the past, and whenever a customer has complained, I've always made sure that any replacement has been perfect. This was the box that broke the camel's back and had me cancel my subscription.

Rotting potatoes

Rotting potatoes

Two Weeks' Worth of Potatoes

After cancelling my subscription, I had decided to make a dinner using potatoes. I knew I had plenty of potatoes, since each box always had plenty of potatoes included. When I looked at the two weeks' worth of potatoes I had, this is what I found. Every single one (some were received just three days earlier) was sprouting alarmingly, and many were so mushy they seemed to be dissolving. Once again, I had to glove up to put these in the trash.

My Overall Opinion of Misfits Market

If you haven't tried Misfits Market, I'd strongly suggest that you don't. The quality was poor, and while the idea was good, they weren't able to put it into practice. If I wanted Mexican produce, I'd be able to go to my local supermarket and buy the kind that doesn't rot before it enters my house. Plus, the customer service at Misfits Market was atrocious. My request to speak to a manager was never returned.

If you'd like to support local, organically grown farms, I'd suggest that you find a farmers market in your area, or a CSA to support real local people. There are other ugly produce delivery programs available, but unfortunately, none of them are available in my area at the present time. I'd love to hear about your experience with them.

Questions & Answers

Question: I would try Misfit Market, but think this review has changed my mind. Should I try it anyways?

Answer: I can't stop you from trying it, but based on my experience, I wouldn't give them another shot. Based on the other comments, it seems like many people are still having the same problems that I did when I cancelled my service with them.

Question: If most is coming from Mexico how can you make statements saying it’s local farmers? I’m not doing this now.

Answer: Exactly. It certainly wasn’t coming from local farmers, and if I wanted produce from Mexico, I could easily purchase it from my supermarket in much better condition! Farmer’s markets are a better way to support local farmers.

Question: This “comment” seems more like an advertisement. Do you, the writer of this article, work for a Food Corporation or a Farming Co-op?

Answer: It isn’t a comment or an ad. I don’t work in the food or farming industry at all, and I just wanted to share my own experience. If you don’t think vegetables that are cut up and dried out, or straight out rotting isn’t terrible, feel free to throw your money in the trash and use Misfits Market. I didn’t spend that much time on this article, but it’s just my own opinion of the products and the service.

Question: I take issue with your "rotting potatoes" picture. They aren't rotting! Some of them are wrinkly and growing eyes. That is normal! Clearly, you didn't grow up around farming! Trim those eyes off and plunge the wrinkly ones in water. We keep them all winter long like that. Aren't rotting potatoes are stinky and wet?

Answer: I don’t have any issue with potatoes that have a few eyes growing - I just cut those out. But when a potato is so soft that it’s slimy and disintegrating, I’d consider that rotting. I have never seen a potato do that before, and I don’t know of any ways to fix a potato that’s gotten to that point. I’ve never had these issues with any other potatoes, just the ones from Misfits Market. And no, I didn’t grow up on a farm. But I know rotting produce when I see it.

Question: I started a biweekly delivery from Misfits Market in February 2020. Much more produce per box, way more variety than you show. Only 1 bad item in 5 weeks. Why would our experiences with Misfits Market differ so greatly?

Answer: I don’t know. You seem to be having a very different experience than I had. Many other people have commented that service is being delayed and produce is even worse than it was before. I hope it stays good for you!

Question: Have you tried delivery every two weeks for Misfits Market? I’ve been very pleased.

Answer: I haven’t, because the quality of weekly boxes was so poor. I can’t see what would change if I had gone to every two weeks, and I refused to keep throwing money in the trash.

Question: Do you know that squash is not a root vegetable? Using those photos as examples of root vegetables grown in Mexico is a bit misleading, don't you think?

Answer: I do know that squash aren’t root vegetables, and I don’t think it’s misleading if you read the article. The photos are intended to show that it isn’t just root vegetables coming from Mexico. Nearly all of the produce in every box I received was from Mexico, even though they claimed to source produce from local and regional farms.

Question: My boxes have been full of rotten produce with ice packs warm. Now wondering if they were ever frozen. I have nothing good to say about this company. I live near the company and my boxes come rotten (not ugly) rotten!!! But yet people in Connecticut are claiming theirs are perfect?? Why is that?

Answer: It seems like more people have negative experiences than positive ones. It makes me wonder about the people who claim to receive perfect boxes weekly. I’d suggest canceling before throwing away any more of your money.

Question: Misfits is horrible, how do they get away with it?

Answer: I have no idea! They are the only service that delivers in my area though. Some people have good experiences though, just not me.

Question: My experience in CT has been wonderful....for almost a year now. Perhaps it is your delivery service?

Answer: I doubt the delivery service was involved in sourcing, selecting, and packaging poor quality, damaged, and rotting produce. I’d receive my box within a day of being shipped, which led me to believe that the issue was with MM.

Question: It seems you’ve misunderstood the point of misfits produce & were expecting perfect photogenic produce, the Mexico issue not withstanding?

Answer: I didn’t care how it looked at all, as long as it wasn’t rotting and could be used! Which definitely wasn’t what I received. It appears that you’ve misunderstood my entire post.

Question: It’s a good idea but the company doesn’t have its act together. I ordered a couple of extra items which didn’t show up and a week and a half after sending customer service an email per their process, I’ve heard nothing. I’ll wait a little more and try one more box but I’m close to cancelling. Why continue with a failed business?

Answer: Because they’re still taking your money, and making it so difficult to get it back that maybe people are giving up instead of fighting it.

Question: I've recently had the same issues with Misfits market and I am beyond the point of frustration with them. The customer service is as horrible as the produce. Any idea if there is an actual phone number to call these people since they do not respond to email?

Answer: I always had to contact them through emails, I didn’t notice a phone number on the site at all. I’m sorry that you have to deal with this.

© 2019 Leah

Comments

Leah (author) from New York on August 25, 2020:

Good luck - I hope your next box is better than the last one (and the ones I got!)

AlGalNESE on August 25, 2020:

I’m set to receive my second box today, so please say a prayer it’s edible. Lol. The first one was okay, as it had a deliciously ripe mango inside....not exactly an American fruit imo. I also received jicama, potatoes, an onion, and beets, along with some badly smashed tomatoes & some withered Bibb lettuce. I received 20% off this order because I complained about the latter two veggies, but I won’t reorder if this box is in any way damaged like the first. Thanks for your honest opinion. And the pics!

Michael44120 on August 22, 2020:

Not worth it, the produce can sit in transit for up to 6 day, it rots I gave up on it.

Leah (author) from New York on August 14, 2020:

That definitely sounds like a Misfits Market box! I'm sorry you had the same experience as so many of us.

Dan on August 14, 2020:

My box was terrible too. I paid $35 bucks for rotting lemons, a crap ton of red beets, swiss chard and curly endives. I loved the idea, but it's not working here.

Leah (author) from New York on August 13, 2020:

Josh - that definitely doesn't sound like a good experience at all! And who would ever go through 2 pounds of ginger in a week? I'm glad that you cut your losses quickly though.

Josh Sominski on August 13, 2020:

I really wish that I had read this prior to starting my subscription service. I live in a suburb of Philadelphia and in the "Best of Philly" edition of Philadelphia magazine they did a small piece on Misfits Market. We have a one year old so I wanted to give it a shot for some variety to feed him.

The first box came taped up with packing tape and smashed. Surprisingly only a small squash was broken (although it did come with two pounds of ginger). The second box arrived smashed as well but everything in it seemed okay. There were four peaches that looked great the afternoon they arrived, but by the next morning they were all moldy. I did contact customer support and they credited me 10% off (so $3.50) which I guess may cover the cost. The third (and final box) arrived yesterday with the same packing tape holding it together because it looked like it was driven over by a truck. The same exact produce from the second box except for somebody from the first box decided to come along...I received another two pounds of ginger. Since I still have 1.97 lbs from my first box, and as you mentioned they deliver a lot of red apples, I decided to part ways.

Leah (author) from New York on August 04, 2020:

Joe - that sounds like a horrible experience! I hope there’s other companies that deliver in your area, or good farmers markets. I’m sorry you had to deal with this.

Joe Sheridan on August 03, 2020:

I have to agree about so much of this. I have to throw away so much of the produce. Leah is right their customer service is horrible. They also use FED EX for delivery which is also a joke .One of my boxes was destroyed to the point they couldn't deliver it and it took almost 3 weeks for Misfits to answer my emails, I did get a full refund but it was so much work. This week FedEx deliver my box to the wrong address and the person who received it didn't do anything until Saturday, so it sat outside for a day and half needless to say I had to throw most of it away.I will be canceling my subscription. It's not worth all the hassle.

Leah (author) from New York on July 11, 2020:

Lindsay - it was definitely disappointing to realize that not only was I not receiving usable produce, but also wasn’t supporting local growers. I’ve been visiting farmers markets and trying to get a CSA share instead! Fortunately, my local supermarket also has a section for local growers also!

Lindsay on July 11, 2020:

I had the exact same experience as you. Rotting produce from Mexico shipped in extraordinary amounts of packaging, thrown on my door step by FedEx or other various courier services. I cancelled it pretty quickly. Trying to support local farmers!

Leah (author) from New York on July 08, 2020:

Judy - it’s such a good concept, but unfortunately they seem to be getting worse, not better. I’m sorry you had such a terrible experience!

Judy on July 08, 2020:

I tried Misfit Market a year ago and was very happy with the boxes received. They came on time and there was the occasional short lived item. I stopped the service because I was receiving collard greens and kale in each box. More that my husband and I could eat. And unfortunately, these were items I couldn't give away because no one wanted them.I renewed by subscription in March and did not get my first box until 5 weeks later in April. This box had some short lived items but I was happy for the produce. After that everything went downhill. I was being charged for a delivery on Sunday and receiving the box until Tuesday or Wednesday of the following week. The fruit was almost inedible and I received more kale that anyone could unless you ate it everyday. There was one box that was never delivered and I was almost accused of being a liar until Fedex finally verified that it was not delivered because they thought it was spoiled. I received a replacement box the day before my regular delivery I was able to get a box worth of items between the two. I added to an order and never received the additions but was charged for them. The last box I received before canceling the subscription had more spoiled items than good items. As soon as the box was opened the spoiled items made you sick to the stomach with the stench. I threw the whole box away because even the unspoiled items had slime on them. I took pictures of everything and sent them in an email, as you are directed to do. After 10 days of no response from them, I received an email telling me that I probably had received my response and if not this message had timed out and if I still had a complaint I had to resubmit the message. Ugly is one thing but spoiled is an entirely different scenario. I wish I lived by some of these people who have had no issues because I would continue to use them. I live in Philadelphia, my distribution center is about 25 minutes from house in Pennsauken, NJ. My packages take 4-5 days to get to my house sometimes. All I can say is Buyer Beware.

Leah (author) from New York on July 02, 2020:

It's definitely a great concept, but it just didn't carry over in practice. Unfortunately it seems like they've also gotten worse over time, especially with the complaint options limited to quality issues!

Leah (author) from New York on July 02, 2020:

I wish I lived closer to farms so that I could support them! I'm glad that you only ordered one box and found a better solution to get produce.

Erin Glaberson on July 02, 2020:

I tried out this box a year ago or so because my friend recommended it to me. The apples were old and cereal textured. They were bruised up and just tasted bad. In that same box the bell peppers they gave me were moldy on the inside. I asked my friend if she ever had this happen to her and she said no. I think they just send out bad produce sometimes that is not just ugly but actually old and moldy. I got a refund and didn't order from misfit market again. It's sad because I would like to buy the ugly produce. I just go to farms around the state now to get my produce and help the farmers in another way.

Rob from Orlando, FL USA on July 01, 2020:

My experience with Misfits was also pretty bad. Produce arrived on Friday at 4:30; by Tuesday at noon a lot was already rotten or sprouting. They refund me ($3), but the fact that the options in the dropdown for explaining your complaint include: produce arrived bruised, produce arrived rotten, and produce went bad too quickly suggests that this is not an uncommon occurrence. Very disappointing because it is a great concept.

Leah (author) from New York on June 28, 2020:

It seems like the boxes are very hit or miss. People eat they get boxes full of usable produce or rotting trash. But across the board, the customer service is terrible. I’m glad to hear that your boxes are better, but sorry to hear about your berries.

Caroline on June 26, 2020:

I'll add my 2 cents. I've had no problem at all with quality and frankly don't care if the box is delivered 1 or 2 days late. But, a couple of weeks ago, I responded to one of their "Extras" emails, and asked that a container of blackberries be added to my order. Not only were the blackberries missing, but they still billed me the extra $2.49. You're right, their customer service is HORRIBLE. They have a form on their website to fill out for problems. I've done so twice, with no response! For now i may stick with it, but will NEVER respond to those "Extra" offers again!! Plus, thanks for info on the Mexican produce angle, didn't notice that.....

Leah (author) from New York on June 24, 2020:

Yana - hopefully you can get your money back and avoid having to throw any more money in the trash.

Yana on June 23, 2020:

I wish I read your review prior to ordering their boxes. What a scam! Each box was filled with spaghetti squash from Mexico just like the one in your picture. Who knows how old this spaghetti squash is. Berries rotten, onions rotten, apples bruised. I just cancelled my subscription and didn't realize they already charged me for the upcoming shipment. Will try to dispute this charge.

Leah (author) from New York on June 22, 2020:

Michelle - hopefully it isn’t too hard to cancel. Plus, it doesn’t even help local farmers!

Michelle Hernandez on June 20, 2020:

I really really wanted to like this, ordered the biggest box they offered. I received it today. All I can say is TERRIBLE

Wasted money pretty much.

I should had read the reviews before purchasing. It seemed like a great way to help “local” farmers but it’s not. Received broken produce, terrible apples with brown everywhere, half carrots and the list goes on...

Overall not worth it.

Leah (author) from New York on June 18, 2020:

Edith - I’m so glad to have saved you from a bad experience! I’m definitely more cautious now too.

Edith Purser on June 17, 2020:

Thank you for sharing this review I saw their post on FB, and immediately started my research (can you tell that I’ve been sucked in to bad orders before?) your honest and complete review has saved me time, money and energy. Thank you!

Leah (author) from New York on June 11, 2020:

Ally - I hope you can still get a local CSA!

Ally on June 09, 2020:

Our first box was perfect & I was so excited to extend trips between grocery story visits in a pandemic. THEN the second box I got was so full of rotten food that it was not worth the cost & 3 days later I have not gotten a reply from customer service.

I am so disappointed bc I wanted this to work so much for us but it seems like this is a common problem :( I cancelled my next box until I hear back from CS & may just end my subscription.

I'm bummed b/c I think I missed out on a chance to get a local CSA b/c I was excited that Misfits had a different variety of fruits too.

Leah (author) from New York on June 09, 2020:

Sharon - I’m so sorry to hear that you’ve also had a terrible experience, although this seems to now be the norm with MM. I hope you have an easy time getting your money refunded!

Sharon on June 08, 2020:

I've been having nothing but issues with them as well, and the customer service is HORRENDOUS! I am canceling my subscription, and if they don't refund me for the rotted produce and missing items from this week- I'll be disputing the charge with my bank. Nice concept but they have no care about the produce freshness, variety or being timely or communicative. I am 100% done.

Leah (author) from New York on May 29, 2020:

Experiences like ours seem to be far too common - amazing boxes at first, and then a dramatic decline in quality AND service. It's a shame because it could have been such a good idea.

Knight on May 29, 2020:

I was very happy with Misfits for the first few weeks. I even excitedly sent pictures of the beautiful colorful contents of each box to my 4 sisters encouraging them to sign up. WOW, what a difference a few weeks can make. I have received completely unacceptable produce for the past three weeks. The first week I gave them the benefit of the doubt because of past good experiences. However, now it has been three weeks of garbage ... and "crickets" from customer service, despite multiple attempts on my part to reach them. There is no phone number, which I think is a little bit sketchy. You have to message them and hope for the best. After this last box of rotten, broken and/or old produce I have cancelled my subscription. Too bad, it sounded like a good way to support American farmers and avoid food waste. Not exactly avoiding waste if I have to throw it out when it gets here. Also, not supporting our farmers if it comes from Central America, not the United States!

Heidi on May 26, 2020:

I had the same experience, I feel as if I paid to have their garbage shipped to me to throw away and after a week still no word from customer service.

Leah (author) from New York on May 21, 2020:

Patricia - I wish I had thought to weigh my boxes! Back when I was subscribed, the website actually did say “local farmers,” and nothing about “America’s.” But I’d think they could find some local produce in Florida for you I’m sorry you didn’t have a good experience, but at least you learned quicker than I did.

Patricia O'Rourke on May 20, 2020:

Leah - I wish I had seen your review earlier - I too was excited about helping out the local farmers and getting organic produce, which I buy anyway, for a reduced price. I ordered the smaller box as a test and I am so unhappy it is ridiculous. My total weight was 10.09 (just made it there) and taking the prices from Walmart organic where I could and non if I couldn't and pricing out what I got and what it would have cost if I shopped Walmart $19.33 vs $22.00 +5.50 shipping, meaning I received no savings _ I paid more and the majority is from Mexico. Their cover page leads you to believe that they are working with U.S. farmers and grabbing what they can't sell - until you go to their sourcing page which then states "Americas" - shady, shady, shady. I have a group of us that are trying to buy and support American businesses and this was the test box -- needless to say - we will not be buying from them again. Best is, I'm in Florida and they shipped from NJ - with all the farms down here, thought I'd at least get something closer.

Leah (author) from New York on May 18, 2020:

Ruth - your experience was the complete opposite of mine. Even though I had a specific produce item listed as an allergy, it would be included in every single box, and would often be the only item that wasn't rotten. I didn't see the value in paying for a box of produce and having to give away the only item that was actually usable, and being told to see that as "saving money." But if it works for you ... more power to you!

Leah (author) from New York on May 17, 2020:

Diana - it seems like people either have very good or very bad experiences, and you’re so right! I’m sorry that you fall in the second group too.

Diana on May 16, 2020:

I wanted to like Misfits. The first few boxes after I signed up in Feb were decent. Especially given the pandemic. Even if a few things were rotten I let it go. Even if the box was a couple days late, it's okay. But for the last 3 weeks in a row, they sent 10 lb, 11 lb and 12 lb boxes respectively for the "madness" size which is suppose to be a minimum of 18 lbs. Plus out of the 10-12 lbs received at least 2 lbs were truly rotten and not usable. Then the remaining 10 lbs is just about to rot. I emailed them as there is no phone number and hadn't heard back from them at all for 2 weeks. Posted on their Facebook community page asking for a response and all they do is now delete any post that reflects negatively on their company. Finally decided to file a dispute with my credit card company and bam. Misfits decides to refund me a partial refund of $10.50 for each box. So without add ons, that's about $45-10.50. About $34.50 for about 10 lbs tops of usable produce (not fresh, just barely usable and starting to rot). Most of the weight is from butternut squash acorn squash and potatoes. It's great that some people have good experiences, but it's true that not everyone has great experiences. The people having good experiences can't believe and almost think we people who have had experiences are lying. Like why would we be lying? If Misfits worked out that would've saved me time, money and protected my family. Trust me, I wanted it so badly to work out. It's a shame.

Ruth Herman on May 14, 2020:

I’ve been very pleased overall. I’ve gotten responses within 3 days when I requested something. My boxes are worth the price -or more - consistently. I can’t eat cilantro or peppers, and I give them away. I use CSA farms in the summer- that’s June till October- but between times, I applaud Misfits. I have NEVER had one item that was inedible in any way. Thank you

Leah (author) from New York on May 03, 2020:

You should at least be able to dispute the charge with your credit card company. It sounds like all the issues they already had just got worse with the pandemic. Sorry you’re dealing with this.

gail dingilian on May 03, 2020:

I have been waiting over a month for my first box which was due to arrive today. Upon checking the FEDEX tracking I saw that it hasn't even been picked up. I have been charged for not only that box but also the second box. Their customer service is nonexistent. If you try to email them they send you back an automated response with no help for your problem.

Leah (author) from New York on May 01, 2020:

Wow, I’m sorry you’re going through this! Waiting a month and getting charged for 2 boxes before getting anything sent is ridiculous.

A-Sch on May 01, 2020:

I signed up for Misfits on 04/05/20 thinking this would be a good cause and a great service. I was charged right away for my weekly shipment, but then advised that I would not receive my first delivery before the end of April. I then patiently waited for my first delivery, all the while I was continuously pitched to buy into additional services. Finally, today, 01/05/20 - 4 weeks later - I was advised that my order had shipped with a chipper email. When I checked the tracking information, I found out that the package supposedly left the warehouse on 04/28, but the shipper never received it. Meanwhile, I will be charged for my second shipment.

To sum it up: this company does not have its act together, or is a fraud. In any case, it would have taken 3 days for my order to be delivered and I'm not sure in what state my greens would have arrived? Not sure what to think, but I would not recommend this service and will cancel my account and ask for a full refund.

Thriftyveganeats on April 28, 2020:

I had some broken zucchini and busted bell peppers, but I blamed the delivery. I also had onions and oranges rot in a couple of days of sitting out, but I didn’t think too much of it.

But lately they are having serious issues with delivery - just check what people are saying on twitter. I complained a little too much and got referee to their “community guidelines” where they threatened to remove my twitter posts or ban me as a customer. I’d waited almost 2 weeks for my missing box I’d been charged for and wasn’t getting any real response from customer service (just auto-replies). They did refund me, but the damage is done and I’ve cancelled my account.

Do not order from them vegetables will come roton on April 21, 2020:

This company is scam and selling rotten and molded veggies for high price

Leah (author) from New York on April 21, 2020:

How frustrating! I hope you get your money back.

Poporila on April 21, 2020:

Signed up in early march.

First box was pretty good, second one was ok.

With everything going on I understand some sort of delay by a few days but I am about to get billed 3rd time and the billed first box in question still in processing, getting run around.

I think they got greedy and bit more then they can chew.

Will cancel and dispute with credit card.

Leah (author) from New York on April 18, 2020:

Sarah - I’m glad you’re learning your lesson faster than I did!

Sarah on April 18, 2020:

I just got my first box today and I experienced everything you said above! I thought maybe with everything going on right now that is the reason this box looked like that. I emailed them over 2 weeks ago and still no response. Appears no one can ever get in contact with customer service. This will be my first and last box sadly.

Lori on April 10, 2020:

My first 2 boxes were just OK. I thought I would upgrade to the larger 18-22lb box. Well, 2 days late, warm, banged up and broken, worm holes, cabbage browning veggies. Oh, my box weighed in, at just 14lbs. This is not acceptable. They threw in 2 bunches of kale on top for filler.

I have tried the customer service 3 time. I just get a standardized letter. I've sent pictures of the produce. Well, I am giving them 24 hours to respond. I'm being generous. Buyer beware!! Sorry to say but.. I cannot recommend MM market.

Leah (author) from New York on March 31, 2020:

As I had mentioned earlier, when I was using this service, the website clearly stated “local farms,” but apparently has since changed it to state produce comes from across the Americas. Either way, I wouldn’t recommend MM to anyone.

Frank B on March 30, 2020:

They are probably buying expired and/or damaged produce from supermarkets and reselling, that would explain the cuts on some of the produce, how quickly they rot or are already rotten, and the supermarket type stickers. They would not be lieing, as the produce probably originally came from farms, weather locally or "across the Americas" Just a guess.

Leah (author) from New York on March 26, 2020:

I guess their page has changed, because when I signed up it didn’t say across the Americas, but it specifically stated local farms. It was the only box that delivered in my area too - I just wish I hadn’t kept giving them chances to get better. Good luck!

Cassandra on March 26, 2020:

Thanks for the info, they are the only ones available in my area, so going to give them a try anyway. Maybe they have improved. One thing to note, their sourcing says they gather from farms and partners...across the Americas. Technically speaking, Mexico is part of the Americas. So not entirely a lie but perhaps a bit misleading. Wish me luck :)

Leah (author) from New York on March 19, 2020:

Cynthia - let me know how Imperfect Foods is!

Cynthia on March 01, 2020:

I thought I was the only one...first box, everything was completely rotten except for perhaps a wilted head of lettuce, which I was able to eat. It is hard to photograph how bad it was, but there was actual mold growing on half the produce...and I live in a city, certainly not far from distributors. I complained, and the second box was worse too - I also had carrots you could tie in knots and dissolving onions. I think I may have gotten the same batch of shishitos too, haha. Sorry you had this experience. I'm looking at trying Imperfect Foods this week to see if it's any better.

Kevin Cash on February 27, 2020:

Thank you! I was about to sign up for misfit market. While online i stumbled on your site and thank goodness i did. You had a great review. After seeing your review misfit is out the door. Ill go back to the farmers market where i can see what I'm getting before I pay for it. P.S. you got a new subscriber too.

Leah (author) from New York on January 30, 2020:

I’m sorry you had the same experience as I did, Diana. At least my first few boxes weren’t rotten.

Diana Lopatinsky on January 29, 2020:

So I got my 1st box very excited! I opn it and there are 2 gull bags of jalapeños what csn one do with so many jalapeños? 2 egg plants that were not just ugly But rotten. Few onions snd carrots few apples wich I am not sure are even organic and this was the big box? Don’t waist your money people. I support no waist of food and that’s why I bought this box but it’s a rip off

Leah (author) from New York on January 01, 2020:

I’d have to agree with you, John. Don’t hold your breath for a refund or a better box. Closing your account won’t stop them from contacting you all the time anyway. Even though I’ve had my account closed for quite some time and requested to be unsubscribed from all emails, they’ve continued to contact me monthly, often with deceptive emails about updating my preferences or I’ll receive a mystery box by Tuesday, etc.

John sinclair on December 30, 2019:

Heard good things about it but it’s terrible got 1st box Christmas Eve not only sparse but vegetables weren’t even fresh contacted them they did nothing terrible company good riddance

Leah (author) from New York on December 28, 2019:

I hope it stays that good for you! Mine was that it got progressively worse until the entire box was unusable at the end, although initially only a few items were that way.

Angi on December 27, 2019:

I’ve received 5 boxes so far. There have been a couple items I didn’t use and some items were over-ripe but overall I have been happy. I try new items that I’ve never used before. We get a great variety of fruits and veggies. Sorry you had a bad experience. My husband and I really enjoy it.

Leah (author) from New York on December 26, 2019:

It seems like I’m definitely not the only person who’s had these issues. My interactions with customer service were atrocious, and even though I cancelled service and unsubscribed from emails, I’m still getting at least one email a month from MM. I’ve reached out to customer service another 5-6 times and been ignored or hung up on every single time. It seems like their service is just as rotten as their produce was for me.

Cissy on December 26, 2019:

Wow. I've been receiving Misfits boxes from the beginning and have had great boxes of veggies. When I reported the occasional problem their customer service team was so accommodating. I live in New England and come from an organic agricultural background and understand produce. This is a true conundrum.

Leah (author) from New York on December 16, 2019:

At the time, I was using it for 2-3 people and still couldn't use it, so don't feel too bad! It's kind of sad that a service that aims to reduce food waste just ends up creating waste. I'm not a huge fan of dill, but FYI - you can always freeze it. My mom always does that to use in chicken soup, but a little goes a long way.

Stella Kim on December 16, 2019:

I tried Misfits for a month and had just unsubscribe from it today. I was unable to pick what I wanted in my box and ended up wasting so much food. They also expired so quick so it wasn't a good fit for a single person. The box was also filled up with things that weighs a lot but can't eat like dill. Who would eat that much of dill? They were clearly added just so that the box would weigh more. I'm pretty disappointed.

Leah (author) from New York on December 08, 2019:

Amber - you’re definitely not alone. I’m not surprised to hear that so many people had the same experience as we did.

Amber on December 08, 2019:

I completely agree with this. My first box was wonderful; the produce was delicious, and an amazing variety. I am on my 4th, (and last) box and the quality of the produce just keeps getting less and less. Yesterday, when my box arrived there were three bunches of lettuce that were completely unusable, both carrots had to be thrown away because they were already mushy, and the majority of usable produce was several stalks of celery. I love the concept of Misfits, and I could care less what the produce looks like, (weird shapes, various sizes, etc...) but when they send produce that is rotten and unusable, it is not worth the cost. I'm done with Misfits.

Leah (author) from New York on December 05, 2019:

Shanada - I absolutely agree with you. I loved the idea, but it falls way short in practice. They should have been able to plan properly and provide the service and products they charge us for! I had so many issues with the boxes every single week, and they refused to refund my money. Just a couple of weeks ago, they actually tried to woo me back! I pointed out that their boxes were atrocious, and my repeated requests to speak to a manager or supervisor were ignored, so I wouldn’t be wasting any more money on their company.

Shanada on December 05, 2019:

Backstory one me. I was a classically trained chef now I am a SAHM so the moment the box is delivered it in the house being unpacked. I meal plan our dinners and I thought it might be fun to have a "mystery box" of vegetable sides or even main dishes thrown into our menu.

We also canceled our Misfits Market, today actually, after receiving two large boxes. The first box had split bell peppers a rotten cucumber, green chard that I had to cook practically the moment it came out of the box and 5 turnips that we all terribly bitter. I roasted one, pickled two and made turnip soup with the remaining two, all came out awful and was ultimately a waste of time, energy and money. The second box came with bruised pears, a brown green apple a rotted sweet potato and wilted lettuce at least it did not have turnips!

I get that they are a growing company and need to work out the kinks of the business but they are doing it using our hard earned money. Besides rent/mortgage food is the most expensive bill we all have and I for one cannot afford to get food that we will not eat and get food that will be tossed out due to it being spoilt. I don't see this being around very long. Spending almost $40 on somethings I would never choose for us is a complete waste of money.

Leah (author) from New York on December 01, 2019:

They must have changed the website, because when I wrote this article and had been a subscriber, it said “the produce was grown on regional farms and supports local farmers to reduce food waste in America.” I would have liked the fruit, if I ever got anything other than red delicious apples. It was definitely a miss for me. Between the poor quality, lack of variety, and horrible customer service, I don’t regret cancelling service. I just wish I hadn’t given them so many chances to disappoint me.

Catherine DiDesidero on December 01, 2019:

I've been using Misfits Market for months now and I have been very happy with them. I also live in the NYC area.

Per their website : All of the produce in your weekly Misfits box is certified organic and non-GMO, sourced from hand-picked farms and partners in our region and across the Americas.

I believe "partners" refers to supermarkets, from whom they also purchase any overstock of fruits and veggies. Either way, they are transparent regarding their sourcing

And I've been happy for the fruit contained in the boxes, I know some people prefer all veggies.

I'm sorry you had a bad experience. It seems that it's hit or miss.

Leah (author) from New York on November 25, 2019:

I’m sorry you had the same experience as I did. Hopefully their customer service has improved, and if you mention this, they’ll refund your money without a hassle!

Cindy on November 25, 2019:

I so wish I would have seen your review before ordering from them. I received a box of split veggies and dried out corn on the cob. I ordered the big box, and 90% of the box was bruised, damaged, or mush. Thanks for your review. It was accurate in my case too.

Leah (author) from New York on November 16, 2019:

No problem!

PWOLFINGER on November 16, 2019:

Thanks for taking the time to be thorough and include pictures. Dodged that bullet!!

Leah (author) from New York on November 15, 2019:

I definitely haven't had nearly as positive of an experience as you have. I found that I was just throwing money directly into the garbage by using Misfits Market.

MM on November 14, 2019:

I've had nothing but fantastic experiences with Misfits Market. They're still growing and have a lot of kinks to work out as a new business, it won't be a perfect service, as no service ever is. I find way more pros than cons and highly recommend this. Being in NYC, it is a hassle to grocery shop, prices are high, and even more so for organic.

Leah (author) from New York on November 03, 2019:

Karen -

No problem! That’s exactly why I wrote this!

Karen on November 03, 2019:

Thank you so much for sharing your experience and sparing others from having this negative experience. The things you described are the very apprehensions I had about starting this service.

Leah (author) from New York on October 31, 2019:

My pleasure!

Nikki on October 31, 2019:

Thank you for saving me from the mushy ugly produce!

Leah (author) from New York on October 30, 2019:

Olivia - I’m glad you got such a kick out of it!

Olivia on October 30, 2019:

This is one of the funniest reviews I've ever read in my life. I laughed my ass off the entire time. Thank you for including all the photos, I'd wait to scroll down until I read the paragraph describing it, and truly, comedy gold. Thanks again.

Leah (author) from New York on October 26, 2019:

Andrea - maybe it does, but since they appear to be based in Philadelphia and New Jersey, both of which are only a few hours of where I live, I wouldn’t think it should have this much impact on the quality of the boxes I received. Where are you located?

Andrea on October 26, 2019:

Wow. I have had the complete opposite experience. My boxes have all been treasure troves of great produce. I have had a few bruises and mushed in spots, but nothing I couldn't cut around. I wonder if location has an impact on the contents and condition.

I have recommended Misfits to family, friends and co-workers.

Unfortunate we cannot all have similar good experiences. LOVE LOVE LOVE Misfits Market!!!

Leah (author) from New York on October 24, 2019:

Claudia - my boxes never came late, they just had subpar produce. And the weird thing is, they wouldn’t refund more than a tiny percentage of the price. When I made a big enough fuss, they sent a replacement box that was worse than the box they were replacing, and that’s ultimately what led me to cancel.

I would also be concerned about the goo in the packaging. It doesn’t seem like something that would be safe to just pour down the drain. I would always throw it out, but that seemed like it wasn’t the most ecologically sound option either.

There was one box I got that had all plastic packaging that wasn’t biodegradable at all. When I contacted the company about it, I was told that they were working out some issues with suppliers. I really didn’t find the experience to be a satisfying one at all, and I’m glad to see that other produce delivery services are available in my area now. But I’m happy buying produce at my local farmers market and stores, where I can support local growers and trust that I’m getting fresh produce and good quality.

Claudia on October 24, 2019:

I have had almost great boxes. If a box was inferior like the one that was delayed extra days on a UPS truck and then dropped on my step to sit in the sun, they refunded with no effort. HOWEVER, my worries are twofold: 1) products are coming from Mexico. But if they would be shipping to US anyway and then couldn't be sold, perhaps okay to *save 2) My big qualm...the trucking, and mostly the box packaging. Just got 4 cooler packs in mine. They say you can cut the plastic and pour the goo down the drain. Online opinions differ and say don't pour down the drain as it may cause problems. Even though the cornstarch insides of the packing [which is encased in plastic wrap] are said to be biodegradable- it is a hassle. Thinking about cancelling as I'm worried that the ungreen down side outweighs the *saving the produce from disposal* side. Bummed because I enjoy it a lot!

Leah (author) from New York on October 12, 2019:

I hope it stays that way for you! My first few boxes were okay, but then they got consistently worse. Note where the produce labels come from too - you’ll probably see that a lot of the regional produce that supports local farms is anything but. Good luck with it!

Connetta Brown on October 12, 2019:

Just got my first box and I am happy with it

Leah (author) from New York on October 07, 2019:

The issue wasn't that the produce was from Mexico. I buy produce from Mexico all the time when I go to the supermarket. The issue was that when I signed up for Misfits Market, their website indicates that produce is obtained from regional farms in the Northeast. When a company clearly states that they are getting produce from local farmers, that is what they should be getting. Maybe that is why the produce was always rotting when it arrived.

The potatoes weren't just soft to the texture of a citrus fruit. They were soft to the point where they were disintegrating within days of arrival. The produce that Misfits Market was providing to me was not edible in any way shape or form. Rather than providing produce that was helping to reduce food waste, they were basically selling me compost fodder.

Stacy McDonald on October 07, 2019:

I don't see the problem with produce from Mexico because food waste is a global issue. And those potatoes can surprise you. When they sprout & get soft, it's all the water in them drying out which can give you a great texture. I mean, obviously you can't eat them if they're myshy & black. But if you let them get about as soft as maybe an orange or even a tangerine, they're delicious!!

Leah (author) from New York on August 23, 2019:

I’m in NY and consistently had these issues week after week for 6 months. I reached out to them every single week about this until I finally decided to stop wasting my time, energy, and money. I don’t think it was my location, especially since my boxes would come within 2 days of ordering. It was definitely more of a quality and customer service issue.

mae on August 23, 2019:

So sorry to hear you had these issues. I've been extremely pleased with the quality and condition of my produce. My one "bad" box was due to a shipping issue. The water-logged, battered MM box had actually been placed inside a large plastic in a plain brown box with the original shipping label, that had been sliced from the original box, reattached to the new packaging. When I contacted Customer Service, I received a replacement box sent directly from the warehouse! I don't know where you live, but I live within 150 miles from the MM New Jersey warehouse. Could distance be part of the problem? As a side note, MM is currently testing customization of boxes. I was selected to participate and received my first custom box yesterday. I couldn't have been more pleased.

Leah (author) from New York on August 23, 2019:

Rochelle - it definitely seems like they might!

RTalloni on August 23, 2019:

Thanks for this important review.

Rochelle Frank from California Gold Country on August 23, 2019:

Sounds like you were very patient with them and reasonable with your complaints. It seems like a good idea, but I'm not inclined to try it.

Do they go around raiding dumpsters to find their products?